We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIRTY bedding!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DIRTY bedding!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Quinta in SD a total of 3 nights. The first night we got into bed we noticed a strong smell of puke. We noticed a mysterious spot in the middle of the bedding. Housekeeping came to change the bedding. When they stripped the bedding there was no mattress pad cover and food crumbles on the mattress. The bedding the second night was fine. The bedding the 3rd night had dried blood stains on it. Housekeeping came to change the bedding and I watched them replace our comforter with another comforter that had stains on it!! The drain in our room did not work, which they promptly fixed and the hair dryer was broken, which they promptly replaced. You get what you pay for, spend a little more and go somewhere that is CLEAN. I would NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at our hotel. We strive to provide a positive experience for all of our guests, there are times when we do fall short of those very high expectations that we have set for our selves. I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you encountered in your room, however I am very glad to hear that they were all very promptly rectified. I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. You can reach me at (605) 718-7000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    200
    157
    115
    94
See reviews for
497
220
56
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay on our family vacation. We have a 6 and 11 year old....they loved the waterpark. It worked out well....we would sight see all day and come back to the hotel late afternoon. We would swim until 9:00. We would have dinner in the hotel restaurant....they had great food. It is attached to the waterpark and they are very flexible. Highly recommend staying here if you have children.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TribTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit here at La Quinta. We are very pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to see you all again on your next visit through Rapid City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good location--very easy to access hwy-- shopping and restaurants located in area. Water park wonderful for grandkids also hotel has an arcade . If you stay at hotel the hotel the water park charge is $7 cheaper than it is to the public who can use the facilities--water park is usually very crowded on weekends. There is a restaurant and bar accessible to the park area which makes it nice where you don't have to leave the park to get a bit to eat . Towels provided by the park. Hotel service was good --we had a bump at the beginning when our rooms air conditioner went out but was fixed immediately. Continental breakfast with good selection. I would recommend this hotel for a family traveling with children it is a good break from the historical sites that can be boring to smaller children and needs to be taken in measured amounts or else vacation could be a bust for the kids

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor --one of the water park and arcade access is on the 2nd floor 1st floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursejab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in the Rapids City SD for one night on our way out to Montana. Check-in was fast and courteous. The room was spacious, clean and just the right temperature for us. Would highly recommend the two king bed room for extra room. We travel with our dog and the pet area is easy to get to and big enough for him to run around for a bit. The only issue we had was the door leading to the pet area never worked with our card, so we had to go around to another door to get back in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Squeakercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have (1)2 and (1) 4 year old and we stayed there for 4 nights. It's physically connected to an awesome water park where they serve reasonably-priced food. You can even eat in the water park area which is sweet. Great breakfast and parking is pretty good, and I am typing this at one of their complimentary computers. The only problem I had was with the workers, but I talked with the manager and she straightened it up immediately. I'd say you will be hard-pressed to find a more convenient place to stay with kids in Rapid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at our hotel. We are very glad to hear that your family enjoyed your visit with us and the amenities that we have to offer. I am sorry to hear that you had a small issue with one of our employees but pleased to hear that it was quickly rectified. We hope to see you all again on your next visit through Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was quoted a price online and I tried to cancel my reservation at 11:00 a.m. for the same day I had reservations, and they would not cancel. I called the hotel and then I called the corporate number. The corporation said that they had to talk to the Rapid City hotel and put me on hold. They said I needed a 24 hour notice to cancel. This was not in the reservation information online. I also spoke with someone from the hotel the night I made my reservation and they were $75.00 higher on their price. They also charged me TWO fees for resort fees of $7.50 for two days even though I only stayed the ONE night. This hotel was not friendly and they did not have the nicest rooms at all for the price. I paid over $300 for ONE night for this room and they tacked on an additional $30.00 in fees and taxes. The breakfast was not that great and the room wasn't even clean. It was just okay. The light on the fire alarm was blinking all night and it was very noisy next to us. I called the front desk after 10:00 and they must have called because everything was quieter after that. I was just upset because they would not cancel my reservation and they were full that night because they didn't have any more rooms available. They could have sold this room to someone else.

Room Tip: I would be careful staying here because they have a big pool and a lot of kids stay here and it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at our hotel. I want to apologize that your recent visit with us did not exceed your expectations. We strive to provide a postive experience for all of our guests and I do apologize that we failed to meet those standards. I do want to thank you for bringing to my attention the minor issues that you encountered with your room and also apologize that the 24 hour notice for cancellation was not properly relayed to you during the booking process. I would like the chance to further discuss this with you. Please feel free to reach me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Room service is provided by Marco Pizza, on-site restaurant. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing