We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Spokane, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Excellent place to stay during my visit to Mt. Rushmore. The rooms were a bit small but they were recently and nicely renovated. Breakfast was very nice in a spacious area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ionion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    209
    131
    52
    30
See reviews for
263
194
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kings Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel was clean, roomy and comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub was so nice after a day spent sightseeing in the car. AND they close the pool to kids after 10pm, so its wonderful!
Had a fantastic night sleep and thoroughy enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. Would highly reccomend staying here if going through on the 90 or even as a home base for all the Black Hills sightseeing. Thank you for a great night!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great location for a visit to the Badlands NP, Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Close to restaurants and stores. Hotel and rooms were very clean and newly updated with indoor heated pool and hot tub. Breakfast was a treat: waffles, fresh fruit,etc in comfortable dining room. Free wi-fi in room. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Stayed three nights instead of the one night originally booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Came in at midnight after spending all day driving across country. The hotel was very clean both inside and outside. I found the bed very comfortable and linens in great condition. The room and bed were smaller than most hotels, but well-designed with a neat little window seat...cozy and perfect for one person. Breakfast had a good selection, I would have enjoyed a little more fruit. Overall, I felt like I was getting a 3* hotel for a 2* price.

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platteville, WI
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This location was very nice. Actually, it was our first time at a Microtel. We were so impressed that we secured one for the next two nights of our vacation at our final destination. Everything that we could have needed was there. The pool was not huge, but very adequate for excercise and rest in the whirlpool.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife & I stayed @ Microtel in Rapid City,SD. We had reserved a "NO SMOKING'" room 3 or 4 weeks prior to our stay. We got a stinky smoky room & when we complained at the front desk, we were told they were booked up & no other rooms were avaiable. They did run some small machine in the room while we were out for supper. It didn't do much good. The next morning we complained again of the smoke stench &requested a different room for that night. Again we were told they were filled up & the only room available was a jacuzzi suite. It was not offered to us. When we checked out the next morning, we again complained about our "No Smoking" room & they finally gave us a 10% disount off our stay there. The man at the front desk tried to tell us that the whole motel was no smoking. What a bunch of B.S. When I asked him why ther was not a no smoking insisgnia on the room of our door and many other rooms, he lied to us & told us that young kids steal them just for kicks. Another bunch of Bull S+++. If the entire motel is smoke free, then why do they advertise smoking & non-smoking rooms on their web site.
My wife & I were celebrating our 30th anniversary & she got terrible headaches from the strong odor in the room. After we returned home I e-mailed Microtel & told them about our unpleasant experience. They said they would give us 20% off of our next stay. I e-mailed them back & said "There Won't Be A Next Stay At A Microtel For Us"

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Came in for the Black Hills Rally. Got quoted a rate, stayed five nights, then at check out our rates had gone up by$ 110.00 a night. The General Manager told us we were liars because he clerk hadn't quoted us that rate. Then they couldn't come up with an actual owner for their franchise.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rudy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisVan, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
The Strugis Motor Cycle Rally begins the first full week of August and your group checked in prior to the Rally rates taking effect. Our front desk staff is trained to advise guests at check in, that a rate increase would take effect during the course of your stay. It is also on the folio that was signed when your group checked into the hotel. Your rate did go up the days that were stated on the folio. Hotel rates do go up in the Black Hills for this special event. Your party was housed in our two bedroom suite that comfortably sleeps six and even at the higher rate is a great value as it saves renting two separate rooms.

We apologize for the confusion and if you do return next year to the rally you would consider staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Address: 1740 Rapp Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Microtel Inn And Suites Rapid City
Microtel Rapid City
Rapid City Microtel
Microtel Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing