We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for what we needed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MainStay Suites Rapid City
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for what we needed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are a family of seven and were traveling through Rapid City. We stayed at this hotel for the night. The staff was professional and friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was adequate. It was exactly what we needed for the night. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatholicMomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    104
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
149
93
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a great hotel and excellent value for money, we stayed here as a staging point to visit Mount Rushmore national park which is close by. The rooms were more like mini apartments, with separate bedrooms and a kitchen and the room were clean and well appointed. The hotel itself was quite new and looked good, there was a full laundry facility which came in very handy for us after several days on the road. Overall I was delighted with this excellent hotel and the breakfast was pretty good (self service) too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

At the time of writing this, the hotel was only about 8 months old. Very clean and spacious rooms with full kitchens. The beds were double sheeted and very comfortable. We paid on average $160US a night which wasn't bad relative to other hotels in the area. It's a bit more basic but worth the money. The front desk staff were very friendly. Free Wi-Fi in the room, parking and breakfast. It was a bit hard to find as for some reason my GPS wouldn't recognize the street, but it's right off Highway 90 and Elk Vale Road. If you see Cabela's then you're in the right spot. On the way to the hotel, you pass the tourist office which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level, we stayed on the ground floor and it was a bit noisy with parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiFanCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff at Mainstay in Rapid City are the best and most professional I've experienced in a very long time. They go out of their way to with anything your need. I had to depart the hotel very early before breakfast and they arranged to have something for me before I left. The facilities are very clean with nice rooms, indoor pool and workout room. I stay here on business but plan on bringing the family for vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We LOVED our experience here and wish we'd stayed here our whole trip! It's brand new, clean, has full running kitchens with all the gear and appliances, continental breakfast...it's a fabulous quiet location. The staff were so kind and helpful. We wanted to just stay in the room to enjoy it! :)

Room Tip: All are great and all have kitchens! We didn't even know they would--what a blessing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushigirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed with Grandsons. The pool was very nice for the boys to swim in. Rooms nice size. It was off the highway nice for seeing everything we went to see without going through Rapid City to get there. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jts89880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a king bed suite and loved our room. Unfortunately we needed to use the pull out couch which was very uncomfortable but everything else was awesome! The little kitchen was very well equipped and the entire room was in perfect condition. Whole hotel was very clean and then continental breakfast was such a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again if ever coming to Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Rapid City

Property: MainStay Suites Rapid City
Address: Outfitter Road Next to 3231 E. Mall Drive, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your MainStay Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing