We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Dakota, United States
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location, right next to the interstate, Rushmore Mall, Walmart, and a wide variety of both fast food and dine-in restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse and Red Lobster. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean, but average, the fireplace did not work and the a/c heater was located right next to the bed so it blew air on us all night, but otherwise the room was fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We appreciate your comments and find them to be useful in furthering our desire to be the best we can be. The issues that you mentioned have been addressed and we will continue to strive in our quest to provide a hospitable experience to you and to all that stay with us. Have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    159
    70
    41
    23
See reviews for
286
158
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for business. I travel frequently and have found that this chain is generally "safe"; they tend to have good standards. But this particular hotel was far and away beyond my expectations. Cleanliness is important to me and my room was immaculate and was HUGE! The location is perfect, with tons of places to eat nearby. I lost my luggage on the trip, but the courteous front desk staff gave me directions to plenty of places to get what I needed and I didn't have to go very far. The breakfast was delicious. They even had fresh papaya! YUM!! I only wish I had more free time during my stay because the area is beautiful. I look forward to my next trip to the area and will certainly stay here again. A++!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airportbarfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and the recognition that our staff is courteous and helpful in a trying time such as the one you experienced with your luggage which can be difficult. We are hopeful and anxiously await your return to our beautiful city and hope you find the time to visit some of the sites this area has to offer - we can help with that too. We look forward to your return and are hopeful we will see you stroll through our doors, this time with your luggage. Be safe in your travels and remember, the Hampton Inn - Rapid City will welcome your return with a smile and a warm cookie!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadron, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found this by chance. We were stuck and searching for hotels and took a chance. It was low priced but high standards. We had a suite it was spacious and secluded to a point. Which was great as it was our first stay with our little ones. The breakfast was perfect.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite was well worth the $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadrock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We loved having you here. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, SD. We have passed your comments along to all the team members at the hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Blessings,
Sarah P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Hampton Inn in Rapid City, South Dakota was very nice. The staff was very helpful and the room was clean, new like with everything in working order. The included breakfast was also very good with lots to choose from. I recommend this hotel in Rapid City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank traveler372010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your recent compliments. We love hearing them. We at the Hampton value our guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Blessings,
Sarah P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very clean, very comfortable. The young lady (I don't remember her name) was so nice from the time I called for the reservation until we finally checked in. She was very pleasant. The room was clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable. The next morning I was amazed at their breakfast. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We loved having you here and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service. Your commenst have been passed along to all the Hampton Inn team members. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Blessings,
Sarah P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is clean and the service is great. Check-in was very quick. The clerk even called to ensure my room was up to par. No complaints. Would recommend this hotel and will stay there again when in Rapid City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Your comments are very appreciated. The team here at the Hampton Inn do our best to make each guests stay a great one. We loved having you here. Please come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Blessings,
Sarah P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, SD, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I usually stay at Hampton Inns, but the service of this one was excellent. We came in after 8:00 pm and was looking for cookies (which they don't serve after 8:00 pm) they offered to make a new batch, which we declined, but was amazed they offered. Upon check out on Saturday, we did not have time for breakfast and was looking for the breakfast to go bags, they do not offer those on the weekends, but again was offered to make up a couple, we declined due to the inconvience to the staff. I have never been treated so well by staff. I will stay there anytime I am in Rapid City. Facility was also very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I have passed them along to all the team members as well as given them directly to the team mmembers that you came in contact with. We loved having you here and would love for you to come back and see us again.

Blessings,
Sarah P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
1,360 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing