We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Large, clean rooms and very comfortable beds. Very quiet. Only gave 4 stars due to very messy waffle iron area and poor breakfast selection. It is within walking distance to the civic center and that was a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank You for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your room. I do apologize breakfast fell a bit short. I look forward to having the opportunity to have you with us again should you be returning to Rapid City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having thought all Howard Johnson hotels were out of business, I was delightfully surprised at this hotel. Our room was large and clean. There was an indoor pool and an exercise room. Continental breakfast and a Happy Hour from 5 - 7 Monday thru Thursday for guests. Easy walk to downtown for a little exercise. It is close to the highway for easy access to tourist attractions and interesting towns.

Room Tip: We had two king beds and the back side of the hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank You. I'm glad we were a pleasant surprise for you and that your enjoyed your stay. Please come stay with us again should be back in the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great hotel! Very comfortable beds! Love that the hotel offers 2 kings!! Nice sized pool and 2 hot tubs. Great facility all around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank You. I like the fact that we have rooms with two king beds to offer our guest. It's a nice option to have. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Overall, I had a great stay at the Rapid City HoJo. You couldn't beat the price for the quality. The only drawback was they did not serve a full breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Fred Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank You for your review. I'm glad you had a great stay! It is our goal to provide every guest with a quality stay. We hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 49 in Rapid City
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £33 - £1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing