We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location worth view”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location worth view”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Thought we had gone wrong way. It's literally the highest point in city. Arrived during rain storm and saw huge rainbow over city. Room very clean and comfortable. Was designated non smoking but when we opened door terrible smell greeted us. Thought it was cleaner or deodorizer at first but now think it used to be a smoking room. Once that happens the stale smell lingers. Smell was present whole stay and it stormed so could not leave window open So just be sure you request a room that has always been non smoking

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtbkrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    147
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
198
214
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Awesome views and a nice room with plenty of room. A great host here and a nice outdoor area to eat. Saw folks BBQ'ing and wish we did the same. We were joining a tour group to visit Mt Rushmore and this palce was associated with them so it worked out great. Recommended.

Room Tip: The larger rooms at the end have a nice double door with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballybeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spring time in the Black Hills would not be complete without staying at the Big Sky Lodge. The beds are comfortable, rooms are spotless thanks to their friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast is served daily with Jay's best coffee ( I don't know how he does it!) and then Jay and Alicia are ready to help plan your day of site seeing, hiking, fishing, motorcycling, bicycling or whatever. The flowers are being planted and the colors are popping up all over. The fabulous view of the city all the way to the Badlands from the hot tub or benches can't be beat any time of year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Big Sky Lodge did not live up to expectations for us. It has a nice location with a great view, not too far out of the city. It has good potential, and we appreciate that they take pets. We traveled here off season. So off season, in fact, that they did not have any reception staff. We arrived at about 1900 and found the key to our room taped onto the door. I went by the next morning to see if they needed me to formally check in, but nobody was there then either. They did come and clean our room while we were out the first morning. But nobody came to make up the room the next day. We also found a sock that didn't belong to us under one of the beds. Again, the place has potential but they were clearly off their game when we visited.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unwilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Big Sky Lodge is the ideal jumping off point for touring the Black Hills area! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Lodge, it was extremely clean, nicely appointed, and very quiet. The bed was comfy and the room, while somewhat small, was ideal for one person (and one dog). The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there are even laundry facilities available. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms with views are on the windy side of the building and closer to the main road. I was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I loved my stay! The room was cozy and met all of our needs, I loved the view! gorgeous! Very curtious whem calling for reservation and proffesional, prices were amazing! and they take care of the military! good discount! I would like to come visit again and its close to the Mount Rushmore Memorial. perfect spot to relax. Overall very happy.

Helpful?
2 Thank caeghlie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This past summer myself and 3 friends of mine went on a motorcycle trip we started out at Rapid City and made a 2,000 mile loop. and we stayed at Big Lodge Motel 3 nights and we could not have been treated any better (Very Biker Friendly) this place was clean the hospitality and the view was assume. Why would you want to stay in town when you can stay in a location like this. AAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++++

Room Tip: A Room on the back side or East side the View is Assume
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
1,420 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 51 in Rapid City
568 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 51 in Rapid City
531 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Property: Big Sky Lodge
Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing