We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for touring around Rapid City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The gentelman on the evening shift was very friendly and personable. My husband especially liked talking to him about the Cosmos science program on TV. This was the perfect location to allow us to see all the attractions around Rapid City. The rooms at Hamptons are always clean and fresh and we also like the warm cookies and coffee on check in.

One negative aspect of this hotel is the dangerous entry to the hotel. One must make a left turn on a hill and it is difficlut to see cars approaching from the other side. There should be a traffic light or an alternative entry to make it safe for guests.

Room Tip: We always stay above the first floor. Less noise and we like to keep the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing. We are always looking for ways to improve and your comments help us in determining how we are doing. We believe our staff members are some of the best in the Hampton Inn chain and comments like yours help us improve in our daily interaction with our valued guests. We do hope that if in the area again you stop by and say "Hi" and consider allowing us to serve you. Have a safe and enjoyable summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The front desk clerk was very helpful before and during check-in. Also was knowledgeable when asked about local eateries and restaurants. I did hear the occasional "thud" from the room above but nothing that I would have heard above the noise of the television if it had been turned on. The Breakfast was fantastic and changed every morning. All in all, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Darrel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are pleased to see that you have taken the time to let us know how we are doing. We feel that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we are always looking to offer value added items and a variety of choices for your morning feist. Our entire staff are always here to help you find your way in these beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota and are happy to help at anytime. Be safe in your travels and have an enjoyable summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location for traveling back and forth to the regional tourist spots. There is also plenty of parking and several fast food restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We very much appreciate the time it takes to inform us on how we are doing and what our guests are looking for. Our location is nestled away in a somewhat isolated area but very accessible to the area's attractions and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact us again if you are in the area and as always, be safe in your travels and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We are from Florida doing the Lewis and Clark Trail and had booked this hotel for 4 nights to visit the sites in the area-however as we were doing the trail the weather became miserable cold and very windy so instead of continuing north we drove to Rapid City 2 days ahead of schedule-I tried on line to book the same accommodations that we had the for the 4 nights but not available-to make a long story short when we got to the motel a very efficient and helpful front desk lady-Adair-while she did not have what we wished she did arrange for our request the last 4 nights -I also want to personally thank the room attendant-name unknown-for the help she gave us after my wife got real sick from something she had eaten during the day. With the exception of Saturday morning breakfast-I was told it was the first day for the attendant -all our breakfasts were great-I want to thank all the personal we came into contact with and highly recommend this location for your stay-I was 30 years in the lodging business and recognize great people

Room Tip: A little hard to find but very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankkraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hearing positive comments from someone that has also been in the lodging industry is a real pleasure and a true compliment to what we are trying to offer our guests. Our staff is second to none and our desire to offer value and a great experience is what we strive for on a daily basis. We do hope your trip got better as you moved down the "trail" and we are hopeful that should you find yourself in the area again that you swing on by and allow us to serve you again. Thanks for your comments and have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was bountiful. Plenty of food choices and the food was fresh. We would reccommend this hotel to families who are traveling. The beds were comfortable and very cleqm. Best sleep I've had away at a hotel. The staff made us feel welcomed and there was fresh cookies and coffee in the lobby upon arrival. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your comment and we are pleased that you found your stay with us a memorable one. Taking the time to tell us how we are doing is very much appreciated and never goes unnoticed. I will share your comments with our staff so they can enjoy the kind words and learn from the experience. Have a safe and wonderful summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location, right next to the interstate, Rushmore Mall, Walmart, and a wide variety of both fast food and dine-in restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse and Red Lobster. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean, but average, the fireplace did not work and the a/c heater was located right next to the bed so it blew air on us all night, but otherwise the room was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We appreciate your comments and find them to be useful in furthering our desire to be the best we can be. The issues that you mentioned have been addressed and we will continue to strive in our quest to provide a hospitable experience to you and to all that stay with us. Have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for business. I travel frequently and have found that this chain is generally "safe"; they tend to have good standards. But this particular hotel was far and away beyond my expectations. Cleanliness is important to me and my room was immaculate and was HUGE! The location is perfect, with tons of places to eat nearby. I lost my luggage on the trip, but the courteous front desk staff gave me directions to plenty of places to get what I needed and I didn't have to go very far. The breakfast was delicious. They even had fresh papaya! YUM!! I only wish I had more free time during my stay because the area is beautiful. I look forward to my next trip to the area and will certainly stay here again. A++!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airportbarfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words and the recognition that our staff is courteous and helpful in a trying time such as the one you experienced with your luggage which can be difficult. We are hopeful and anxiously await your return to our beautiful city and hope you find the time to visit some of the sites this area has to offer - we can help with that too. We look forward to your return and are hopeful we will see you stroll through our doors, this time with your luggage. Be safe in your travels and remember, the Hampton Inn - Rapid City will welcome your return with a smile and a warm cookie!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
1,042 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,549 reviews
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £64 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a FREE hot deluxe breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a FREE 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space.>Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels< ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing