We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice value for the price”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Let's start with the good - the location is right off the interstate - 2 turns - and you're there. Rooms are surprisingly quiet for the closeness to the freeway and the number of guests there solely for the waterpark. The room itself was clean and comfortable - and front desk staff was very friendly and helpful

Now for the not so good:
1) Parking - get a space early and keep it! 3 venues share the same lot - Laquinta, Fairfield and Sliders bar / waterpark. Needless to say - you may have issues finding a space at times.

2) Waterpark - it's nice - but la quinta does not (per a front desk person) include the park admission in their room rates, but the Fairfield Inn also attached does. Makes no sense at all.

3) Housekeeping - we were there two nights. We got up the first morning, left the room at 7:30 for breakfast and came back at 1:30 pm .... Housekeeping still hadn't visited the room. We left the room again for a couple of hours at the waterpark and arcade - AND THEY STILL HAD NOT CLEANED IT. Finally at 4:00 we went out for dinner and I stopped and ASKED them to clean it.

4) Breakfast - typical hotel self service breakfast - but it is in Sliders bar/grill space. Juice is mixed and in pitchers not out of a machine. 3 flavors of waffles, and something that loosely passed for scrambled eggs and meat... Oatmeal is instant and the buffet is shared with the Fairfield - so it gets crowded fast.

5) Room felt damp when we first got into it both nights - as it cooled down, dampness went away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    204
    159
    117
    94
See reviews for
510
228
58
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I booked this room specifically because of the water park amenity. We were not informed at the time of booking or in advance that the park would be closed. I understand the need for this occurring but it would have been nice to be informed of this fact. The front desk was dismissive and unconcerned when I attempted to discuss this issue with them. I was given two room keys that after carrying all of our bags upstairs, neither key worked which necessitated a second trip downstairs just to enter our room and remove our bags from the hallway. There were only 2 bath towels in the room even though it was clearly booked for 3 occupants. The towel issue was not discovered until bath time of course. The room was clean and nice. The stay would have been enjoyable if not for the closure of the main reason for our stay, that being the water park and not being informed of such in advance. While I understand these things happen, my 5 year old who was looking forward to the experience was not nearly as consolable, and rightfully so. I feel if you are unable to offer all the amenities that are advertised, then charging full price for the room is unacceptable. Again the employees simply shrugged and were dismissive. So I am not at all pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I want to apologize that your stay here with us fell below your expectations. I definitely understand how frustrating it can be to book a hotel for a specific amenity and have it be closed. However, the Watiki Water Park has not been closed during this month. We did just recently switch to our Winter Hours, but the water park still opens every weekday at 4pm and 8am on Saturday and Sunday. I also want to thank you for bringing to my attention our concerns regarding your room keys and the amount of bath towels left in you room. I will definitely get these items addressed with the appropriate staff members. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we do hope to see you again on your next visit to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting this place for the last 5 years and still enjoy every trip. The front desk staff was very heplful and patient. The water park this year was a little bit disorganized but that the kids loved the somewhat lawlessness. There are some runners, so you can definitely here stuff but it is what to expect for a water park attach hotel. I think if you request a quiet area they will accommodate you because it is obvious that you are there for fun with 2 kids in tow. The room was clean, we were only there mostly to sleep and get cleaned. The continental breakfast was great, very good selection of hot, cold and fresh. Checkout was fast. Utilize the discounts especially military, it helps a good deal after all is said and done. we had a great time and would recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0000000xxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an older property, and despite obvious effort on behalf of the staff to make your stay pleasant, keep that in mind. We could hear footsteps very clearly from the floor above when in our room, and despite the obvious effort to keep the place clean and quiet, well, you can only do so much.

That said, my husband and I both commented on the hospitality expressed by the front staff and housekeeping staff. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so we were given free drink tickets, one apiece, for the hotel bar. This is perhaps a better spot for the attached waterpark, so if you have kids give that some consideration. Again, very nice people trying to compete with an older property.

Room Tip: OK, when I say loud, again this is an older property. Keep the fan on and you will probably be fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodandfrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reveiew our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear the service and hospitality of our staff. However, I would like to apologize that the feel of our hotel seemed older. We are actually only 6 years old and we just finished a full renovation a little over a year ago. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2014

As I write this, I am listening to someone in the room above run from one end to the other (or so it would seem). It is 10:30 p.m. and my 6 & 9 year old are still awake. As a result: tomorrow is going to be a circus (if you have kids, I do not need to say more)! This hotel is good if you're lucky enough to be on the top floor (unless you're a deep sleeper or deaf!). It does not have concrete floors. Also, when making a reservation, there was no mention that the hotel was pet friendly which is fine except our 6-year old is afraid of dogs. It would have been nice to be informed of this when we made the reservation.
The waterpark was fabulous but I do have one big beef: there was no drinking water to be found. A water fountain and a dispenser are a must in such a hot,humid environment where all that energy is being expended walking the stairs. You could order water (it was free) but if I were more cynical, I might be inclined to think management was steering its customers towards sodas and other sugary concoctions, which are not healthy choices for kids.
On the positive side, the rooms were nice, clean and spacious. The service was good and food was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at our hotel. I apologize that you were not made aware that all La Quinta's are pet friendly. I also want to apologize for the noise that you encountered during your stay, I definitely understand how frustrating it can be to be unable to get the kids to sleep, especially with a long ahead. A quick call to the front desk could have definitely helped rectify these issues. We do hope that you would give us a second chance on your next visit to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

great place to stay - traveling with 3 rottweilers and they had no problem accommodating us. The room was great and the water park fun. Friendly service. the dogs were happy to be out of the truck and to have a place to relax. Room service was fast and good food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us and we do hope to see you all again on your next stop through Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We've stayed at plenty of LaQuintas but none as great as this. As everyone has said there's a water park. It's a little small compared to some parks we have been to but honestly how big of a water park do you. It was great for us to play in after a day of being out and about. The hotel itself is very unique. The colors are just beautiful and the rooms are really nice. They had duvets in the rooms which is kinda odd to me but hey at least you know they change them. The FREE breakfast was great. Oh yeah did I mention it was free. I don't know what more people would want from something you don't pay for. It was great for our family. As for the staff, WOW. We talked to a few of them and the were all awesome! Andrea played tour guide for us and really seemed to enjoy it. I've never seen someone smile so much and have it actually be genuine. Chris was great to. He helped us choose a restaurant and then chatted with my husband like they were old friends. He really enjoyed it. When our key didn't work Katie fixed it for us and was apologetic about it. Again another truly genuine person. People like this really make a hotel. I later found out that Katie is the gm and that Andrea is the assistant gm and was shocked. A management team that is that involved is hard to come by. The only down side was the restaurant. The service was slow and poor at best. But we don't hold that against the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish84lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayti R, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay here at our hotel. We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit! I want to thank you for all of your compliments for our staff members, I will definitely relay these to everyone. We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1416 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A variety of rooms and suites are available at La Quinta. The hotel also offers a host of amenities, including a free shuttle service to Rapid City Regional Airport, on-site meeting facilities, a business center and free Wi-Fi, a Fitness Center and more. Sliders bar offers a daily happy hour and drink specials. A full breakfast is served every morning. We are located off I-90 (Exit 61) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is connected to WaTiki Waterpark: the state's largest indoor waterpark. The property is also a short drive from the area's most popular attractions. The property's location is a comfortable distance from many major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rapid City
La Quinta Rapid City
Rapid City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing