We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Favorite hotel!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and I think it is safe to say hat this is one of the best hotels I.have ever stayed at! Good food, fun waterpark and great staff!! Very friendly and willing to help. Rooms are clean and a fair price! Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmntcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    204
    159
    117
    94
See reviews for
510
228
58
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cody
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Motel is adjacent to another motel so the parking lot fills up. The breakfast area is also shared with the water park restaurant located in-between the motels. Rooms were very comfortable and quiet, beds very comfortable, nice flat screen TV. We had a truck with a trailer and had to park up on the hill - would be nice to have dedicated area for RV's and trailers. Otherwise, thanks for a great stay !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel needs work. The rooms are stuffy and uncomforting, and the walls are paper thin. The restaurant inside the hotel had slow (very veeeeeeery), unorganized, and poor service and I ended up leaving the restaurant early due to the fact that the people who ordered, like, a half an hour later than us got their food in under fifteen minutes. I waited 45 minutes for my food to get there but it still didn't come!

On the positive side, my bed was very soft and comfy and I was able to fall asleep quickly. The bathrooms were also very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Scottsbluff, NE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the La Quinta because we went to Waticki and it was cheaper. First of all, we couldn't even check in right away. The showers were downright disgusting with brown spots. The rooms smelled like chlorine. Beds were SUPER uncomfortable! It was just bad. Should've stayed at the country marriot next door!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicedud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We often stay at LaQuintas because of their pet friendly status. Public areas need work. Trash can by pet area was overflowing and trash was blowing into the interior hallway. I informed the desk clerk twice in several hours and it was not removed. Although they allow pets and have a sign to please pick up after your pet in the pet area they do not have pet bags for neglectful owners and there was a minefield of feces in the area. Because of the water park they have many customers who are not staying at the hotel. The night we stayed we were located on the 4th floor and were relieved that we would not have overhead running but did have 2 rooms adjacent that were partying until 1:00 a.m. with loud music and slamming of doors. The card readers to open doors did not work well on outside door - had to often go to the main entrance - this must be a replacement issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites - Rapid City. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guest room, however I do want to apologize for the pet area during your stay. We are currently in the process of a major face lift for the pet are, and I apologize that it fell below your expecations during your stay. I also want to apologize that the exterior door reader was not working properly, and I want to thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we may have maintenance take a look at it and get it fixed. We appreciate you bringing our shortcomings to our attention so that we can get immediately get these addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This La Quinta is connected to an indoor water park and another hotel in an "L" shape. Makes for a very busy parking lot and limited parking. Probably ok for families with children but not the best for an older couple. Room was clean and comfortable but rather dark. We had a small dog with us and there is very limited area to walk the dog. Not much grass either. They have a restaurant that offers a 10% discount for guests. They also have a free breakfast in the restaurant area that was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenora, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have stayed at many La Quinta's and this one by far has been the worst. Room smelled and was not very clean. The duvet cover was visibly dirty. Couldn't wait to move on to another hotel. The kids wanted a pool and yes, the Watiki Water Park was awesome, but also moved on to another hotel where the kids could swim for free. We paid $15 per person for the water park as the hotel didn't have their own pool and with a large family, parents swam too, it got expensive quick. The water park was the only thing we liked about the hotel with the exception of the cost of it. The maid service was horrible! We needed a roll-a-way and when they brought it to our room she didn't give us time to even get the door and she used her key and came right in! Thank goodness no one was changing or anything like that. Again, the next morning, we were getting up and packing and the maid once again came right in our room without giving us time to open the door. She literally knocked and walked right in saying "maid service"! My kids and I later took some luggage down to our vehicle and my husband needed to use the bathroom so he flipped that security latch over the door so the maid wouldn't walk right in the room when he was using the facilities. The room was also noisy. Could hear the people above us walking around and people out in the hall as well. Did not use the continental breakfast so cannot rate that. Room was very small and had to put the roll a way by the door so thankfully there was no emergency during the night. Will not stay here again and do not recommended it to anyone who likes a very clean room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74SKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience here at our hotel. I want sincerely apologize that your stay fell below your expecations as well as ours. We strive to provide a very positive experience for all of our guests and I am sorry that we fell below these expecations with your recent visit. I do want to thank you for bringing what you encountered to our attention so that we may get these issues addressed immediately. I would love to speak with you in more depth regarding your recent visit, please feel free to contact me at (605) 718-7000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing