We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Highly recommend for a clean and comfortable spacious room. We upgraded to a Queen suite for $10 more a night well worth it for the extra space and wet bar Very family friendly with a nice pool area and water slide. Coffee served all day and cookies in the evening. The free breakfast is adequate. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    164
    70
    41
    23
See reviews for
289
164
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Nothing positive to say about our stay here.
Our room was directly over the front entrance and you could here the lobby door sliding back and forth all night long. We didn't get any sleep.
The rooms are old and outdated. Nice size but that is all that is positive.
Check in was like dealing with Moe, Curly and Larry. Some lady was auditing/counting the cash right out in the open which caused the entire check in process to stop. Several of us had to wait while she finished and the other two check out folks watched here. When we finally got our room keys we were stopped on the way back in with our luggage telling us we needed take a different room because the room we were assigned was ready because the dryer had broken. What?
And good luck finding a seat in the tiny breakfast area.
We couldn't wait to get out of Rapid City.

Room Tip: Do not let them give you room 208. Avoid it like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimes469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We want to thank you for your comments and are very sorry for your inconvenience. I want to personally appologize to you for the trouble you experienced during your stay with us and let you know that all that could be corrected has been addressed with our staff. We are very confident that should you return to our beautiful city and are in need of lodging we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please contact me personally and I will do everything in my power to make up for your previous inconveniences. Have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here on a recent trip to the 74 th annual Sturgis motorcycle rally, The staff was great everybody was very helpful and polite. The hotel had a free bike washing station for the riders to use. the room was very clean and comfortable the bathroom was very large and clean. The room was large and roomy, the bed was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the morning breakfast that was served daily, there was a very good selection of food to choose from. I can not say how wonderful the whole staff was at this hotel we will be staying there again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

As we approached the hotel the kids (10 and 12) saw a nearby waterslide... and of course wanted to go, When we checked in we learned the hotel had a water slide in their pool facility!! The kids were excited and it made it super easy for us-- NO extra car trip!! Our room was comfortable with lots of space, all the amenities we needed AND freshly baked cookies at the check-in desk!! Breakfast in the morning was abundant and tasty. Our check-out was VERY early, before "scheduled" breakfast was served, but the hotel staff was hard at work setting up and allowed us to grab a quick coffee and muffin!! Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were very satisfied. The evening staff was lovely and extremely helpful. Rooms were very clean, pool clean, and overall visit was very pleasant. When asked, staff could provide us with any type of location we were seeking, from the best tourist locations to the best local food in town. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Holleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week and had a great experience there. The hotel and rooms were very clean and the staff was very professional and nice. The free breakfast was good with a variety of different food items every day. The pool had a fun water slide that the kids enjoyed. We requested a top floor away from elevator and was granted this. Also had a roll-away for the 5th person in our room. The room was a bit tight with the roll-away, but since we were only there 2 nights, we made it work. I had read from others that there was an issue with noise because it was close to the highway and we never had an issue with this and our room faced the highway side. The only down side to the hotel is that it is a little on the spendy side, averaging around $300 a night for a hotel in Rapid City, SD. I'm used to spending this in some of the bigger US cities we've vacationed at and thought this rate was a little steep.

Room Tip: We always request a high floor away from elevator and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

very pleasant and friendly staff room had good size and the breakfast was good and the location was good the only problem was the marking of the location as to were to turn in the parking lot other than that everything was okay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 465jackiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Property: Hampton Inn Rapid City
Address: 1720 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701-6970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton Rapid City WELCOMES you! We are right where you want to be in the heart of shopping, restaurants, with easy access to tourist attractions, and minutes from our thriving downtown. Unwind at the Hampton Inn Rapid City hotel with everything you need for a successful and enjoyable stay for business, pleasure, or just passing through. Relax in a comfortable guest room featuring clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), selection of premium channels and free-high speed internet access. Feel welcome at our Rapid City hotel with a Hampton's free hot breakfast to help you prepare for a busy day ahead. Stay active in the fitness center and take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool with a 102' water slide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Catch up with work in the onsite business center and hold board meetings, business events and elegant receptions on 2,100 sq. ft of flexible meeting space. Detailed Amenity Descriptions: Clean and fresh Hampton bed! Sleep deep, and awake relaxed and refreshed. Each duvet and our crisp white linens are washed fresh for every guest, and our comfy pillows ensure you'll be dreaming in no time. Enjoy a swim! At the Hampton Inn of Rapid City, enjoy our spacious pool area! Cool off in our full sized indoor swimming pool, warm up in our oversized hot tub, relax on a lounge chair, or enjoy a big splash with our 102' waterslide with NO HIDDEN RESORT FEES. Free hot deluxe breakfast! At Hampton,we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast featuring a variety of delicious options. Free Wi-Fi! On the road does not mean offline. We offer convenient internet access in every guest room and throughout the hotel, making it easy to work, check your email, and stay connected with friends and family back home. Hilton HHonors. As a proud member of Hilton Worldwide, we reward and recognize members of our guest-loyalty program. Hilton HHonors members earn free nights, exclusive benefits and members-only privileges. Let's get together! We have beautiful and professinal meeting and reception space available including a boardroom, 2100 sq. ft. ballroom, and 2 1050 sq. ft. meeting rooms. FREE Additional Amenities • Fresh baked cookies daily • 24 hour Business center with free printing • 24 hour Fitness center • 24 hour coffee / tea station • Free ample parking • Complimentary USA Today! • Refrigerator • Microwave • Iron and Ironing board • In room coffee maker • Hair Dryer • Free local calls • Freshly cleaned duvets • Award Winning Hampton Beds • Premium HD channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing