We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
“Our 3 day stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just spent 3 nights at your Summerset Ramada in Blackhawk, s.d. It was the most comfortable experience of hotel service ever! Wonderful staff, clean rooms, GREAT breakfast buffet, quiet environment, comfortable bed...All the ammenities for the lowest price imaginable!
We will return again and highly recommend your Hotel to others!
Austin,mn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdbagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn K, General Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. It is always refreshing to hear that the hard work of the entire staff is noticed. We at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West take great pride in our facility and the top-notch service we provide. We would love to host you again in the future:) Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    118
    54
    24
    18
See reviews for
180
82
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, SD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I understand all experiences are different, but I can't for the life of me understand the poor reviews below. My kids and I stayed here for two days while my home was being renovated, and the experience was superior. I homeschool my kids and they were worked comfortably in the room and the common areas. Internet access was flawless, customer services was overwhelmingly friendly, and the GM was kind enough to give me my same extremely low rate for our second night (even though the rack rate was considerably higher). The pool and hot tub area is the cleanest I've ever seen in a hotel. I've stayed in hotels 6-8 times the nightly rate (no exaggeration) and been less satisfied, so I recommend the place wholeheartedly. For locals, it's a great staycation!

Room Tip: I only had one room, on the second floor, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshBarsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn K, General Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you, Josh, for the kind review of our hotel. It was a pleasure having you as guests as your children were extremely pleasant and well behaved. It is so great for the staff to hear that their efforts make a difference. We have a fantastic staff that is always going the extra mile. Please, come stay with us again when you feel it is time for another staycation:) Thank you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for 5 years in a row but in 2013 they changed ownership and general manager and front desk staff and their customer service went down hill from that point. The rooms are a bit dated and could use some updating...our tv had a crack I the screen and our non smoking room had cigarette holes in the couch. The cleaning staff did a nice job keeping it clean. The bad....the front desk staff never cracked a smile, they were rude and clueless to any questions we had. The general manager was even worse. She was rude and ignorant to her customers needs. I would NOT recommend this as a place to stay, there are many more choices in Rapid City that would treat you right and love to have your business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn K, General Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you CK5 Transport Company for the review of our hotel. We are sorry that we were not able to make the changes you requested during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. Keeping rooms out of inventory would not be a wise decision for our hotel. The majority of Rally attendees book January 1 in order to secure a hotel for the event. Holding back a group of rooms until May and then releasing them at no charge would not be a good decision for us. Rally bookings after the month of May are very hit and miss. I am sure that the past General Manager informed you of this when he declined that request. We appreciate you letting us know of the problems in your guestroom. After double checking maintenance records, we have found no record of any guest informing us of both the TV and the holes on the couch. Immediately following your review, our maintenance addressed the problems. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Comparatively, there is no better buy in the Northern Black Hills during the winter. Priceline has a 35 dollar no bid price. That is incredible for this hotel. Plus it is quiet and there is a nice grocery and shopping center across the road. The staff was also very nice. The only complaint I could even imagine is that the rooms are not Suite size like my favorite hotel in Hot Springs, USA Stay.

Room Tip: Don't be on the ground floor, it is quieter upstairs. The pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richhenkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn K, General Manager at Ramada Summerset Rapid City West, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are so appreciative for your review of our hotel!! Thank you for noticing that our staff is top notch:) We would love for you to stay with us again. Let me know when you are coming and we can put you in one of our large suites! Free upgrade (if available) for taking the time to review! Thanks again Rich!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
9.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,507 reviews
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
10.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 48 in Rapid City
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
587 reviews
9.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 48 in Rapid City
349 reviews
11.1 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Summerset Rapid City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Summerset Rapid City West

Property: Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
Address: 7900 Stagestop Rd, Rapid City, SD 57718-9135 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Summerset Rapid City West 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Summerset Rapid City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Rapid City West Hotel Rapid City
Ramada Black Hawk
Black Hawk Ramada
Ramada Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing