We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    112
    47
    22
    14
See reviews for
163
79
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here in early November (sorry for the late review) after we road-tripped from Milwaukee for a few days to take in the sights. The hotel is a few miles west on I-90 from downtown Rapid City, so if you're looking for something more centrally located, this is not for you. As for us, we kind of enjoy the quiet time, so we didn't mind a little extra driving, not to mention the main attractions have great signage and were very easy to find (didn't have to turn on the TomTom to find Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, etc.) The room itself was nice and clean. We had a big comfortable king bed. Only complaint about the room is there was no fridge, but we had a huge balcony that we kept our cooler out on, and with the chilly November nights, it kept everything nice and cold during our stay!

The breakfast bar was better than expected. Sure the eggs are a bit rubbery and the biscuits were a little dry from cooking all morning, but it was a step up from the normal continental breakfast these types of hotels usually offer, so I was happy!

The con: The pool... The water was ICE cold and almost unbarable to swim in for any extended time period. That was a bummer since a pool is usually a major ammentity we look for when searching hotels. It did have a nice hot tub that was enough to at least keep me satisfied!

Overall, your expectations have to be realistic. If you're expecting a luxruious 5-star kinda deal, then choose one of the pricier joints in the city.

Recommendation: Check out Elk Creek Steakhouse just a few minutes drive west of the hotel. Great steak and reasonable prices! They have the main restaraunt in a completely different part of the building from the bar area. So it's perfect for families, or to catch a few drinks and watch a game!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZEB E, Front Office Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thanks for taking some time out of your day to write a detailed and thorough review. As you discovered there is nothing quite like the natural refrigerator in November from the balcony outside your room! At this time only our suites offer fridges, but I'm happy you were able to "make do". On the other hand our pool should not be that cold! Generally we are very good at regulating the pool temperature with automatic gauges so more than likely we did a water change possibly just before you used it. I'm sorry it wasn't as enjoyable as the rest of your stay was. Most guests agree that our breakfast is a "step up" from the rest and I'm glad you agree. If you consider the attractions in Deadwood (Northern Hills) and Mt. Rushmore (Keystone), we are a very central location for a complete Black Hills vacation. Once again thanks for your review and we would love to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was just a couple miles from my niece's house, which is where we were celebrating christmas. The room was clean, with the exception of a sticky substance on the arm of the recliner. The towels have a weird smell to them, almost like a deep fat fryer. We did not sleep well at all for a couple reasons. One, their were kids running up & down the hall at 1 am, and we could hear our neighbor's conversations. Worst of all was the mattress, it was hard as a rock, causing lower back & hip pain for both of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZEB E, Front Office Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for finding time to write about your stay with us. Judging by your fairly high marks for our value, location, room, cleanliness, and service it seems as though your overall experience at our hotel was enjoyable. As you mentioned there were a few issues and those are what concern us the most. The towels should never smell the way you described them. I will speak to our laundry staff to assure that never happens again. The noise made from nearby guests is also unfortunate to hear about especially because they occurred that late at night. I apologize that you found our mattresses less than comfortable. They are firm, but should never cause pain. I will find out which room you stayed in and check the bed myself to assure that it is up to our high standards. I can only assume you did not contact our staff about these issues because I can assure you that had you we would have done everything in our power to make your stay a perfect one. Thanks again for your review and we would love to see you back to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Great hotel - the staff was more than helpful, courteous, friendly and assisted in making the stay very pleasant.
The business suite was set up for a small group- large table with 7chairs and a white wall to use for the presentations.
The location is not in Rapid City- a ways from the main roads- but there is a grocery store across the street and a couple places to eat.

Room Tip: I rented the business suite to do training of a small group. It worked great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan44324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review Jan! As you discovered we are located at a much more peaceful exit then what is offered along the busy Rapid City interstate exits. Across the road from us is a full-service (small town) grocery store, a Pizza Hut and a bank. Within a two mile radius are three restaurants. We offer most of the conveniences of the big town, but without all of the crazy traffic and noise. I'm happy you utilized our business suite and that it exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for taking time out of your day to let us and everyone else know how well we did during your stay in the beautiful Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLACK HAWK
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

First let me say the staff was great! Now, that is the loudest room I have ever been in! There. Must be zero insulation as we heard everything above, below, and beside us. Also, very tiny bathroom, and very small breakfast. Definitely spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
David, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We strive to provide a great overall experience for all of our guests and I'm sorry we didn't deliver on what so many other guests agree is what sets us apart from other hotels. The one thing I was happy to read was that you were impressed with our staff. We occasionally receive complaints about noisy guests and if we are made aware of such facts we always address the issue and resolve the complaint. Did you talk to our staff about the noise during your stay or at check-out at all? If so we would have done everything we could to make it better for you. We were not busy during that week so we would have moved you to a different room if necessary. You stayed three nights by taking advantage of our current, "stay 3 nights, save 20 percent" promotion, but you suffered from noise the whole time? If that was the case it never should have happened. While our bathrooms are not large, they certainly have never been called tiny. Our breakfast room is only at full capacity when we have a full house, and offers so many choices that have always pleased most everyone. Once again I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove that our facility is worthy of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
12.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
10.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
9.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#44 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Summerset Rapid City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Summerset Rapid City West

Property: Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
Address: 7900 Stagestop Rd, Rapid City, SD 57718-9135 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Summerset Rapid City West 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Summerset Rapid City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Rapid City West Hotel Rapid City
Ramada Black Hawk
Black Hawk Ramada
Ramada Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing