We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Perham, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Room was very nice, beds were comfortable and having the microwave & fridge was very nice with having a 7 year old along. The staff were all very nice and friendly and took the time to visit with my son and answer any questions. The pool was well maintained, as well as the hot tub. The breakfast was quite good. We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    97
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
107
87
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I needed a room in short notice and was driving through my wife and i were exhausted and the only two hotels that had rooms were this one and the motel 6 after reading other reviews I decides to go with this one, room was very clean the beds were very comfortable and clean, although we didn't need it there was a fridge and microwave in the room, staff was nice and helpful will deffinetly stay again I'd I'm in the area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bholt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear BHolt2004,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. The best compliment we can get is you sharing your kind words with other fellow travelers.

Thanks Again - Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

On a tour to the Badlands and Mt. Rushmore, we stayed here 4 nights. The room was acceptable except that the sink is outside the rest of the bathroom between the bathroom door and the outside door -- very inconvenient and uncomfortable. The room itself seemed clean and adequate. We had difficulty getting coffee left for us by the staff. The breakfast room is certainly inadequate for a group the size of ours. I partly blame the tour company for that. The pool was nice, but I only got to use it once due to our busy schedule.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldlawmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We chose this motel for location, hot tub and swimming pool. The room had two double beds. Both beds had a worn side, so neither was comfortable for a couple. The hot tub was unimpressive. After we were out touring all day, the hot tub was sooo disappointing. Needs proper treatment for foam. The pool was nice.
Over all NOT a good value for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis< IN
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was a good choice. Staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was clean and comfortable. A great value. Location was great. Plenty of good eating places close by. Would definitely recommend this facility.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is great! We booked our vacation here (from Canada) not knowing much about the area or which hotels to book at. But this location first of all was fantastic for those wanting to do tours to Wyoming, Keystone, Badlands etc. The staff were phenomenal. . . so kind, helpful and always a winning smile!!! We booked this hotel b/c it had two major things: a pool, and a breakfast. The pool first of all was amazing. Great loungers all around, pool toys for the kids, and actually it was quite quiet when we were there. It was very clean, and not irritating on the eyes. The hot tub was indoors, and while I'm not a big fan of indoor hot tubs, the kids did enjoy warming up in it after a late evening swim. Breakfast: AMAZING! Full hot breakfast provided, and even when you arrived a little later, there was always lots to go around. The outside deck was nice for a change. Lots of room which is always nice! Great to have a fridge in room, alarm clock, etc. We stayed for 6 nights, and would stay here again in a heart beat. GREAT VALUE FOR A GREAT HOTEL!!! don't waste your money on others, when this has it all, PLUS a great attentive staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We loved our stay here! Very friendly people, good breakfast included, toys in the pool, a good quiet room and decent beds. What else do you need?
Beds were 2m by 1.60m (I hate too short and small beds, so this is important info) and the blankets were also long enough for tall people.

I would stay again in the future and definitively recommend this place! And it was strategically positioned for exploring the region as well, we stayed 4 nights and did all the highlights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaviera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,461 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
577 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 48 in Rapid City
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#23 of 48 in Rapid City
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0482
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing