We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant waterpark on the property (not what we were there for, but OK)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Giant waterpark on the property (not what we were there for, but OK)”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When I booked this room it was because it was a Marriott and my husband and I planned to fly out of Rapid City after a nice road trip visiting several major national parks. It was close to Mt Rushmore, which was the last park on our intinerary. We ended up here a day ahead of schedule and I had added a 2nd night from the road prior to arriving. We figured we would travel 50 or so miles east to the Badlands on our "extra" day (which we did, with a stop at Wall Drug which we were glad we did as well).

When I booked, I was thinking airport and location, not waterpark. So imagine our surprise when we go to check in and there are LOTS of excited kids in the lobby - some wet, some anxious to get wet. Oh boy.

So I asked for a top floor room, was offered a 3rd floor. I knew this could be trouble, so I insisted further. The manager gave us a free upgraded room on top floor - a room with a jacuzzi (that we didn't use). It was a handicap accessible room with a jacuzzi (?). We were fine with that, the top floor was most important.

I was very apprehensive about what the noise was going to be like even from top floor since the room was facing the interstate and also on the side with the waterpark, but we had no noise issues. The hotel itself was a little old, but had brand new carpet everywhere, which was great. The breakfast area in the mornings were chaos, so we ate at McDonalds next door - no big deal for us.

So in all, a good stay - satisfied with everything - and a giant waterpark can be great for some (and the reason, obviously, that a lot of people choose this property) but don't let it scare you away if you're not interested in this feature.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    209
    126
    52
    57
See reviews for
348
154
40
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conneticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This wonderful hotel with large rooms and very comfortable beds was in a great location for our visit to Mt. Rushmore. Daniel (the mgr) and Ashley who checked us in were extremely pleasant and helpful. Sliders, a restaurant next door to the Fairfield Inn has delicious food and reasonable
prices. Internet is included as well as a very good complimentary breakfast. It is attached to an indoor water park which was not crowded since most children are back in school .

Room Tip: We loved room 302, a very spacious one bedroom in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcgConneticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Laird, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for a family vacation, which included visiting Mt Rushmore, not too far away. Very nice hotel, great breakfast spread, included in the hotel cost, and a great staff. There is an attached water park, which we did not have the opportunity to visit. The water park entrance fee is not included with the cost of the hotel. The room suite was beautiful, offering ample space for all of us to sleep. Great to see PBS, which has appropriate morning programming for the kids. We found the TV/game combined console annoying. When you just want to watch television, you don't want to have to figure our how to get off the game console menu. We visited in the first few days of August 2013, just prior to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. We had not realized that was taking place when it was. The roar of motorcycles was everywhere; the bikers, friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familiyoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Ok I had previously tried to review this hotel and due to 'insufficient' information it was not published. We flew in here from DFW so spent the first and last night at this hotel on our road trip. The lobby was clean. At the beginning of the road trip we got a room on the second floor which was ok. The last night of our trip was a whole different story. We were allocated a room right outside the lobby which looked to the elevators. The room was disgusting and dirty. We were in the room 5 minutes and my 7 year old son said there were flies in the bathroom, dismissing it as just one. We put the tv on and sure enough 3 more flies started flying around. Going to investigate we were disgusted at the grim/rust and dirt in the bathroom. My husband hot-footed it to the front desk and explained to the lady what was in the bathroom. She did not even engage in conversation with him but told him she had no rooms left. After explaining the big flies and dirt she moved us without even inspecting the room. Fairfield this hotel my have a clean and upgraded lobby but this in not the case with the rooms. Very disappointed in you Marriott!!!

Room Tip: If you get allocated the first floor room right by the lobby and lifts say NO!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I has nothing but great experiences at thw Fairfield. The manager (Daniel) and receptionist (Ashley) were absolutely fantastic. They made sure we always had what we needed and assisted whenever asked. Front desk, in general was beyond amazing! Huge continental breakfast and our room was awesome. The hotel itself was clean and inviting. The Watiki water park (attached) was the best price I've seen and the most accommodating for all ages. I can't wait to see what the future expansion holds. My son could crawl where ever and not get scraped up from the ground! Our room seemed soundproof, as I heard no one outside ever. This made it perfect for when my kids had to sleep at their scheduled bed times. Sliders grill has a menu that seems to suit many food varieties and decently priced. I have to say this was my best stay yet in Rapid City! I plan to stay here next time we come to visit as it was one of my best experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed with my family with two small kids this past week and had a WONDERFUL time with the hotel, the attached Watiki waterpark, and the absolutely awesome Sliders sports bar and lounge. The food was great, the room was unbelievable, and the staff was great. I'm already planning my return to the area in the near future!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Staying in one of the suites that overlooks the waterpark is a great plus for the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcorrao79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived late at night to the Fairfield. Staff were pleasant. Our room was up to date in furnishings and decorating. Very clean. We stayed one night here to begin our vacation and will stay again at the end. We did not realize it was attached to a water park when we arrived. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
243 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing