We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, But!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. This is a very modern, very well kept hotel with friendly desk staff. The rooms are good size, the price is right, and the location is easy to find right off I-90. However, when we arrived at 5:15 p.m., they stated that the rooms were not ready. But in 10 minutes, we had a room. We did notice the housekeeping staff were still cleaning rooms until 7:30 p.m. that night. And they were not friendly to say the least. But the next day, we returned from a day of sightseeing at 5 p.m. and our room had not been touched. They stated that housing was behind a bit. Really? Bottom line, this is a good hotel with poor unfriendly housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: When staying here, keep in mind that housekeeping is very slow and unfriendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upexplorer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the first time I stayed at the Holiday Inn I-90 in Rapid City after staying several times in nearby hotels. The hotel was under renovation over the winter and this Holiday Inn is in much better shape than other Holiday Inn's I've stayed in elsewhere.

The rooms are nice complete with a flat screen TV and a mini-fridge. The beds are clean and comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping.

The hotel's complimentary breakfast had a wide variety of options and was a nice feature of my stay.

The only thing I would say is that as a business traveler, this wasn't the best hotel to stay in due to the number of families with kids around the hotel. It didn't bother me too much, but just something to be weary of, especially when travelling to Rapid City in the summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel was recently remodeled and it is very attractive. But looks and comfortable surroundings don't cut it if the details are not paid attention to. Shortly after checking in around 5:30 pm, I took advantage of a nice cool evening and opened my window for fresh air. Soon I noticed a chemical smell and cigarette smoke. Looking outside a maintenance person was spray painting a railing right in front of my open window. I asked him to come back tomorrow.

Then at about 9:00 on the Sunday night of my stay as I was dosing off, I heard banging and vacuuming outside my door. There were 3 or 4 maids carts in the hallway, one practically blocking my door and cleaning going on in several rooms around me. I asked them to please remove the carts from my door area and complained to the front desk.

Outside my window was a high intensity spotlight apparently illuminating the hotel sign that I had to attempt to block out behind my curtains.

There are several other hotels in the area. My stay was not inexpensive and I expected better. I will not be here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank DouglasE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear DouglasE54,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

THis is a great example of why I stay at Holiday Inn Express, THE STAFF. Rarely do I stay at one and don't bond with the staff. Paul, the maintenance man was exceptionally nice, helping us with anything we needed. I only stayed there 5 days and by the end I knew all the staff by name and so did they.

As for the rest of the hotel, it was what I expected from an Express. Clean rooms with a solid breakfast options. I also liked the food options available outside the Hotel making it possible to get a variety of meal options (Dennys, Outback, TGIF, Bostons Sports Bar) within walking distance. The cleaning staff was also exceptional and did a great job of keeping the place clean.

So overall this is a GREAT place for someone planning on visiting the black hills. It's close to the sites, the rooms are great and clean, and you will not find a better staff anywhere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at two different Holiday Inn Express locations in Rapid City last week. This is by far the best location. Recently renovated, the rooms were squeaky clean and the breakfast area large and comfortable. The rooms are also immensely quiet. The location, right off I-90 is very convenient while traveling and adjacent to the downtown Rapid City area. We can't say enough nice things about this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CGeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel renovations are complete! We stayed while moving from Connecticut to Washington and had a great experience. From check in to check out the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were well taken care during our time there. Hotel looks great after the update and is in a very convenient location. Being pet friendly was also a help for us. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Close to airport & restaurants. Rooms were clean & management was nice. Typical breakfast-cereal, pastries, pancakes, eggs & bacon. Staff helpful with directions, restaurants, etc. A little noisy one night. Would recommend staying on top floor. Very clean & pleasant.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvDogs1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rapid City
Hampton Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
762 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City

Address: 645 E Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City was fully renovated in 2013 and is well suited for both family and business needs. For the business traveler we have rooms with free high speed internet access and a business center available 24 hours a day. Our services include fax service and all rooms contain two line speaker phones. For the family, we have our large indoor pool with water feature, hot tub and a newly expanded fitness room. Our Express Start breakfast bar has something for everyone to start your morning off right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing