We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Old Style Room Key”
Review of Town House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town House Motel
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 5 July 2012

If you are a female traveling alone, the rooms at this hotel have a physical key-not the credit card kind. This means that it can be copied, and thus is not safe.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank SuperFabAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Motel is run by Dad, son and grandson that are very nice and accommodating. Rooms are clean and well maintained. We had corner family suite (two twins and two queens, small dining area and bath) for $75 that included breakfast in newly remodeling breakfast area that is absolutely spotless. Small in-ground pool. Walking distance to many good restaurants in downtown Rapid City and a great little dairy freeze with delicious soft serve. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeye1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Best price in Rapid City, that I found. Smallish pool, but the kids loved it.

Breakfast was A+, choose from fruits, cereal, muffins, english muffins; the breakfast was better than some higher priced hotels!

Older gentleman at the desk was the owner and he was funny, personable, and friendly. Reminded me of my grandpa. :-)

Located just a few blocks from the main street; rooms were comfortable and clean. Had nice size FLAT SCREEN tv, wifi, cable, frig, AND microwave!

Definately worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysticGrayStar_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were panicing trying to find a motel in Rapid City by internet. Availablity and prices were shocking - must be their tourist season. We stumbled upon this listing at a price way below the others, booked it for two nights, and crossed our fingers. When we arrived, were we pleasantly surprized! It's located right downtown within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the city park with its paved bike/jogging trail. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and while our room had just one queen bed it was very clean and well equipped with flat screen tv, microwave, and refrigerator. The complimentary breakfast was the standard motel fare but adequate. I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a first floor room so we could park our car in front for easy unloading. The rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Have stayed at this small motel a number of times in the past and every time we stay there is gets a little less satisfactory. The price is great but the condition of the rooms are going downhill, the office is open on a rather limited schedule and there in no one on the premises overnight to get assistance from. When you try to call the desk you get an automated system that just keeps looping you round and round with never an option to leave a message or in our specific instance that the office closes at 8 p.m. and no one answers the phone after that time. We arrived close to midnight only to find that our reservation had not been registered and there was no key or message was left for us. Had to go find another place to stay -- which is what we will be doing from now on when visiting Rapid City.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softball_Mom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

i've stayed around 10 times over past 13 years. terrific owners. rooms remodled. great prices. if you"re security is a big issue its across the street from the rapid city police department. downtown and short walk to shopping, dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelhicks44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My wife and I and/or friends have stayed here 3-4 times in the past 6-7 years. We usually stay 3-4 night each time. Most often we are on the bike(s). This is a great base camp for heading anywhere in the Black Hills. We are gone riding all day and just spend the night here. It gets hot in the Hills and it's great to get in late and take a quick jump in the pool. This year we are taking the grandkids. I know they will love the pool. Jerry is the greatest. We park the bike(s) under the canopy which is great in bad weather and for security purposes. Two years ago we got in late and they were already booked full. Jerry called another motel close by and saved us a room. And that's not all... The price is the best in the Hills!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wulfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.7 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 48 in Rapid City
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#32 of 48 in Rapid City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel

Address: 210 Saint Joseph St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2827
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £63 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel in downtown Rapid City. We have clean rooms, low rates, heated pool. We try to make you feel at home when you're away from yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Rapid City
Town Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing