We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canyon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We came to rapid for storm clean up and when we first walked it overall it looked clean; then after getting unpacked there were dead and alive bugs everywhere (not kidding I am a female and it no longer scares me when a bug lands on me thanks to this place). There were dead bees everywhere, just goes to show they don't clean thoroughly, I couldn't even put my 10 week old son on his play mat on the floor bc there was a mouse in there, wasps and box elder bugs! We had to call every time we needed towels and then they told us to use our towels a few times to save on items! I also asked for clean sheets bc not once did they change our bedding in the 2.5 weeks we were there NOR did they bring me sheets every time I asked. I also had to call bc our big garbage can would r overflowing and we had no where to put our garbage! I understand they clean the house once a week but clean towels and sheets ate a must every few days.Finally my husband got fed up over this TERRIBLE service that he talked to the manager and she made it seem like it was our fault, sorry but we are the guests, workers should NOT have to be told how to do THEIR job. I will never come back here and I do NOT recommend anyone to waste their money at this place. Also we stayed at the Cattail house the only thing we enjoyed was the view. That's it!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHinsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us and although we do not like to hear the negatives, we take them seriously and make every effort to satisfy every customer. Based on your reservation, you were booked at a weekly rate not a nightly rate, which does not include daily housekeeping; therefore towels and other items are available upon request. As you stated housekeeping is done once a week for weekly customers. Regarding the garbage overflowing, we have several garbage cans and a dumpster located on the property to dispose of excess garbage.
We apologize for not checking the Cattail Lodge thoroughly before you checked in. We always touch up and freshen rooms, but with the snow storm that Western SD had experienced our cleaning and desk staff was at a minimum. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Corrective action has been taken with our staff.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Overall it was a very nice and clean hotel. The room was in a great spot overlooking the lake and every night we had deer in the yard. If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Rapid City this is a great place to stay. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in cabin 30 last week in August for 3 days and were extremely disappointed. The room reeked of strong cigarette smoke (this was supposed to be a nonsmoking room) and mold and mildew. The smell hit us hard as soon as we opened the door. The decor is dark brown walls in the tiny space, no closet or place to hang anything up...the windows look as if they haven't been washed in years, a tv that was locked onto hearing impaired captioning...the separate laundry facilities were filthy, dryers ate up our quarters when heat didn't work. The resort owners/managers really need to spend some cleaning up this particular cabin and rethinking their rates for sub-standard accommodations. We have stayed at Candlewood Suites for $99 night which is far superior but the same rate we were charged at Canyon Lake Resort. We can not recommend this facility. The location is beautiful - the one redeeming factor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in one of their motel rooms 2 nights in August, 2013. Beautiful view of the lake out the front window of the motel room. A very quiet and clean place. Place was built many years ago, but appears to have been well-maintained over the years even if room furnishings look dated. Staff was helpful with any questions we had. Breakfast not offered as part of the deal, but motel room came with a small stove and small fridge. Quite economical compared to most other hotels in Rapid City - will be returning in a month or two, and plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Motel is "L" shaped - best rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you in a month or two, hope you can stay longer and enjoy the fall season.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in a hotel room 1st and then moved to a cabin when others joined our group for the Rally. The staff was very accommodating. They offered wine tasing 3 different nights and a free meal during the middle of the rally. They had free ice available and free coffee every morning. We didn't use the pool or paddle boats, but they looked like fun. Plenty of parking for bikes and trailers and also a bike wash was set up. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.Your review is very important to us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The pictures are not accurate, the large lodge looking building has nothing to do with the cabins, the cabins were outdated, tub had mold, they say wine tasting, where? The office staff acted like you were bothering them and when checking out, the girl did not ask about the stay but was more preoccupied with her computer. Did you know they have a 14 day cancellation policy, really. The lake does not belong to the resort, and this is not in any way a resort! No food, no ice, no soda not even in the very small check in lobby. Very disappointed!

Room Tip: This is not a resort, it is cabins next to a campground with a public lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. We apologize if you thought our catering and reception facility had anything to do with our motel and cabins. Our web site in no way advertises this. We also state that we are next Canyon Lake and Canyon Lake Park, which is a city park. We have addressed our front desk staff in regards to customer service and our housekeeping staff in regarding to cleaning procedures of our rooms. We do have ice in our office and a soda machine in our laundromat, we apologize if you were not informed.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

July 2013 We stayed in the large two bedroom cabin. It was large, very clean and up to date. The staff was very helpful. It's next to a beautiful park. The outdoor pool was the smallest pool I've ever seen, but the kids still had fun in it! The cabin was well stocked with towels & even extra supplies that I didn't expect. I would recommend this hotel and I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.Your review is very important to us. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Hope to see you in the future.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
7.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
5.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 48 in Rapid City
318 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,552 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#23 of 48 in Rapid City
339 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 4510 Shore Dr., Rapid City, SD 57702-4900 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: £39 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere with "Out of town feel...In town appeal". Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single studio cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge and now our 2 unit, 9 bedroom Reunion Lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings, rehearsals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing