We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were traveling with a pet. They have pet friendly rooms. The room was clean when we arrived and cleaned everyday. The towels were changed wether or not they were on the floor which was nice. The bathroom is smaller than average. The fixtures are newer there is a flat panel tv and fridge and microwave in each room. The employees were friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AdventurousAngieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear AdventurousAngieH,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing your opinions with other travelers.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Check-in was fine. We found our room a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. The rooms could use updating. We kept the fan on all night to drown out the I90 noise. The pool looked nice but we didn't use it as it was raining & cold out. Breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinlady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear penguinlady59,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry the rooms were not to your high standards. We are in the process of remodeling. Please check back with TripAdvisor for updated pictures as the remodel progresses.

Thanks You
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've been in other America's Best motels, and they were cheap and low rate. This one has to be one of their best. Professional staff, nice room, decent breakfast options. I consider it a good value and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaW145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear EvaW145,

I appreciate you pointing out that not all Americas Best Value Inns are the same. Much like at the big name hotels, it is important to check the reviews. So we really appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your positive comments.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Traveling with pets can be expensive. We have two dogs and many chains charge $20 and up per pet. Generally we stay ay La Quinta's. However, we were heading home via Mount Rushmore. When I went to reserve a room at the Rapid City LaQuinta about 5 days ahead of time, the best room rate was $159!!! We never spend much time at the hotel, basically to sleep. We don't use the pool or generally eat the breakfasts many hotels provide. After reading trip advisor reviews, we decided to try America's Best Value. We had never stayed at this chain before. They charge a flat $10 pet fee (even though we had two dogs). We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel for what we paid (about $80). This is a non-frills hotel. However, it was clean, had comfortable beds, was easy on and off the interstate and had lots of restaurants close by. We noticed quite a few families with young children or couples staying here. The pool seemed nice, they have free WiFi, an ATM in the lobby and a microwave & refrigerator in every room. The window/wall air conditioning unit was a little loud, but worked great. They had a flat screen TV. The only negatives I have are the room was small and the bathroom door and sink were VERY awkwardly placed (right next to the entry door.) The door to the toilet/tub area was also awkwardly placed. The sink vanity was very, very small and we couldn't fit many toiletries on it. And for those of you very picky people, the decor isn't ever going to be featured on HGTV.

I have to say that the front desk staff were some of the most pleasant staff I've encountered. The hotel offers an AARP discount and a rewards card (not a credit card) which will save you an additional 15% off on future visits. My husband and I would stay at this chain again because of their reasonable pet policy.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a room further away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mary F.,

Thank you for your kind and honest review of our hotel. What we lack in big name recognition we try very hard to make up for in customer service and quality lodging.

As for not being featured on HGTV, well you obviously didn't get the good fortune of staying in one of our newly remodeled rooms ;-). In all seriousness though, we do strive to stay current and are in the slow process of remodeling all of the 94 rooms.

Follow us on Facebook, or check back here for updated pictures. Or better yet, stop back in next time your in town to see what we've done.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Friendly clean and helpful...breakfast was good and never ran out like some places do. Wonderful laundry room and extremely friendly staff. Highly recommend. Traveled with a young child and the staff always told him good morning and asked how he was doing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank August S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

August S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you and your son enjoyed your stay.

Travel safe and if your travels ever bring you back our way, we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went to Mt Rushmore and stayed overnight in Rapid city. Without hotel reservation we based our hotel hunting on the reviews of other travelers. My husband said to check this hotel because of the very good review. We checked other hotels around the area but this hotel is worth our money. Good location, friendly staff, good value and very clean which is the first thing I look in a hotel. The staff in the front desk was very helpful. He went to our room to help us connect to the internet. Bed was comfortable. Sink is not the typical sink. It's like a big bowl colored light blue. Breakfast is just right. We asked if we can check out a couple of hours late without an additional charge. And I think the owner or the manager said yes. Although, we did not extend our stay, granting our request made us appreciate the hotel more. Overall, this hotel is a good value. I'll stay here next time I visit Rapid city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escalade4X4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

escalade4X4,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your honest and kind words mean a lot to our entire staff. I will be sure to share your review with them.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Hill's may be Black, but the service is brightening. In this tranquil laid back setting there exist a diamond who's beauty is forged in the facets of its management and employees. The comfort of family and friends is the only example that would dare parallel the experience. Reeva, the GM, is like a mother hen guarding her chicks. The grounds and building are clean and safe. This has all been accomplished at an extraordinarily reasonable rate! From an outside perspective, I urge you to visit this secret paradise. Happy travels to all, and to all a good life.

Room Tip: My tip is to ask any of the trusted employees. Their opinions are quite valid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Trey S.,

I'm not sure what to say, but thank you. Your kind and sincere thoughts truly mean a lot to me and our hard working staff. Hopefully your travels will bring you back our way so we might look forward to serving you again.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 49 in Rapid City
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 49 in Rapid City
616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0482
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing