We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist Town Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    234
    155
    56
    24
See reviews for
237
214
69
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean and quiet. We requested and received a ground floor room. Courteous and helpful staff. Breakfast wasn't fancy, but had several good selections. Plenty of parking and we were minutes from all the monuments.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JM1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s8gm3587, Manager at Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our location. We know that you have a choice where you stay and are glad you chose us. We strive to meet everyone's expectations and are glad we were able to meet yours. We hope that upon your return to the Black Hills that you choose us to service you again.
Sincerely,
Matthew Zook, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a great surprise, this was a very nice, clean & friendly motel. We stayed 2 nights so we could see all of the local attractions. The only things missing were a microwave & refridg. Breakfast was the same as other Super 8, nothing special but sufficient. Staff very helpful & friendly. Wi-Fi was sufficient also. Thought it was a bit spendy for a Super 8, but for the time of year, probably not so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s8gm3587, Manager at Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We know that there is always room for improvement and take every suggestion and try to implement them whenever possible. We know that you have a choice where you stay and are glad you chose us. We hope that upon your return to the Black Hills that you chose us to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Matthew Zook, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was clean and quiet and had a safe to use for personal items which is good when you travel. it did have an old fashioned large style television rather than the flat screen type which surprised us. it did work though. It was convenient to restaurants, right next to a Denny's, which was good because there was no refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s8gm3587, Manager at Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at our location. We know that you have a choice where you stay and are glad that you chose us. We know that there is always room for improvement at our facility and strive to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We hope that your return to the Black Hills that you chose us to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Matthew Zook, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Full marks for a well-run, tidy, and very customer-friendly Super 8.

I see some negative reviews which focus on lack of amenities -- but folks, this is a budget motel in the Super 8 chain, not The Plaza in NYC. Rate accordingly! Alas, prices are market. Consider the location.

Staff were extremely helpful over the phone and in person during both of our visits there during the month of July. It's an older property, so yes, you will need to bump your bags up the stairs, but if that's not a deal-killer, then this motel is neat and clean with very comfortable beds and good showers with plenty of hot water. Walls decently thick. No mold in bathroom. Carpets un-sticky. Wake-up call worked. Nicer continental breakfast than at some bargain establishments: there was some fresh fruit and refrigerated yogurt in addition to cereal, typical packaged items, and (gorgeously hot) coffee. In a nutshell: a perfectly adequate place to park your gear and sleep near the airport in Rapid City.

While thankfully I did not experience tobacco smell in our rooms, given the price tag, I'd recommend allergic or sensitive folks to mention their strong preference for "non-smoky." Let's be realistic: many hotels at this price level share this problem. They can't control the behavior of all guests, some of whom will happily smoke while leaning on a "no smoking" sign. However, I bet the staff at this Super 8 would be happy to air a room (or provide one not singed by an inconsiderate, previous occupant) in order to accommodate a guest.

Finally, I'm very sorry for the reviewer who came eight-and-a-half hours early and did not get a room on arrival. All hotels, whether at the high or low end, have shifts for cleaning staff and usually need some time to ready rooms after they become vacant in the late morning. I wasn't there, obviously, but do wonder if possibly a bit more kindness and diplomacy on either side of the counter could have smoothed things over. Travel can be very hard. So is operating a motel. I'll just mention that we arrived early on both our visits to this property, and were courteously greeted each time -- once when we could check in early, and another time when we could not.

Room Tip: Second floor is only about 5-6 stairs up from level of front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s8gm3587, Manager at Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We know that you have a choice where you stay and are glad you chose us. We do know that there is always room for improvement and are willing to accommodate any guest in need of special requests. We strive to make everyone's stay at this location enjoyable and are willing to help in any way possible. We hope that your future return to the Black Hills that you allow us to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Matthew Zook, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I made a reservation online and booked my room. Upon booking I called and notified the front desk that I will be arriving a little early. She said that was fine and she will note the account. I arrived at 6:30ish am from driving a 17 hr drive. The young man at the counter said that the check in time was at 3pm. I told him I called and spoke to someone about my arrival. He said there's nothing I can do. Check in time is at 3pm. He had an attitude and very poor customer service. So I therefore canceled my reservation and checked in to a different hotel that checked me in right away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s8gm3587, Manager at Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience with us. We know that there is always room for improvement and are sorry for the service you received. Our normal check-in time is at 3pm however, if the room that you reserved is available upon your arrival, then we do check you in right away. Unfortunately, that was not the case and therefore we should have tried to accommodate you in some way to your liking. I want to personally apologize for what happened and can assure you that this will not happen again. We have steps in place to alleviate this issue. We hope that upon your return to the Black Hills that you would allow us the opportunity to serve you.
Sincerely,
Matthew Zook, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. The service was okay but nothing special. Breakfast was typical Super 8 but again, nothing remarkable. The best thing was it was quiet and comfortable.
Overall, an okay place to stay, but just average.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmackay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s8gm3587, Manager at Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our location. We know that you always have a choice where you stay and are glad you chose us. We hope that upon your return to the Black Hills that you choose us again and allow us to serve you.
Sincerely,
Matthew Zook, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#18 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
2.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Rapid City
My Place Hotel-Rapid City
#17 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St

Property: Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St
Address: 2124 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-7859
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Age is Beauty! Nice, Cozy, Newly updated Super 8! Free Wi-Fi, 24 Hour Business Center, 24 Hour Front desk accommodations. Free SuperStart Breakfast for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Rapid City/LaCrosse St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Rapid City/Lacrosse Street Hotel Rapid City
Super Eight Rapid City
Rapid City Super Eight
Rapid City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing