We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is right off the interstate and convenient to so many restaurants and attractions in the area. Room was quiet. Breakfast was adequate and the staff did a good job keeping plenty of food items available even with so many tour bus patrons staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sandra S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your honest feedback is very helpful to future guests.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for ten days while visiting the Black Hills, and we both enjoyed our stay very much! The staff and management is friendly, and are also very accommodating. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again when we return to the Black Hills next year! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Dustin S,

We appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Black Hills.

We look forward to seeing you next year.

Happy Honeymoon,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The area has expensive lodging because of Mount Rushmore (I'd presume) and this was expensive, but more economical than most. It's fairly well-maintained and the people at the front are very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't say there's anything luxurious, but it's clean and more than sufficient which is all it pretends to be. The continental breakfast is pretty good. It is dog-friendly, but for an additional $8/day if I remember right. You're about 30-40 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and within 5-10 minutes of a vibrant downtown Rapid City. The internet connection wasn't very good, if you're depending on that to do a lot of work you will have trouble. But overall, I enjoyed the hotel and the area and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nupester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Nupester,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you stated we don't pretend to be a luxury brand, after all we have "Value" right in our name. Rapid City and the Black Hills are a very popular tourist destination during the summer months and the increased demand tends to drive prices up. We try to maintain an affordable rate but still provide you with the value and customer service that you deserve.

I appreciate you bringing the Wi-Fi issue to my attention and have already moved to correct the problem.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close to the highway, it has some restaurant around.
The area and the parking lot is safe
Staff is friendly
Rooms are small and relatively clean ( the carpet had a big stain .......)
The mattress is not the most comfortable....... But the beddings were clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Doloka,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the stain in the carpet. We are in the slow process of updating the flooring in many of our rooms. We have moved that room to the top of the priority list.

Thank you for the feedback.

Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Pleasant and value for money stay. If you're expecting an amazing hotel, then this is not the place for you; it's what you'd expect from small town USA. Service was good and breakfast was ok, had a decent selection. Overall good value for money.
Beware of room keys not working of you don't keep them in the pouch as they can be wiped by other credit cards and phones etc.
it's about a 15min drive from the airport and was fairly easy, despite this being the first time driving in USA. A gas station is net door.

Mount Rushmore is about a 25min easy drive from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank sarahu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear SarahU81,

Welcome to the U.S. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly hope you enjoy your entire visit to the United States.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The area for this time of the year is expensive! It's a lot of money for the value you get but it was a good deal for Rapid I suppose. The room was clean and good enough for a nights stay. Outdoor pool & hot tub was closed due to stormy weather but they looked nice had it been open.
The fridge and microwave were an added plus to the room. We would stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Aaron E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with fellow travelers.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived to discover one of our rooms had been given to another party. Four people ended up with one queen and two rollaways (which meant wall-to-wall beds) for two of our five nights - which meant an inconvenient mid- week move. The desk staff was not very helpful and certainly didn't care. The rollaways were our idea, not theirs. We were seriously annoyed as we had made these reservations six months ago. The wi-fi is so terrible we couldn't use it for more than fifteen minutes without being logged off the system. If you want to use anything other than your room, it requires a trip to the desk for a separate key - laundry, fitness room. The bathroom counter space is inadequate for more than one person, don't plan on being able to get multiple people out the door quickly. It's close to I-90, but so are other hotels. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you are unwise enough to stay here, request a room away from the smoking section. The staff tends...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear T S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I really appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your stay with us wasn't an extraordinary one.

After talking to my staff I can only apologize again and completely own this mistake. We screwed up and there is no excuse for that. The fact that the staff didn't seem to care is also inexcusable. I know we gave you a discount, but I understand that at that point the damage was done and there was very little we could do to make things right with you and your family.

If you ever find yourself in the area again, we would like the opportunity to make things right with you. Please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with Reeva, our general manager and we will do whatever we can to make things right with you.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,533 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 48 in Rapid City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0482
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing