We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this Resort!!!”
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The place is filthy!!! The sheets were paper thin and spotted. The air conditioning filter had not been changed in at least a year and when I requested a new filter they replaced it but left the white grill black with grease and soot. The toilet pluged up evey other day. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper. The cooking and eating wear was minimal and inadequate. The carpeting had not been cleaned in ages and the cabin had a bad odor to it. The bathroom exhaust fan was so dirty it only made a terrible noise and did not filter. The location is great but unfortunately it is not being properly managed. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. It certainly left a bad
tast in our mouths for what should have been a fun vacation.

Room Tip: They are all dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rev H J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your critique. While we do not like to hear the negatives, we cannot make corrections without them.We have already addressed with our housekeeping staff the important of vacuuming under the beds and cleaning more than just counter tops. Our staff will certainly be more attentive to the exhaust fans and vents.
All of our carpets in each and every unit are shampooed in April prior to the start of our season. Throughout the season we spot clean any areas in need. In addition we change the filters on the heating/air-conditioning units every three months. We have had an extremely dry and dusty year, which may have been the cause of the filter being dirtier than normal. Each day when we spoke with you we made every attempt to address any issues that were brought to our attention.
Once agin we do appreciate all input and strive to make corrections immediately. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and visiting with you.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for 2 nights. The location was nice and our room overlooked the lake.

The staff we encountered were pleasant, although I did have to wait more than 10 minutes until someone checked me in. The next day we encountered another friendly staff member who got us life jackets for the paddleboat.

The room itself was fine, but nothing special. There was a note that stated they were in the process of remodeling. The carpet looked pretty new and the walls were freshly painted. The beds were clean and the bedspreads were the basic thin, polyester kind. We did notice that housekeeping had not vacuumed under the bed, as we found cereal under there. The smell of air freshener was a little strong for me. There was a lightbulb burned out in the bathroom and the vanity and mirror looked pretty old and dingy. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. There was also a little fridge/stovetop/sink unit in a small kitchenette area which was nice to have. The exterior of the motel section could use some TLC.

We were a little disappointed that the pool was out of service/closed. However it was very small, so I didn't really feel as though we were missing out on much. (But we did originally chose Canyon Lake over another place because of the pool). A staff member suggested the kids play in the creek that feeds Canyon Lake and in the end it was a lot of fun for the kids. Many parts were shallow enough for my 5 year old to walk across. We also took the paddleboat out for a jaunt in the lake which the kids also enjoyed. The other side of the lake is a public park so there were also playgrounds a short distance away.

Overall it was a decent place, but I expected more for $100/night. I understand that the lake location is part of the appeal (and price), but for me, it did not feel like a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenniferofthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great place with beautiful lake view. It is located in a close proximity to all beautiful places the area can offer, and still feel like you are away from the crowd.
The crew is very friendly and helpful with any question or need one might have.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in a large 2 bedroom cabin. Comforts of home but with rustic campground feel. Staff and service is exceptional. Kids wanted to be at resort more than out visiting attractions. Would recommend to a family looking for a comfortable place to stay without the confinement of hotel walls.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Loved this cabin on the lake. It was clean and roomy. Nothing fancy but for the price it was a deal. Great location close to downtown (10 min) and Mt. Rushmore (40 min).

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 32 close to entrance and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My son got married a week ago in Rapid City, SD. All of my family stayed at Canyon Lake Resort. We had absolutely fantastic service from these people - way beyond expectation. The lodge is a really beautiful place - a great family gathering place. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. We would definitely stay here again! Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My experience at Canyon Lake Resort was wonderful,I have never stayed at a place where the employees were so concerned about your well being,to see if everything was okay & if you were comfortable & if you slept good,& always asking if there is anything they could do to make a persons stay any better let them know.

Room Tip: It wouldn't matter what room was available it would be great. A person can watch the deer,ducks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlenelingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
4.8 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,584 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rapid City - Rushmore South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 4510 Shore Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: £45 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing