We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, below HI Ep expecations for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stayed here in the past (a couple of years ago), and was a bit nervous/surprised at the poor TA reviews. So what did I find: a) we checked in at 4:45 pm and had to wait about 15 minutes for staff to ensure our room was ready. I observed staff cleaning other rooms at nearly 6 pm. b) The elevator floor is as dirty as people describe! Can't believe management does not attempt to clean/repair ... "attention to detail" issue c) no "perks" for PC members d) They DID give me my room preference, but the toilet leaked in the room ... room was otherwise clean though. E) Breakfast was very good. Fresh pasteries, friendly staff ... that said, I did go down about 10 minutes before they officially opened to beat the "tour bus" group booked for 6:30 am.

This is one of the most expensive HI Expresses I have stayed at and while I appreciate they are busy ... that does not change my expectations. We used to stay exclusively at HI Exp hotels, but this particular HI Exp is another reason we have begun trying Hampton's in locations where the HI Exp is rated "average or lower" (< 4*). Strictly "average" overall though "hats off" to the breakfast staff, and friendliness of the evening check-in staff.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear wallywanna,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I appreciate the compliments on our breakfast and evening staff.

However, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered in your room and I deeply regret the dissatisfaction you had during check in. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided.

We appreciate the candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Holiday Inn Express is one of our family's favorite hotel chains, but we found this one to be very disappointing. When you first arrive, it is somewhat hard to find, but it appears very nice. But, when morning comes, things turn when you find out that there is no breakfast selection hardly. Of HIE's famous cinnamon rolls, the number varied from one to three, and once there were no more, there were no more. Oh, and the cinnamon rolls are cold also. The pancake machine makes one pancake, which isn't even round, and then stops. The other items are also in short supply, and rarely refilled. If you can't make it down by 8 o'clock, don't even bother. We were not impressed and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOTHEROFTRAVLERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear MOTHEROFTRAVLERSON,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize you were not satisfied with our breakfast selections. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a decent HiE. Breakfast was busy and crowded, attendant couldn't keep up. Pool was really cloudy, but there are 2 x hot tubs for some reason. There are a few chain restaurants and a gas station within walking distance. The stand out fail here was the internet access. They have an arcane code system that only works once-- device goes dormant at night, then you need new user name/pswd in the morning... only place I've seen something this backwards. I'd probably stay at different Holiday Inn in RC if I was going to really need internet access, but this is fairly convenient to I90.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAKSAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear GAKSAK,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a trip with his father and step-mother. We kind of joined the plans late in the game, so the only bed situation we could get was a sofa sleeper. Not very comfortable. And a smoking room was all that was available. We were not very happy, but it was only two nights...
The lobby was nice and the receptionist friendly and quick. The place looked clean and I used the restroom in the lobby while they checked in, it was clean too.
Then we opened the door of our first floor room- Holy smoke- literally! It was like someone was in there smoking as we walked in. I have had to stay in smoking rooms before, but they were never as bad as this....we opened the window to help, but it didnt.
The rest of our stay was decent. The breakfast was ok, good coffee. Good water pressure in the shower. The room also had a small fridge and microwave.
After sightseeing we returned to a note on the sofa sleeper saying the sofa-bed wasnt made due to our personal belongings being on the bed( our travel pillows), but upon inspection, the bedspread had been tucked in and the two top sheets we had used the night before were gone. There was also a pillow from the other bed that we had used put back on the other bed. So exactly how was our bed not made, but all these things done? We dont care about them touching our pillows, but it was very inconvienent to have to go to the front desk to get more sheets. They werent even extra-they were in the room when we checked in the first night. And we left a tip on the bed like I always do...they had no trouble touching that.
All in all, it was an ok hotel. We are giving it a poor rating because of the maid/bedding situation and because when we opened our suitcases the evening we checked out, EVERYTHING smelled like smoke. Even things we didnt take out.

Room Tip: if you dont like waiting for an elevator, ask for a first floor room. We saw a line for the elavator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruzinfagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear cruzinfagans,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. We are also very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by housekeeping not preparing your room properly at an appropriate time. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We usually choose Holiday Inn Express when we travel cuz they are affordable and decent. However, this location left us extremely disappointed. Management does not know how to plan for high season traffic... or they just do not care. We arrived late on Friday so didn't have much interaction. However, Saturday and Sunday were a bust. We were gone ALL day on Saturday, only to come back to a room that had not been touched by housekeeping. My husband and I were understanding, knowing it was a sold out situation. (They do have a lot of cleaning staff, however.) Come Sunday, breakfast bar is out of coffee, food is very mediocure compared to other Holiday Inns, and waffle machine is broken. Front desk doesn't really care when it is brought to their attention. We left again for the entire day. Arrived back around 4:00. Again room was not clean but we saw cleaning staff finishing up a room two doors down. We decided to head to the pool to kill time. Got back to the room at 5:30. Cart for supplies was still in hall with a staff person no where in sight. I called the front desk to ask about status. Jessie, who was very non-apologetic, said that they ran out of bed sheets and we would be next. (Really? Ran out of clean sheets? STILL cleaning at 5:00 in the evening?) As we were getting on the elevator to leave again we saw two of the staff getting off with a Coke in one hand and unlit cigarette in the other. As my husband stated, for as many crew they had for that size of a hotel there was a whole lot of nothing going on. The garbage cans were overflowing in the lobby area and front desk went on without acknowledging the mess. I met a few folks who were stating the same thing... rooms untouched by cleaning so late in the day, and they were on the first floor (we were on third).

Rooms are very average. No fridge and no safe. Beds are comfy. Pool is decent.

There are lots of hotels in the area, even a little west.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fortheinnocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear fortheinnocent,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. We are also very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by housekeeping not cleaning your room at an appropriate time. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here for one night in May 2013. Very speedy check-in process; helpful front desk and housekeeping staff. Really nice heated indoor pool and two hot tubs. Very close to many places to eat and Rushmore Mall. Excellent and plentiful breakfast. Wireless Internet is noticeably fast; more-so than most other hotels. Even though this property is right off I-90, it is very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor (to avoid elevators)
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had the king suite, which gives slightly more room than the standard double queens, and comes with a fridge and microwave, which come in handy. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, but the one small elevator for guests and housekeeping staff is a real design flaw. We take the stairs normally anyway, but the staircases are at complete opposite ends of the hallway than the lobby/single elevator, so carting things up when you're on the top floor is frustrating. The pool area is very nice, but during tourist season, it's filled all the time. We didn't think much of the breakfast. Mostly starch options, but some mornings there were omelets and bacon. They change it daily. The room's decor, noise suppression and great cooling A/C system are 4-star, but the elevator situation (I felt badly for the staff having to move their carts up and down the floor while tourists were trying to pile in with their luggage) is a bummer. Great staff the whole 3 nights we stayed.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It's not a true suite, but having the fridge and microwave and a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Magpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear 3Magpies,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Hampton Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
761 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City

Address: 645 E Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £58 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City was fully renovated in 2013 and is well suited for both family and business needs. For the business traveler we have rooms with free high speed internet access and a business center available 24 hours a day. Our services include fax service and all rooms contain two line speaker phones. For the family, we have our large indoor pool with water feature, hot tub and a newly expanded fitness room. Our Express Start breakfast bar has something for everyone to start your morning off right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing