We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Rushmore Tours and Howard Johnson motel - a great combination.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mount Rushmore Tours and Howard Johnson motel - a great combination.”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was my first stay at any Howard Johnson. It met and exceeded my expectations. Mount Rushmore Tours recomended the motel an I am glad that I took their advice. We were met by a very freindly and knowlegeable front desk clerk. The room was very clean, nicely appointed with fridge and microwave.The motel also has an indoor pool and two hot tubs as well as a work out area. The continental breakfast was perfect for our needs and by the turnout alot of other guests took advantage of it as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4nbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    416
    137
    32
    14
See reviews for
705
331
72
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Located in town, away from the freeway but still very conveniently located. Worked as a great base for day trips. Clean, quiet, reasonably priced, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here for one night on a long trip out west. I chose this hotel because of the lower cost and high ratings. It did not disappoint us one bit. The girl at the front desk was very helpful and offered a fantastic recommendation for dinner. The hotel also has a manager's reception, with free beer and popcorn. The breakfast area is very large, though the selection was a little bit less than I had expected, given the large area. I had some problems getting wireless internet in my room, but they do have wired jacks available. Our room was huge, and very comfortable for four people.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st_nick1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accountant_guy
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I picked this hotel over the Marriott (my preferred brand) due to a 33% difference in price. I figured that a Fairfield (similar class hotel) was not worth an extra 50 bucks a night, plus this was top rated on Tripadvisor. I don't regret my decision. The hotel was nothing to write home about, but I purposefully did not spend a lot of time in the room. It was clean, the service from the staff was attentive, the location was a good center point as we spent a day at the Badlands, day in Black Hills, and a day at Mount Rushmore and Custer. When I booked I really wanted a value hotel which is what I got. The free breakfast featured no hot items, which is a negative for me. The rooms were what you would expect for a value hotel. I gave them 4 circles because it met my expectations for this hotel class, I was upgraded to a complimentary suite, and the price very good. Note that I would have given them 4 circles even without the complimentary upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accountant_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed here for three nights on a driving tour from Denver to Seattle. This was my first visit to a HOJO in the USA. THis hotle is well run with a friendly and attentive staff. The room had double king beds , fridge , microwave, free internet , breakfast and evening drinks.
There is a nice pool with two hot tubs.
4 minute drive to Rushmore Mall and a 12 minute walk to Main Street. There is no restuarants adjacent however we did walk to the Fire House resturant on Main street .That was good value and was even patronised by your President. Good micro beers.
During our stay there was a large group of Aussies on tour . They kept the bar man , Mark, very busy but made the happy hour entertaining!
I would re book in a minute if in this area again.
Well done HOJO, you have a convert.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This room was large, clean, and in the parking lot of the civic center where we attended a concert. The best room I've stayed in in a long time and I travel quite a bit. Highly recommend this room for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsperitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Il
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. We were with a Mayflower bus tour and other bus groups were using it too; so if you want to avoid groups, it might not be the best place. You really need a car since downtown is about 6 blocks away but it can be walked. There is a high school across the street and a large park about 2 blocks away. Pool was nice. Standard expanded breakfast with waffle makers (2), breads, cold cereal, etc. They kept it well stocked. We never got to try the evening reception so no comment on that. Pool was nice. The rooms were clean and well cared for. No restaurants nearby. Good location for local attractions like Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Corn Palace, etc.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Property: Howard Johnson Rapid City
Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing