We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Rapid City
1 review
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Room was OK overall, but a few things need improvement.
-Grout in bathroom was badly cracked
-Maid drapes shower curtain out over tub and places shampoo, lotion etc. on tub edge - both cause extra work to remove when taking a shower.
-There are no indvidual reading lights by each bed - only a single light over both beds that lights up the whole room - not good if one party wants to read in bed after the other retires for the night.
-Bathroom vent fan sounded like it was on its last legs.
-Both the tub and sink drains ran slow.
-Staff was friendly & helpful, although did not ask how our stay was when checking out.
-Breakfast buffet was not the worst I've seen, but not the best either - no bacon, eggs, sausages if that is what you are looking for (did have hard boiled eggs)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
I apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you letting us know what needs to be changed. I have discussed this with the houskeeping staff; and, we have since purchased vanity trays for the amenities in the room. I will discuss the other problems with the owners, so that they can be corrected on our next remodel. Thank you for responding to the survey, and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    209
    131
    52
    30
See reviews for
263
194
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you want a place to stay thats close to the freeway and with the money the this is it. Great rooms, great service and friendly staff. I am looking forward to retuning. I highly recommend the Microtel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for you nice comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel was located near I90, but there was no road noise. The room was of a good size and the beds comfortable. The facility was clean and the desk employees were most helpful. The breakfast was one of the best for a continental. The only negative was our room was not made up until later in the afternoon and it did cause a minor difficulty once. I would definitely stay in this property again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the icemaker
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that your room was not finished when you returned for the day. We try very hard to get all of our rooms cleaned by 4PM, but sometimes we are unable to do this. When you visit us again, please inform the front desk that you would like to have your room cleaned in the morning. We are always happy to accomodate the wishes of our guests. We appreciate your kind remarks and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We Stayed here for one night. Our room was clean, spacious with a microwave, fridge and ironing board. We were traveling with kids. The coffee was average, but the breakfast was decent - eggs, oatmeal, types of cold cereal, biscuit and gravy, toasts, muffins.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aparna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the breakfast we have to offer, I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this motel for a long weekend mini-vacation. The Black Hills area is a beautiful place to visit but this motel made it all the better. The staff was exceptional and answered every question that we had. We absolutely loved the suite and its furnishings. The unit was exceptionally clean and well supplied. The room was as quiet as a mouse. The location is pretty central to Rapid City and Ellsworth Air Force base. We will most definitely stay here again and we may be back for the airshow next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor on the north side but I think all the suites would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We love hearing from our guests, especially with reviews like these. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor Community. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I always make sure the hotel I choose has a pool for the kids--this one was tiny! Great breakfast, though. Rooms were nice and clean and front desk staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank 294Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah F, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to see you again the next time you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Address: 1740 Rapp Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Microtel Inn And Suites Rapid City
Microtel Rapid City
Rapid City Microtel
Microtel Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing