We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a touristy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Booked 2 nights in Rapid City.

The Hotel is not in a tourist area but is between Rushmore and the Bad Lands in Rapid City across from a high school.

Kind of wish I had stayed somewhere more in the mountains -- but --

The hotel was very clean and the 2 king bed room was very nice.

Staff was helpful in suggesting places to eat.

There was a problem with the breakfast layout, which caused a long...long breakfast line. I think this could be solved if they moved the drinks away from the food to split the people up.

The evening manager's reception , for some reason , is only held only Mon - Thurs...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eldeesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Rapid City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,485 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2008

After spending 2 nights in Custer, we moved to Rapid City to be closer to the Badlands and Devils Tower. This Howard Johnson's was easy to find. There was plenty of parking. Check in was fast and our room was very clean. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. Our room had 2 queen beds and was roomy. The front desk staff was helpful in offering directions.
The pool area was large, clean and not crowded. There are 2 hot tubs in which to soak as well. It is open until 10pm.
A free breakfast is offered. The breakfast room is quite large and had plenty of seating. The offerings where good- make your own waffles, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, pastries, bread and bagles.
There is a computer in the lobby for guests to use.
One issue we had is, as someone else previously mentioned, you have to ask to have the safe charge removed from your bill at checkout. Also, they initially charged us a higher rate than I had booked through their website. Bring your confirmation printouts with you! They did adjust the bill when showed the printout.
Overall, this hotel is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NHmayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

My family just got back from a trip to South Dakota. I booked this hotel for my family soley based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor- normally Howard Johnson's would not be my first, or even second or third choice-but the great reviews were spot-on! Our room was one with 2 king beds-very nice to have a ton of space. Everything was clean and fresh-and the room had a fridge and microwave. Towels were fluffy and new, a nice plus. As others have stated-the pool area was nice, and a bonus with 2 hot tubs. It was pretty crowded with a ton of kids, but expected in a high tourist area in the summer. Free breakfast was average, but nice to have available. We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely go back. I highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Debster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Stayed here on May 27th, 2008. Very nice motel for the price – $60 with taxes. Clean, two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, hi speed internet with provided cable. In just about the center of town. Not too close to the airport but then none of the others are either. Staff very helpful. Definitely would recommend this motel to anyone for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We had a double king room, which allowed our family a lot of room to spread out. Room was very clean and felt new or newly redone. The pool seemed like a standard hotel pool, but a nice perk was that it also had two hot tubs. My kids had a blast climbing along the underwater ledge in the pool, and I didn't have to feel guilty letting them into a hot tub when a second was available for adults. Breakfast was good (waffles, Danish, cereal), but the breakfast staff seemed a bit slow on the uptake. Also, only one waffle iron in operation made the breakfast line crawl along. The actual neighborhood was bland (across the street from a high school), but the hotel is within short driving distance of the mall and surrounding chain restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Stayed here partially on the recommendation of Trip Advisor ratings as well as the good price. At the time it was the number 2 rated hotel in Rapid City. I guess we expected more being the the second rated hotel in Rapid City. Don't get me wrong it was a nice place to stay, the room was large and the pool area was nice. Hotel employees were for the most part OK. We would stay here again but not automatically, might look around first.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I would say the my overall experience was fine as couple of things were nice about the hotel like the comfort of the rooms, staff was cooperative and location was good. My some grudges were no wireless internet, and the exhaust in the rest room is just too weak. Though I managed to get room freshner but it can be a problem for large group like ours.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank udayverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £57 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing