We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Big Sky Lodge in Rapid City. The room was clean, comfortable, and we found the views spectacular. It was a great place to rest after busy days of sightseeing in the black hills, and centrally located to all the popular destinations. Great for families, and a nice breakfast each morning was appreciated. We grilled our evening meals on the patio which had 3 gas grills available to guests, as well as 4 or 5 picnic tables. Our son loved the hot tub, as did my husband and I! We would definitely return to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    147
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
198
215
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Can't believe we found this gem on our first trip to the Black Hills. We stayed three nights. Rooms comfortable and clean. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Perfect light breakfast each day. The view is amazing and it was very peaceful. Hot tub well kept. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for an awesome stay, Jay & Alicia. The Donovan's from Kansas

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatandWynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We actually stayed here twice in a two week time period. Once on our way out to the Pacific NW and the other on our way home. It is a wonderful spot. Quiet and extremely dog friendly. We had our lab mix with us and he was very welcome. The awesome view was an added bonus. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We met the folks in the room next to us, they were really nice and loved our dog! I would recommend the Big Sky Lodge and absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights in June and could not have been happier! Alicia and Jay make you feel as if you were their long lost friends who you never lost touch with. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all you need. It is great that you can do your laundry there and not need quarters, just pay the fee at the desk and go on back. The 100 mile view off the back is spectacular, while we were there we had a double rainbow and you could see both ends. Everyone there was friendly and when you sit outside everyone just stops by and chats! Alicia knows the best place to eat and will gladly tell you, along with the truth, that you may never eat anywhere else! It took us an hour and a half to leave because it was so hard to do so. I will recommend this place to ANYONE traveling to Rapid City. We don't share Wisconsin Cheese with just anyone! I wish we could have stayed longer. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband found Big Sky Lodge online when we were planning our trip to Mt. Rushmore from California. What a great place!! The view alone sold me. The room with a view confirmed the deal. And Jay & Alicia finished it. What great folk! We travel with two miniature dachshunds and they were made to feel as welcome as we were. There's good walking area for our four-leggeds which is important to me. We originally booked one night; we ended up staying three. It was such a comfortable and relaxing place to be. One of our favorite relaxing spots is a place in Astoria, Oregon. I described Big Sky Lodge to our son as The Crest without the Columbia but with a "forever" view. "Wow Mom! You guys really like it!" It's calm & quiet in a marvelous location. Oh...and breakfast is great. Muffins, cereal, assorted breads and hard-boiled eggs.

Room Tip: West facing for the sunrise and "weather" show over the prairie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were so impressed with the location of this delightful place!! We loved to sit out back and gaze at the view. The walls of the room are the same color as our bedroom, so we felt at home there.. The owners, Jay and Alicia were so nice and had suggestions as to what we could do during our stay! We had a great time, thanks to their suggestions. We enjoyed visiting with them. The location...20 miles to Mt. Rushmore, and a mile and a half into the heart of Rapid City... of the Big Sky Lodge is superb..can you tell we loved it??? We definitely will come back...Dave and Gin H

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed a couple of nights here. The rooms are cute and very clean and quite affordable. The property is located just above Rapid City. The view of the city is amazing. If you're so inclined, get up in time for the sunrise. It's a very homey feeling kind of place. Breakfast is served in the room behind the office and filled my bfast needs. I would definitely stay here if I am in the area again

Room Tip: Stay on the east side of the building if you have the opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsyoglesbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
1,423 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
568 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
283 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 51 in Rapid City
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Property: Big Sky Lodge
Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing