We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    386
    123
    28
    14
See reviews for
643
298
64
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were treated so warmly when we arrived in advance of the rooms being ready. Snacks were provided and we waited in comfort. When the room was ready, we found it to be very clean, bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Phyllis B,

Thank you for your review. We are here to happily accommodate all of guests whether they arrive early or late. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit in the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. People were friendly. Very clean. Housekeeping staff does a good job. It has a decent continental breakfast- cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, breakfast egg and bacon hot pockets, breakfast microwave burritos, coffee of course. Even had flavored creamers! Not fancy, but enough choices to get you started. Indoor pool and hot tub was a great way to relax after a day of sight seeing. Well located near both major highways. Happy hour Mon-Thurs 6 - 7:30 with free wine and beer. Quiet, comfortable, well organized room. If you want super luxury 5 star, you won't find it in Rapid City, but if you want a clean, comfortable place to stay with some extras, I highly recommend this HoJo in Rapid City.

Room Tip: I prefer higher than ground level- we had 4th floor facing the back- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverTennisPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
DenverTennisPlayer,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you truly took advantage of all of our amenities during your say. We are happy to hear that they met your standards and helped you relax after sightseeing in the Black Hills. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Need a place for 1 night. Kids loved the pool- the water temperature was very nice. The two hot tubs were great to have.
Room were clean and comfortable - this place is very convenient to downtown. We would definitely stay here again if in this area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
JBG416,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased your kids enjoyed the pool and you were able to relax in our hot tubs. We hope to see you again soon and during your next stay, please take advantage of our managers reception, Monday-Thursday where we offer free beer, wine and soda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with a very friendly front desk. Indoor pool is clean but the rooms could use some updating. Overall a nice place and would stay again if in the area. They also have an average complimentary the brwakfast as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gtownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Gtownmatt,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you found the pool clean and we are always striving to update our property to fit guests needs. We hope to see you again as you return to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.6 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing