We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not renovated!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely not renovated!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The beds are awful, the furniture dusty and the carpet has a mildew smell! We paid almost $400 for a room, the pull out couch didn't have linens, the pillows had no pillowcases and the desk had a layer of dust! Definitely don't waste your money here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famof4ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    206
    161
    118
    94
See reviews for
518
230
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This La Quinta is in a perfect location for anyone traveling and doing sightseeing in the Black Hills. It is just off of I-90 at Exit 61 which is the Exit you would want to take from the Interstate to get to the Southern Hills fast. Also just across the street from the Black Hills Visitors Center. Ellsworth AFB is 5 miles away, Rushmore Mall is 3 miles away - and downtown Rapid City is 5 miles away. And you can get to Mt. Rushmore from this location without having to go through the heart of Rapid City.

The room had two queen beds - was very clean - with a strong air conditioner. Beds were firm but comfortable and sheets were clean. You have the ability to open the windows if you need to - however hotel strongly encourages you to keep them closed when you are out of the room. Microwave and fridge were available as well as a HDTV with plenty of cable programming. One small issue with curtain as it did not close all the way so the early morning light of South Dakota got into the room by 6 am. Another small issue is that the room can get damp. There seems to be no ventillation fan in the bathroom and the only way to get humidity out of the room is by lowering the AC. With swim trunks and towels drying in the room this can get annoying. This probably not a problem on the usual dry days of western South Dakota - but humidity was high the few days we were there.

Breakfast consists of eggs - sometimes with ham, biscuits and gravy, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, danishes, toast, english muffins, make your own waffle stations (2 with different kinds like chocolate, strawberry, blueberry). Fairly high quality - did not need to seek out breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Entrance to the Water park and Arcade are on the 2nd floor - therefore higher foot traffic - and pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadalca76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Conveniently right off freeway, and as always pet friendly. But next to an indoor water park and, I assume because of that, way overpriced in comparison to all the other La Quintas we stayed at on this trip! Always appreciate being pet friendly with no added fees though!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, the water park you have to pay for separately FYI. We had a king bed suite though it wasn't a separate room which we like when we travel with kids. We did get a handicap accessible suite so had plenty of room and lots of bars to hang swim gear up on!
Room service was good and fast. Free breakfast is always a plus and had your regular make your own waffles, cereal, bagels, scrambled eggs, coffee/juice, etc.
The water park was great, very warm, lazy tube river, hot tub, huge play structure though the big monkey bucket was too much water for our one year old when it dumped. Knocked her right over a couple times. The tube water slides were amazing though!
Overall would likely only stay if planning to use the water park, and note if you pay for them in the evening, you can keep your wristband on for morning!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aquae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great room which was close to the indoor water park. Rooms were clean, associates were courteous. Great jump off point for the activities near Mount Rushmore and Custer. The halls can be noisy with kids running to/ from the waterpark but it didn't bother me since it closed at 10.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfromPace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit here at our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family enjoyed a night's stay at the LaQuinta. The breakfast was great, Watiki was fun, supper was nice (kids under 10 ate free) - room was quiet, staff was courteous, over all a great experience and quite reasonable considering it was peak tourist season

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Charles & Patri... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I would like to take the time to thank you for writing us a review about your recent stay here with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and all of the amenities that we offer! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
567 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing