We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My family of 6 stayed here for 10 days and found it very enjoyable. Rooms clean and well maintained. Good points- Free wi fi and there are 2 computers for guests to use for free. Breakfast a bit boring after a few days you knew what to expect. Central for all attractions as well as supermarket shops etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trysomewherenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    111
    47
    22
    14
See reviews for
163
78
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

First and foremost, this is NOT a bad place. But, it should rank as a back-up in case you cannot find a room in Rapid City or Spearfish. I believe the primary purpose for this location is for the annual Sturgis Rally crowd. It is 16 miles from Sturgis and 10 miles from Rapid City, with no direct route into the Black Hills. There is a mini-casino and bar in the building. I mention this because, at check-in, our desk clerk was shuttling between tending to the front desk and tending bar 20 feet behind her. Pleasant person, but...
I did not use the pool, for when we entered the hotel lobby at check-in the air was pungent with chlorine - throughout the building (halls & lobby), I was not interested in bleaching out my swimsuit or what little hair I have left...
I rarely rave about hotel breakfasts, and I won't here, either. Cold food was standard fare (cereals, pastries, fruit, etc.). Actually, what little hot food that was here was dreadful - especially what passed for an omelet. Was burping that one for about 200 miles!!
So, stay here if you must - like I said at the top, it is not a bad place - but it is missing too much if you use it as a base camp to explore the area. Find something in Rapid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrippersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I read many of the posts before staying there for 3 nights over the forth. It's a solid motel, nothing more. It's useful if you don't want to pay Deadwood prices, have access to Sturgis, or run into the Black Hills. But you aren't spending any time at the "resort" because there's nothing really to do there. 6 slot machines and a small sitting room. It's really just a well kept motor hotel. Drive in, sleep, drive out. Food is limited in the area (there are better places in Rapid City with more food choices), though the Elk Creek restaurant and Pizza Hut are close by choices. The beds are nice, lots of pillow choices, but the rooms are a bit loud...which can be annoying if there's a lot of people and you're hung over (was in Rapid City for a wedding, I'll say no more). By the way, they do have a small bar on sight, and the drinks are reasonably priced...hence the hangover.

Room Tip: Bet this place is a goldmine for Sturgis...so rent early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawlins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Mount Rushmore and other area attractions. It was a very nice hotel at a reasonable price. Very clean, great service, no complaints! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colette424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantonment, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I read the reviews on trip advisor before staying and they are correct. The hotel is rustic with cool ceilings and carpet and rustic chairs and designs. Very nice hotel for the money. Would highly suggest staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, MD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Friendly staff. Offered some restaurant ideas and prices for all local activities and tours. Had maps and tour info for entire area making it easy to choose and plan. But front desk was not aware of major paving delays on 44 scenic drive. Hotel only 10 miles west of Rapid City. Rooms soundproof; did not hear downstairs dogs and only a slight smell of dog when walking through first floor. Comfy beds. Took advantage of great prices and got the kids their own room connecting to ours. Very week wifi, had to move to lobby to get wifi. Choices for breakfast but average tasting gravy and fake scrambled eggs didn't taste good. Nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Kplaces2See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Excellent place to stay for a Mount Rushmore visit. Very nice - service, free breakfast ,beds, spa,pool and clean bathrooms
Location- is nice, right on I-90, however restaurants are 9 miles away in Rapid City,but it was not a problem for us since we were driving to Mount Rushmore anyway.
Definitely recommended for families

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myfeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
12.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
10.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#23 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
9.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#44 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Summerset Rapid City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Summerset Rapid City West

Property: Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
Address: 7900 Stagestop Rd, Rapid City, SD 57718-9135 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Summerset Rapid City West 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Summerset Rapid City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Rapid City West Hotel Rapid City
Ramada Black Hawk
Black Hawk Ramada
Ramada Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing