We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Terrible Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Hotel, Terrible Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

First we were put in a room that was already occupied. Staff quickly fixed that problem and gave us an upgrade to a king suite. People in next room were very noisy, constantly going in and out of their room, letting the door slam shut.
We were very glad the breakfast was complimentary. It was terrible. Had some kind of scrambled eggs that were like paste. Biscuits and gravy - biscuits were raw and gravy was so watered down it was thin, runny, and very bland. Same with the apple juice, very watered down. I would recommend that if you are going to eat there, only have the cereal, pastries, or maple cinnamon waffles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites - Rapid City. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that the staff was able to rectify the issue that you encountered during the check in process. I want to apologize that the breakfast that we provide fell short of your expectations. The fresh biscuits and made from scratch sausage gravy is usually a big hit here at our hotel. However, I will bring your concerns to the breakfast staff so that we ensure that we are providing great breakfast items to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    201
    157
    116
    94
See reviews for
503
222
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is overall in good shape. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was great and they are pet friendly. The bad side of our stay was a result of three major things. Number one, parking. There is insufficient parking spaces. We were traveling with my elderly, handicapped mother and not only were all the handicapped spaces taken, so was everything else. If you return to the hotel after 9 pm, there is no where to park. Second, the front desk staff was not especially helpful or friendly. We were about an hour before 3 and not allowed to check in after a six hour drive with two four year olds. I understand that check in time is 3, but it is hard to believe that with only an hour remaining until check in, there were no clean rooms, which is what we were told. Lastly, the hotel does not have a pool or hot tub. It is attached to a water park, but you have to pay $13 a day to use them. After a long day helping family move, a hot tub would be nice. It wasn't a terrible hotel, but wasn't great either. Our next trip to Rapid, we will stays elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I guess I didn't read the hotel info about having a water park before I booked. We were traveling with our dog and selected a La Quinta because of the dog. The hotel is very busy and tons of kids (of course!). I must say that it was not noisy and seemed clean. My only problem was the usual poor linens at the La Quinta properties and the outdoor grounds needed some sprucing up. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: If you are traveling without children, be sure to request a room away from the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellarosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I want to apologize that you were unaware of the attached water park during your booking process. I am, however, glad to hear that despite the waterpark you still enjoyed a clean, quiet room, as that is one of our main goals! We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit through Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This location is right off of I90 and has easy access. The area has plenty of restaurants and actually has a restaurant in the building. The rooms and hallways were in need of deodorizing as they had a smell of dirty stinky feet. The bathrooms also were not very clean. I will pick another hotel to stay at when I am in the area the next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank robertbQ5810GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I want to apologize that your stay here with us fell below your expectations. We strive to provide a positive guest experience for everyone who stays here with, there are times that we fall short of those high expectations that we set for ourselves. I do want to thank you for taking the time to bring what you encoutered to our attention so that we may get these issues immediately addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our travels took us 4,000 miles staying in six LaQuinta hotels and this one was our worst experience. Because of the attached water park there were kids running and laughing in the halls and the parking lot was full. The check-in staff seemed stressed and cranky. The pet area was a patch of weeds & dirt. The locked back door was propped open all night with a garbage can. The task chair in our room was broken and the coffee was horrible, weak and tasted like burnt water. The breakfast area and staff were nice, except for all the screaming kids. The alarm clock in the next room woke us at 5:00 a.m. This hotel also cost us 30% more than we paid for any other hotel. I would not stay here again unless there were no other options. There are lots of hotels in the area and some that allow pets.

Room Tip: Probably a good place for families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites - Rapid City. I want to personally take the time to apologize that your visit here with us fell below your expectations. I also want to thank you for bringing what you encountered to our attention. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests and I apologize that we fell below those high standards we set for your stay. We would defintiely love to welcome you back to give our hotel another chance on your next stop through Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LaQuinta, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing