We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but Clean, Quiet and Economical”
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in one of their motel rooms 2 nights in August, 2013. Beautiful view of the lake out the front window of the motel room. A very quiet and clean place. Place was built many years ago, but appears to have been well-maintained over the years even if room furnishings look dated. Staff was helpful with any questions we had. Breakfast not offered as part of the deal, but motel room came with a small stove and small fridge. Quite economical compared to most other hotels in Rapid City - will be returning in a month or two, and plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Motel is "L" shaped - best rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you in a month or two, hope you can stay longer and enjoy the fall season.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in a hotel room 1st and then moved to a cabin when others joined our group for the Rally. The staff was very accommodating. They offered wine tasing 3 different nights and a free meal during the middle of the rally. They had free ice available and free coffee every morning. We didn't use the pool or paddle boats, but they looked like fun. Plenty of parking for bikes and trailers and also a bike wash was set up. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.Your review is very important to us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The pictures are not accurate, the large lodge looking building has nothing to do with the cabins, the cabins were outdated, tub had mold, they say wine tasting, where? The office staff acted like you were bothering them and when checking out, the girl did not ask about the stay but was more preoccupied with her computer. Did you know they have a 14 day cancellation policy, really. The lake does not belong to the resort, and this is not in any way a resort! No food, no ice, no soda not even in the very small check in lobby. Very disappointed!

Room Tip: This is not a resort, it is cabins next to a campground with a public lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. We apologize if you thought our catering and reception facility had anything to do with our motel and cabins. Our web site in no way advertises this. We also state that we are next Canyon Lake and Canyon Lake Park, which is a city park. We have addressed our front desk staff in regards to customer service and our housekeeping staff in regarding to cleaning procedures of our rooms. We do have ice in our office and a soda machine in our laundromat, we apologize if you were not informed.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

July 2013 We stayed in the large two bedroom cabin. It was large, very clean and up to date. The staff was very helpful. It's next to a beautiful park. The outdoor pool was the smallest pool I've ever seen, but the kids still had fun in it! The cabin was well stocked with towels & even extra supplies that I didn't expect. I would recommend this hotel and I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.Your review is very important to us. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Hope to see you in the future.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in cabin 32 for two nights and cabin 28 for a single night. Cabin 32 was preferable to 28. Cabin 32 is a large two bedroom cabin, while 28 is a small two bedroom. Cabin 32 was mostly clean, comfortable and quiet. Cabin 28 was less so, the cabin had a sweet musty odor like it had been smoked in and covered up with some kind of cleaner. The kitchen cabinet pulls were sticky from lots of use and the doors were stained from lack of cleaning, ugh! The bathroom in 32 was clean and of good size, while 28 is small, of low grade fixtures but clean. We didn't make use of the other amenities the resort offers, it was simply a place to sleep at the end of the day. The resort was convenient to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse but less so for getting to Devils Tower and the Badlands because of the time involved of getting through town. Overall the resort is typical of seasonal property, it is well used and put away wet at the end of the season.

Room Tip: Choose a large two bedroom if you are a traveling family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Xtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. Although we do not like to hear the negatives, we take them seriously and make every effort to satisfy every customer. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, these issues were addressed with our housekeeping staff.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The view from our room was outstanding! The lake was beautiful to have right out side our door! We had a small kitchen set up with a 2 burner stove that was very convenient . The room was very clean with a cabin atmosphere and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and accommodating!
Made us feel very welcome! Worst part..........I could not stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fewtrips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the small cabin which was perfect for two people. There were some small maintenance issues with the front door and the gas grill but staff was very accommodating and responsive. Kitchenette was small but very functional. Bed was comfortable. Satellite TV was a nice surprise. Bonfire at night was nice. Fishing was fun but not very fruitful. Paddle boats were well maintained and very fun. Lots of kids around and they were well behaved with enough room for their activities. Overall we had a relaxing peaceful stay and hope to return with family

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
7.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
5.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 48 in Rapid City
317 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,548 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#23 of 48 in Rapid City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 4510 Shore Dr., Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: £40 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing