We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A crying shame”
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I can't understand how anyone could give this place a good review. It does have the potential to be a very nice place, and maybe once upon a time it was, but the way it has been let go is a shame. Pros: The room was large, there was a sorta kitchenette (the oddest one-piece kitchen I have ever seen), it was in a lovely location on a lake with a picnic table and gas grill right outside our door, and there was a pool. There are also paddle boats, I guess, but I never did see them. Cons: Although the only bug I saw was a spider and the sheets did appear to be clean, the rest of the room just gave the appearance of a place that suffered from neglect. The bathtub was quite literally falling apart and there were big chunks of the reflective coating missing from the bathroom mirror - as well as globs of something on it, and there was no fan in the bathroom, although there was a window that opened right on to the parking lot. We never did decide what color the carpet was supposed to be. The "kitchen in a box" was filthy - it didn't look like the drip pans had ever been cleaned or replaced. There were also no supplies in the kitchen with which to cook or eat anything other than - believe it or not - a set of filled salt and pepper shakers! The up side was that the lighting was so poor that you couldn't really see the filth. Honestly, it was like trying to put makeup on by candlelight. The beds were so worn out we felt like our heads were pointing downhill all night And you couldn't use the grill or picnic table without stepping in piles of goose poop. The pool (which I didn't use) was the smallest I have ever seen and was surrounded by weeds - inside the fence! To be fair, the cabins did look cuter and not as rundown as the motel units, but if they don't clean them any better than the motel, I still wouldn't want to stay there. The place was pretty hard to find - it's a long way from I90, which I suspect may be why it is so rundown. They either need to put some money into this place of give up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Although we do not like to hear the negatives, we take them seriously and make every effort to satify every customer. We do rely on our guests to alert us to issues so they can be corrected during their stay, not after they leave.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

For our annual Sturgis trip our motorcycle group moved to this location from a nearby competitor where we had stayed the previous 5 years and our business with this competitor was completely unappreciated!! HOWEVER....what a difference it was at the Canyon Lake Resort...the cabins and rooms we had were clean and beds were great!! The location is great and the property is beautiful...but the best part of the property is the staff from the top to the bottom they were wonderful...so helpful and pleasant!! I had asked to buy a Sturgis banner they had on their office outside wall at the end of the week if they were to consider selling it and at the end of our stay the owner (Mike) came to our cabin and gave it to us for staying with them and booking for next year!!! The customer service provided at this property was outstanding and there are a lot of business' that could take some lessons from them...this kind of customer service is a thing of the past!!!! We will be back....!!!!!! Thanks a bunch everyone at Canyon Lake Resort!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us. Glad to hear everyone made it home safe. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our family rented the 3 bedroom cabin. It was roomie and clean. Their pool was clear. The kids had a ball with the paddle boats. Beds were great. Sheets were clean. This was our second trip there. The employees were friendly and prompt. I would go there a third time.

Room Tip: I like the cabins better than the motel because of the size of the rooms, the kitchen and living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. So glad to hear the kids enjoyed the pool and paddleboats. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Cattail Lodge is absolutley outdated and dirty! The carpet upstairs is dirty and smelly. Seems it hasn't been cleaned or replaced in years. There were fingerprints all over the back glass door and on every cupboard which sort of ruins your appetite when trying to prepare a meal. The fridge does not stay cold, so we would wake up to warm milk in the morning. The shower downstairs is so extremely old and does not have any pressure. You have to keep adjusting the knobs to take a quick shower. Neither of the two toliets flush well, which poses a problem when you have 10 people that need to use the restroom. The wifi they advertise never worked the entire 5 days we were there. The lake is pretty, but its only a few feet deep in most places which made fishing for the kids a huge disappointment. The staff was nice enough, but never took the time to ask us how our stay was which I thought was strange. And last but not least, we were disappointed that canyon lake is basically part of a neighborhood. It is not nestled or secluded in the mountains like we were anticipating. We were okay with the fact that the place is old, but we could not stand that it was so dirty. We would not stay again, and would not recommend to anyone traveling that way....sorry :(

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mom2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, we take them seriously and make every effort to satify every customer. We personally insepcted the carpet. Even though it is only one year old, and was shampooed in April, we did see the spots you referred to and immediately had it professionally cleaned.
We are not sure what to say about the refrigerator, it was cooling fine when we inspected it; in addition there are two more refrigerators in the lodge which were also in working order. As far as the toilets, we have contacted a plumber to see what is wrong. We also tested the Wi-Fi, and did not encounter any issues with getting on the internet, so there may have been a access issue on your computer that was not set properly.
We do wish that during your four-day stay, you had brought these inconveniences to our attention. We make every attempt to address anything mechanical immediately. We do rely on our guests to alert us to issues so they can be corrected during their stay, not after they leave.
We have been highly rated on Trip Advisor the past couple years and plan on keeping our ranking by paying attention to our customers. Thank you
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The place is filthy!!! The sheets were paper thin and spotted. The air conditioning filter had not been changed in at least a year and when I requested a new filter they replaced it but left the white grill black with grease and soot. The toilet pluged up evey other day. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper. The cooking and eating wear was minimal and inadequate. The carpeting had not been cleaned in ages and the cabin had a bad odor to it. The bathroom exhaust fan was so dirty it only made a terrible noise and did not filter. The location is great but unfortunately it is not being properly managed. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. It certainly left a bad
tast in our mouths for what should have been a fun vacation.

Room Tip: They are all dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rev H J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your critique. While we do not like to hear the negatives, we cannot make corrections without them.We have already addressed with our housekeeping staff the important of vacuuming under the beds and cleaning more than just counter tops. Our staff will certainly be more attentive to the exhaust fans and vents.
All of our carpets in each and every unit are shampooed in April prior to the start of our season. Throughout the season we spot clean any areas in need. In addition we change the filters on the heating/air-conditioning units every three months. We have had an extremely dry and dusty year, which may have been the cause of the filter being dirtier than normal. Each day when we spoke with you we made every attempt to address any issues that were brought to our attention.
Once agin we do appreciate all input and strive to make corrections immediately. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and visiting with you.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for 2 nights. The location was nice and our room overlooked the lake.

The staff we encountered were pleasant, although I did have to wait more than 10 minutes until someone checked me in. The next day we encountered another friendly staff member who got us life jackets for the paddleboat.

The room itself was fine, but nothing special. There was a note that stated they were in the process of remodeling. The carpet looked pretty new and the walls were freshly painted. The beds were clean and the bedspreads were the basic thin, polyester kind. We did notice that housekeeping had not vacuumed under the bed, as we found cereal under there. The smell of air freshener was a little strong for me. There was a lightbulb burned out in the bathroom and the vanity and mirror looked pretty old and dingy. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. There was also a little fridge/stovetop/sink unit in a small kitchenette area which was nice to have. The exterior of the motel section could use some TLC.

We were a little disappointed that the pool was out of service/closed. However it was very small, so I didn't really feel as though we were missing out on much. (But we did originally chose Canyon Lake over another place because of the pool). A staff member suggested the kids play in the creek that feeds Canyon Lake and in the end it was a lot of fun for the kids. Many parts were shallow enough for my 5 year old to walk across. We also took the paddleboat out for a jaunt in the lake which the kids also enjoyed. The other side of the lake is a public park so there were also playgrounds a short distance away.

Overall it was a decent place, but I expected more for $100/night. I understand that the lake location is part of the appeal (and price), but for me, it did not feel like a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenniferofthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great place with beautiful lake view. It is located in a close proximity to all beautiful places the area can offer, and still feel like you are away from the crowd.
The crew is very friendly and helpful with any question or need one might have.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
603 reviews
5.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#32 of 48 in Rapid City
611 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
613 reviews
4.8 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 4510 Shore Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing