We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had seen it before we booked.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we had seen it before we booked.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Have never stayed with this chain before, won't ever again. I find it hard to believe the other reviews that called this place "awesome" we're written by real guests. At check in, the staff was not pleasant, and in fact seemed annoyed that we booked through a third party site. We did not see our room until later that evening, after a trip to Mt. Rushmore. Let's just say I was instantly on the Internet looking for a new hotel. We could not get a refund from the third party, so decided to ask the front desk for another room...on the 2nd floor. Now, this time she was fairly pleasant, and although quite flustered by our request, did move us to another room...which was a little nicer. We also felt safer up there, as the window in our first room did not lock. Also, as a side note, we saw a couple going to thier room with two dogs, so dogs are permitted In the first floor rooms....great for someone with allergies! And is it a coincidence that the carpet in the 2nd floor room was cleaner? At any rate, it was a cheap place to stay, but next time, we'll pay a little more to get more, and definitely check out the next hotel before booking!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hwaas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear hwaas4,

Yes, all of our TripAdvisor reviews are written by our guests. As you can see by our reviews your unpleasant experience was an exception and not the norm. None the less, I am terribly sorry for your poor experience at our hotel. We strive to make every guest stay as pleasant as possible and take our reputation very seriously. I have taken your comments to heart and will use them as a teaching tool at our next staff meeting.

Unfortunately when you book through a third party our hands are tied when it comes to reservation changes or cancellations. Using third party websites are great for shopping and comparing, but you should always be able to get a better rate when booking directly with the property. Upon request, any reputable hotel will always let you see your room before you check in and allow you to make changes or requests to make sure your stay is the best it can be. This is only a suggestion and it is not meant to explain or excuse the attitude that you received from our desk clerk. I hope you will accept my personal and sincere apology. I have already taken action to ensure that this does not happen again.

Also, if you suffer from pet allergies, I recommend that you check with the hotel directly to see if they are a pet friendly property. If you do choose to stay with a hotel that accepts pets talk to them before you book your stay. Many places, like our hotel, only allow pets in certain rooms and have certain rooms that never allow pets.

Again I am truly sorry your stay with us wasn't nearly as pleasant as it should have been. I also hope that my recommendations will help make your future travels the best they can be.

Wherever life may take you, I hope your journey is a safe and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    89
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
101
83
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the last several years while attending the annual Dakota Polka Festival each September. The rooms are very clean. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. There was a variety of food choices. We enjoyed having breakfast every morning with our friends in the spacious dining area. The Staff was very friendly and helpful with our travelling questions. The hotel was not far from one of the shopping malls we went to and also is within walking distance of a few restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We arrived in Rapid City late evening (10.30 pm) and it was a short drive to this hotel. The rooms were very good, spacious, clean, eqipped with a fridge and plenty of towels etc. The breakfast room was adjacent to the reception and was clean and tidy. The breakfast was very sufficient, good selection of cereals, cakes and buns, fresh bread, juice, waffles, eggs, yoghurt, fresh fruit and tea and coffee, all of which was replaced very quickly with new supplies. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool area was clean and tidy, although we didn't have time for a swim! There was a BBQ at the side of the pool which we used one night, nice change to restaurant meals. If in the area again we would definately staff here - good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueshenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Despite Americans Best has not ever been good for me. This time I am very satisfied. Helpful staff who suggested us a great place to eat, good breakfast and very very handy. It is just outside the motorway and the exit after Mt Rushmore. Rapid City is a nice place for an evening walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perham, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Room was very nice, beds were comfortable and having the microwave & fridge was very nice with having a 7 year old along. The staff were all very nice and friendly and took the time to visit with my son and answer any questions. The pool was well maintained, as well as the hot tub. The breakfast was quite good. We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I needed a room in short notice and was driving through my wife and i were exhausted and the only two hotels that had rooms were this one and the motel 6 after reading other reviews I decides to go with this one, room was very clean the beds were very comfortable and clean, although we didn't need it there was a fridge and microwave in the room, staff was nice and helpful will deffinetly stay again I'd I'm in the area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bholt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear BHolt2004,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. The best compliment we can get is you sharing your kind words with other fellow travelers.

Thanks Again - Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

On a tour to the Badlands and Mt. Rushmore, we stayed here 4 nights. The room was acceptable except that the sink is outside the rest of the bathroom between the bathroom door and the outside door -- very inconvenient and uncomfortable. The room itself seemed clean and adequate. We had difficulty getting coffee left for us by the staff. The breakfast room is certainly inadequate for a group the size of ours. I partly blame the tour company for that. The pool was nice, but I only got to use it once due to our busy schedule.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldlawmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing