We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were amazing and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“Rooms were amazing and clean!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Staff was great, rooms were clean and disinfected. I walked into both of my rooms and I felt the fresh clean air. I'm a bit OCD especially when it comes to hotel rooms and will not hesitate to complain about dirt and I couldn't find a speck of dust. Loved it so much I'm thinking about have my family reunion there, the banquet room seems roomy enough. It's hard to find a place now a days where staff cares.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, Owner at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you found our property clean and comfortable. We hope to speak with you soon regarding your family reunion. We will work hard to make sure you event is truly special and managed properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    418
    138
    32
    16
See reviews for
710
333
72
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I choosed this hotel since it was near to all parks attractions I wanted to visit in surrounding areas, during my short stay (2 days in total). Hotel is neat and comfortable, Not very expensive.
Worth it if you don't want to spend much and you want to be close to Parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaPItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, Owner at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your response. We are happy you found our property close to so many activities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great Staff! The pool area is very nice, with two hot tubs, music, and tables and chairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cokato, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had booked this hotel several months ahead, as June in Rapid City gets very busy. I was extremely pleased with the size of lobby and rooms, and the décor was lovely. The staff knew that there were 3 large tour buses booked, so they informed us that it would be more comfortable for us to have our breakfast after 8am, as the buses were scheduled to leave then. I found the staff to be very friendly. There was a manager's reception in the evening with wine, beer and soft drinks, which gave us a chance to visit with other guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjluhmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing