We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and simple!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and simple!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Tho hotel itself isn't amazing but the swim park is a added plus. The first night we had to request new sheets on kids bed because they were dirty and appeared to have blood on them. The breakfast was a 4 on a 1 to 10 scale. Biscuits and gravy were decent but served cold. I like the dark blue carpet, decor had a ocean like feel to it. Restaurant wasn't helpful when we placed an order at the water park due to being busy I assume. Very quick service and no checking back or remixing us we had a discount since we were lodging. This hotel was the cheapest compared to the other one they have next door. Otherwise, kids loved it. Age 11 and 9. And your far away from the other attractions on the main hwy. 30 min to Mt.Rushmore, reptile gardens, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahipmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    200
    157
    115
    94
See reviews for
497
220
56
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

What can I say. Every time we come this way we stay here and just when I think I can't love this hotel anymore they prove me wrong. Although I do miss the omelet bar we still love this place. It's always great to see the same friendly faces. It's so nice to feel at hone even when you're not home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmama_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent three nights in Rapid City. This property seems well maintained. Indoor waterpark is nice (note that the cost is not included in your lodging fee). Breakfast was good (included in the room fee). The property is a smoke-free property. However, it is a pet friendly property.

Only complaint: Avoid getting a room that backs up to the elevator shaft - we got one of those rooms and heard the elevator going up/down all night. Poorly laid our design to have a room and the beds set up against the wall of the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities that we offer here at our hotel. I do want to apologize for the noise that you experienced in your room from the elevators and I want to thank you for bringing your suggestions to our attention. Your suggestions definitely help to make our hotel better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

In the advertisement, when booking the room you have the choice of the business rate, which you would assume is cheaper, because you won't be using the waterpark, but the water park is atleast $15 a day, per person, even children that are 3 years old. Only 3 waterslides. Told our price was $592 for 3 days, and then there was almost $70 worth of resort fees/taxes, ridiculous. Better off going to Wisconsin Dells where you don't have to pay extra for waterpark. Tooooo expensive, first room we were put in the deadbolt didn't work, so they sent down maintenance and he worked on it for 30 minutes and still not fixed, while we had to be trapped waiting for them to fix, when we had just got there, finally asked to be switched to another room. Only given 2 wrist bands to use the hot tub, so none of our older kids could use the hot tub, just the adults. My husband is military and told we would get the 12% off, but ended up costing $70 more then the price that the reservation/receipt when booking online, without the military discount. Don't go here, and they advertise on their sign, LOW RATES!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my brother and we both enjoyed our stay, everyone from front desk to housekeeping were so nice and attentive in meeting our needs. I have to say that this was the best stay we have had for a long time!!!!! Watiki was great, not to mention the bar and sliders topped it off with a big cherry on top!!!!! This is highly recommended to families.

Room Tip: We slept like babies!!!! We had no issues with fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at the La Quinta Inn & Suites - Rapid City. We are very pleased to hear that you and your brother enjoyed your stay here with us. Our goal is to provide an excellent experience to all of our guests and we are very pleased that we met these expectations with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Staff was very friendly in every part of hotel (restaurant, check-in, breakfast, bar). The continental breakfast was great with all the usual items to select from, but well stocked and warm, a great start to each day. If you have a family the water-park looked like it would be fun, however there is an additional charge to get in and it does close at 9 each night. We were a little disappointed that the hotel didn't have a simple pool or hot tub for it's adult guests to enjoy after a long day of sight seeing. That is one thing we usually look forward to when traveling as it's a relaxing way to end our day. The rooms were ok. The bathroom door had something gross all over it and the floor was a little sketchy and there was black hair all over the white bedspread however, the beds were comfortable and the shower was clean. If we were to go back we probably wouldn't stay here again, but mostly because we didn't use the water-park and had to pay a resort fee so it wasn't worth it for us. If you have a family with children and plan to be around for a few days, the water-park would make this a great hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at our hotel. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I do want to thank you for bringing to our attention the housekeeping issues that you encountered in your guest room. I want to assure you that I have addressed with the appropriate team members to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Room service is provided by Marco Pizza, on-site restaurant. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LaQuinta and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing