We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay for Black Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Rapid City
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As I write this my family & I are spending our last night here for our vacation. This is an all around terrific hotel. The rooms are very clean, updated, and big. The fridge is full size. Fresh fruit, pancakes, French toast & lots of good stuff for breakfast. The pool is a nice size. All the staff is very friendly. Good location also. The next time we come we will stay here. They even made more fresh cookies at night when more were needed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salesguy3308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and modern and so was my room. I stayed 2 nights with my family and toured parks in the area. It was nice having a kitchen. Brakfast was typical. But the staffs were out of this world friendly and professional. Great hotel and great staffs

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are a family of seven and were traveling through Rapid City. We stayed at this hotel for the night. The staff was professional and friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was adequate. It was exactly what we needed for the night. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatholicMomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a great hotel and excellent value for money, we stayed here as a staging point to visit Mount Rushmore national park which is close by. The rooms were more like mini apartments, with separate bedrooms and a kitchen and the room were clean and well appointed. The hotel itself was quite new and looked good, there was a full laundry facility which came in very handy for us after several days on the road. Overall I was delighted with this excellent hotel and the breakfast was pretty good (self service) too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

At the time of writing this, the hotel was only about 8 months old. Very clean and spacious rooms with full kitchens. The beds were double sheeted and very comfortable. We paid on average $160US a night which wasn't bad relative to other hotels in the area. It's a bit more basic but worth the money. The front desk staff were very friendly. Free Wi-Fi in the room, parking and breakfast. It was a bit hard to find as for some reason my GPS wouldn't recognize the street, but it's right off Highway 90 and Elk Vale Road. If you see Cabela's then you're in the right spot. On the way to the hotel, you pass the tourist office which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level, we stayed on the ground floor and it was a bit noisy with parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeGirl4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff at Mainstay in Rapid City are the best and most professional I've experienced in a very long time. They go out of their way to with anything your need. I had to depart the hotel very early before breakfast and they arranged to have something for me before I left. The facilities are very clean with nice rooms, indoor pool and workout room. I stay here on business but plan on bringing the family for vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We LOVED our experience here and wish we'd stayed here our whole trip! It's brand new, clean, has full running kitchens with all the gear and appliances, continental breakfast...it's a fabulous quiet location. The staff were so kind and helpful. We wanted to just stay in the room to enjoy it! :)

Room Tip: All are great and all have kitchens! We didn't even know they would--what a blessing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushigirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Rapid City

Address: Outfitter Road Next to 3231 E. Mall Drive, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £41 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MainStay Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing