We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I booked this hotel because it was cheap and it had good reviews even though it was only a two star...it is so worth alot more than two stars. The hotel is beautifully maintained inside and out. The room we had was fairly small but well designed so we didn't feel at all cramped but instead cozy and plenty of storage space for our luggage. The rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated. Bathroom was super clean and well prepared. Staff really friendly. Pool and whirlpool clean. The whirlpool was also the perfect temperature, not scorching hot like some other places. Location was great as it was right near the highway but you are not able to hear the traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisepereyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerRapid, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Thank you for your comments! We had hoped with the change of the managment team in in earlier of 2011 and the capital outlay in 2011 to refurbish the property would result in a comments as favorable as yours. We hope you come back and pay us another visit. We are very proud of our bedding package with all components changed after a guest checks out. No need to toss that comforter or blanket to the side...all fresh!

Onward and upward!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

I have got a nice offer from Expedia. It was a nice and pleasant stay.
Service was good and friendly. Rooms are spacious.
We have taken suite so it was good apart from the Air conditioner which has bad smell. Apart from that everything was good enough for comfortable stay with the money we paid for accommodation.

I have enjoyed the natural beauty in the Rapid city and surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krharikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerRapid, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Thank you for your comments! Our improvements were completed at the end of May of 2011 so hopefully you will comeback and see for yourself. Not sure what the odor was emitting from the PTAC's but thank you for bringing to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

No reservation, so we tried the Microtel, as it was reasonably priced, and I find them to be quite consistent. It was clean and comfortable, better than I expected for the price. I tend to find most continental breakfasts to be less than great, and was pleasantly surprised at this one. The coffee was excellent, the bakery was fresh and tasted like it was just brought in and they had a waffle machine with batter, so you could make fresh hot waffles. A nice touch. The front desk person wasn't unfriendly, but a bit curt as though rushed or busy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenInMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed two nights 9/10 & 9/11. The reception desk was not manned until someone noticed we were standing there. On another occasion, two younger men seemed more interested in their conversation and looking at a computer screen than to answer our questions. Rather than come to the desk just talked to us from the other room. Lobby carpet stained and actually coming apart next to fireplace. 2nd floor hallway carpet stained all over the place. Would not recommend this chain if all units are staffed and under maintained like this one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spitfire460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerRapid, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

We appreciate your input and the property was refurbished in the Spring of 2011. Improvements included new beds, 36" flat screen TV's , carpet , lobby furniture. pictures etc. We look forward to your comments upon your return to the "new" Microtel Inn & Suites of Rapid CIty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I had driven a long way and the Hampton Inn across the parking lot was full so I ended up at the Microtel.

The girl at the front desk was very pleasant and the rate was pretty cheap.

The room was OK, the rug felt a little funky on the feet. Bathroom was clean enough. The TV was weirdly placed on top of the wardrobe. The bed was comfortable.

My main problem was the rug in the hallway that was threadbare and stained. It gave everything else a run-down feel.

I would have preferred the Hampton.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Price was reasonable. One day forgot to completely re-stock bath towels but had enough. Carpet seemed clean. Shampoo was the only amenity - no lotion or conditioner. Quiet until the last night when high school soccer players moved in with their families. Not noisy past 1030pm though. Staff was friendly. One day wanted on the computer in the lobby and teen was doing her algebra homework on it. Pool and hot tub were clean. The room was just a little shabby.
Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The beds were heaven after sleeping in a tent, soft with lots of pillows & soft sheets. There were quite a few spots on our carpet but the room, bath & hotel were clean. Front desk lady was super nice. Breakfast smelled good but we didn't have time to try it (waffles, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee). Hotel was full but we didn't hear much noise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clintssweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 48 in Rapid City
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City

Address: 1740 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £41 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Microtel Inn And Suites Rapid City
Microtel Rapid City
Rapid City Microtel
Microtel Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing