We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for families!!!! Fantastic!”
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Sky Lodge
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our first road trip as a family and decided to visit the Badlands and Black Hills. I did a little research using Trip Advisor as well as a couple other sites, and decided to support a local business. So glad I made the decision! The staff at check-in was wonderful and he gave me a couple local recommendations for dinner while in the area (excellent as well). The view is quite amazing and yes, it has a quaint feel, but that is exactly what we were looking for. Our family had absolutely no issues, a wonderful stay and would recommend Big Sky to anyone.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TheGambianRPCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Big Sky Lodge for 4 days, July 1 through July 4, 2014. The Lodge is centrally located and easy to get to and from for seeing all there is to see in the area, all the monuments and state parks).The staff was very accommodating and friendly and made us feel right at home. The room was on the Skyline Drive side and was very quiet, with a very comfortable bed & the basic amenities. One of the the best parts was Friday July 4th. We were able to sit out at the picnic tables with the other guests looking out over Rapid City and into the Badlands and have a birds eye view of the fireworks being set off thought the city. It was awesome to see the bursts of color every where you looked and not have to fight any traffic to get home afterward. We will be going back with our family in the near future. Thanks Big Sky Lodge for a wonderful home away from home during our visit!!

Room Tip: Older so outlets could be updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Was nice and clean. Needs a little updating. View was awesome. Had three grills only one worked. Hot tub not the newest. Over all nice stay. Would stay again. Owner's were very nice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 7 yrs ago when the current owners first purchased. Only had few rooms open, but it was great. Thought we would try again and what a great choice. Best of the Best. A little piece of heaven, I want to stay forever. THE VIEW FROM HERE IS TO DIE FOR. The place is now for sale and I hope the next owner keeps up the good work. This was a diamond in the rough 7 years ago, it is now a gem that shines brighter than any other in the crown.

Room Tip: Rooms on side away from office have a view that is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We travelled as a couple and spent 3 nights at the Big Sky Lodge in Rapid City. The room was clean, had all the regular amenities and the bed was very comfortable. The view of Rapid City and the surrounding countryside was spectacular. The rates are affordable.

The breakfast menu consisted of cereal, assorted breads, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and juices A patio with gas grills, picnic tables and a hot tub overlook the great view. It was a great place to rest after a busy day of sightseeing in the Black Hills, and is centrally located to all the popular destinations.

The owners,Jay and Alicia, are very welcoming and ready to help in whatever way they can. We got a tour of the premises and some helpful information about where to get a good meal.The staff are also courteous and helpful. We felt very much at home and part of the motel family.

I would certainly recommend the Big Sky Lodge and will stay there on any travels to Rapid City.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the best place to stay while in Rapid City. It is just outside the town and easy to get to. And the view is awesome. The motel is very clean and the staff is great. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Also, one of the best reasons to stay here beside the rooms, view and staff, is that it is on the way to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse and the Black Hills. Will stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Big Sky Lodge in Rapid City. The room was clean, comfortable, and we found the views spectacular. It was a great place to rest after busy days of sightseeing in the black hills, and centrally located to all the popular destinations. Great for families, and a nice breakfast each morning was appreciated. We grilled our evening meals on the patio which had 3 gas grills available to guests, as well as 4 or 5 picnic tables. Our son loved the hot tub, as did my husband and I! We would definitely return to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
613 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.5 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,567 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
320 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5391
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing