We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vernal, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outdated and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Cattail Lodge is absolutley outdated and dirty! The carpet upstairs is dirty and smelly. Seems it hasn't been cleaned or replaced in years. There were fingerprints all over the back glass door and on every cupboard which sort of ruins your appetite when trying to prepare a meal. The fridge does not stay cold, so we would wake up to warm milk in the morning. The shower downstairs is so extremely old and does not have any pressure. You have to keep adjusting the knobs to take a quick shower. Neither of the two toliets flush well, which poses a problem when you have 10 people that need to use the restroom. The wifi they advertise never worked the entire 5 days we were there. The lake is pretty, but its only a few feet deep in most places which made fishing for the kids a huge disappointment. The staff was nice enough, but never took the time to ask us how our stay was which I thought was strange. And last but not least, we were disappointed that canyon lake is basically part of a neighborhood. It is not nestled or secluded in the mountains like we were anticipating. We were okay with the fact that the place is old, but we could not stand that it was so dirty. We would not stay again, and would not recommend to anyone traveling that way....sorry :(

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, we take them seriously and make every effort to satify every customer. We personally insepcted the carpet. Even though it is only one year old, and was shampooed in April, we did see the spots you referred to and immediately had it professionally cleaned.
We are not sure what to say about the refrigerator, it was cooling fine when we inspected it; in addition there are two more refrigerators in the lodge which were also in working order. As far as the toilets, we have contacted a plumber to see what is wrong. We also tested the Wi-Fi, and did not encounter any issues with getting on the internet, so there may have been a access issue on your computer that was not set properly.
We do wish that during your four-day stay, you had brought these inconveniences to our attention. We make every attempt to address anything mechanical immediately. We do rely on our guests to alert us to issues so they can be corrected during their stay, not after they leave.
We have been highly rated on Trip Advisor the past couple years and plan on keeping our ranking by paying attention to our customers. Thank you
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    29
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Star, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The place is filthy!!! The sheets were paper thin and spotted. The air conditioning filter had not been changed in at least a year and when I requested a new filter they replaced it but left the white grill black with grease and soot. The toilet pluged up evey other day. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper. The cooking and eating wear was minimal and inadequate. The carpeting had not been cleaned in ages and the cabin had a bad odor to it. The bathroom exhaust fan was so dirty it only made a terrible noise and did not filter. The location is great but unfortunately it is not being properly managed. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. It certainly left a bad
tast in our mouths for what should have been a fun vacation.

Room Tip: They are all dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev H J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your critique. While we do not like to hear the negatives, we cannot make corrections without them.We have already addressed with our housekeeping staff the important of vacuuming under the beds and cleaning more than just counter tops. Our staff will certainly be more attentive to the exhaust fans and vents.
All of our carpets in each and every unit are shampooed in April prior to the start of our season. Throughout the season we spot clean any areas in need. In addition we change the filters on the heating/air-conditioning units every three months. We have had an extremely dry and dusty year, which may have been the cause of the filter being dirtier than normal. Each day when we spoke with you we made every attempt to address any issues that were brought to our attention.
Once agin we do appreciate all input and strive to make corrections immediately. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and visiting with you.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for 2 nights. The location was nice and our room overlooked the lake.

The staff we encountered were pleasant, although I did have to wait more than 10 minutes until someone checked me in. The next day we encountered another friendly staff member who got us life jackets for the paddleboat.

The room itself was fine, but nothing special. There was a note that stated they were in the process of remodeling. The carpet looked pretty new and the walls were freshly painted. The beds were clean and the bedspreads were the basic thin, polyester kind. We did notice that housekeeping had not vacuumed under the bed, as we found cereal under there. The smell of air freshener was a little strong for me. There was a lightbulb burned out in the bathroom and the vanity and mirror looked pretty old and dingy. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. There was also a little fridge/stovetop/sink unit in a small kitchenette area which was nice to have. The exterior of the motel section could use some TLC.

We were a little disappointed that the pool was out of service/closed. However it was very small, so I didn't really feel as though we were missing out on much. (But we did originally chose Canyon Lake over another place because of the pool). A staff member suggested the kids play in the creek that feeds Canyon Lake and in the end it was a lot of fun for the kids. Many parts were shallow enough for my 5 year old to walk across. We also took the paddleboat out for a jaunt in the lake which the kids also enjoyed. The other side of the lake is a public park so there were also playgrounds a short distance away.

Overall it was a decent place, but I expected more for $100/night. I understand that the lake location is part of the appeal (and price), but for me, it did not feel like a great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferofthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great place with beautiful lake view. It is located in a close proximity to all beautiful places the area can offer, and still feel like you are away from the crowd.
The crew is very friendly and helpful with any question or need one might have.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in a large 2 bedroom cabin. Comforts of home but with rustic campground feel. Staff and service is exceptional. Kids wanted to be at resort more than out visiting attractions. Would recommend to a family looking for a comfortable place to stay without the confinement of hotel walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington,DE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Loved this cabin on the lake. It was clean and roomy. Nothing fancy but for the price it was a deal. Great location close to downtown (10 min) and Mt. Rushmore (40 min).

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 32 close to entrance and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipestone MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My son got married a week ago in Rapid City, SD. All of my family stayed at Canyon Lake Resort. We had absolutely fantastic service from these people - way beyond expectation. The lodge is a really beautiful place - a great family gathering place. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. We would definitely stay here again! Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
13.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
5.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
7.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Property: Canyon Lake Resort
Address: 4510 Shore Dr., Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing