We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place -Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MainStay Suites Rapid City
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We've traveled and stayed many places through the years but none have inspired me to review a motel till now. This place blows the doors off of customer service. From the front desk all the way through to cleaning staff including also the Breakfast room hostess, we've never seen such pleasant staff! Combine these features with a spankin new property, complete with pool and rates that are bargain basement range, even if not staying extended days, this is a property we'll visit again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor nearly poolside but heard nothing all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing review, and it makes our team proud that we were able to inspire this type of response. The team will continue to strive to make your stay the standard experience our guests have, and not the exception. We hope you can return and stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Have stayed in both a 2Q and a 1Q room within the last month & was pleasantly surprised at the full size appliances in each. The 2Q room was huge (approximately enough room for 3 rollaways) and well designed. Very comfy furniture in both rooms. The only odd things about these rooms are the coffeemakers... a 12 cup pot, but 4 cup ground coffee pods.

Super friendly staff, good breakfast, very nice pool area, entire hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: As with any hotel, don't let them put you in a room right by the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback, as it is always good to hear from our guests. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay in a few of our room types, and that you enjoyed the layout and appliances. We are searching for an in room coffee provider that supplies 12 cup pre-packaged filters, but thus far have had no luck. Presently, the best idea we have is to use 3 of our 4 cup packs for a full pot or adjust accordingly. I recommend coming to the lobby and partaking in our 24 hour complimentary Douwe Egbert coffee. We hope you will return to stay with us, and thank you for your business.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We made a trip to visit our 2 grandsons, 14 and 8, and we all stayed in a queen suite with the pull out sofa bed for 3 nights. The boys said the bed was very comfortable...room was nice and clean and the kitchenette provided everything we needed. No complaints. The pool was great, continental breakfast was very good each morning, the only request would be some bacon, etc...coffee was wonderful, not weak like some places. Have to comment on the staff because that is very important to me...they were amazing! The smiles and gracious customer service was a plus to our stay (which is hard to find nowadays). One of the front desk ladies, Mary, was having her dinner delivered and took care of us first with a smile on her face while delivery guy waited...she was very pleasant and helpful, I hope she finally got to eat her pizza because she was busy most of the time!! They made us feel welcome, were quick to provide us with extra towels, etc. if needed. We definitely recommend and would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 220, wasn't far from elevator...quiet, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetlee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We appreciate that you entrusted us with providing you, and your grandsons with accommodations while in Rapid City. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Douwe Egberts coffee, as a coffee drinker myself I looked for a brand that had flavor and consistency. We hope you can come stay with us again, and Mary will always be happy to put you and your family 1st!

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find out this motel had only at the time I stayed, been open for five weeks. I wish the Tv had been in a better spot though. The food was good. Due to my medical condition, when I asked how often the fire alarms went off, the front desk clerk said the alarms only would go off if there was a fire or if someone pulled them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffball1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Nice & Clean is the way we like it too! As a new hotel, it is always nice to receive feedback from our guests, and we will do our best to consistently improve in every way. Next time you are here, let us know and we will try to move the TV in your room to a more convenient location (based upon cable and electricity parameters of course).

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently stayed at MainStay for 9 days after we had no electricity in our home from Storm Atlas. It became our home away from home. Yes, we would have much rather been in our own home but the folks at MainStay helped to make us feel comfortable and 'at home'. MARY at the front desk was always cheerful and smiling. It was nice to be greeted by her each time we'd come through the door. SEAN from maintenance/shuttle driver was also very helpful, making sure to ask each time he saw us if our stay was going okay and if there was anything we needed. Small things, I'm sure, to them but huge for us, as we weren't 'on vacation', but rather trying to continue life (work, school, etc) amidst the chaos of the storm aftermath. I would definitely stay at MainStay again without hesitation. The only thing I think would greatly add to the stay would be to have a hot tub in the pool area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

I am so glad we could accommodate you after Atlas came through. That was an experience we can all do without ever having again. I'm glad Mary, Sean, and the rest of the staff were able to make your unplanned visit as comfortable as possible. We hope you can visit us again in the future, under more ideal conditions of course.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hello Everyone, we stayed at MS for several days while attending a conference. The hotel is very clean, the shuttle takes people to the Civic Center and the rooms are (for lack of a better word) perfect. Lots of outlets to charges things, the kitchenette was the best I have ever had in a room and the sofa sleeper was actually comfortable. The only reason why I didn't rate this place as "excellent" was the breakfast. We are carnivorous, we need meat and the breakfast lacked this "oh so necessary" item. However, the kitchenette had a full sized fridge so we made our own, sausage, bacon, etc, and improved the menu. Would I stay here again? Yes but with meat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We appreciate the feedback on your stay, and I definitely understand the carnivorous nature, as I am a huge fan of the bacon food group. We do offer meat on our breakfast, but as we try to rotate menus for variety, we do not have sausage on the buffet every day. We do rotate items in like sausage patties and country gravy with biscuits to try and meet the needs of our guests. Next time you are here, let the management team know, and we will attempt to make sure we have a meat product on the menu each day.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great staff, breakfast, rooms, etc. All was as expected. Free airport shuttle. A special shout out to the airport shuttle drivers - Roger and Craig. Very friendly, safe, and treated me very kindly, even when I apologized for being cashless and forgot to bring a few bucks for tips. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, General Manager at MainStay Suites Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us while you were here on business, and our shuttle drivers are always happy to be of service. We always appreciate the feedback, and we hope you can come stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Sam Cannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#12 of 48 in Rapid City
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Rapid City

Address: Outfitter Road Next to 3231 E. Mall Drive, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £34 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing