We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Tulare, South Dakota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here at Fairfield Inn. It was quiet, clean and friendly staff. Easy access to the Watiki. We didn't hear the traffic outside and the jacuzzi in our room was clean. The breakfast staff were very nice and even though we were later in the morning they were still hospitable and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acceberose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    192
    119
    50
    54
See reviews for
330
143
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Was very surprised by the 5 star friendly service we received. The general manager and his staff went out of their way to make my brothers birthday special. They were also smiling and ready to help. You could tell the entire front desk staff enjoy their job and care about their guests. The hotel looked modern with bright hallways and nice furniture. The rooms were large and comfortable. Surprisingly, They included all of the amenities you can expect from a high end hotel. The only downside were the pillows....way too soft....the breakfast buffet was included and very tasty.
The restaurant at this hotel was excellent. We were very very surprised at the quality and taste of the food at this restaurant. The service was outstanding. Tina, our server on the two occasions we had dinner there, provided excellent, friendly service. She was great!,,,
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to rapid city. You can tell by the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the service that the general manager here has put into action a recipe for success that the guests certainly benefit from.

Room Tip: High floor away from the water park if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpectingtheBest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here one night over labor day. Only complaint is regular hours on a Holiday?? The hotel was clean, room was what we asked for and staff was great. The gal at the desk could be a little bit more diplomatic when handing out rules and such for going to waterpark. I felt like I was being dressed down and reprimanded for "possible" bad behavior which my family and I will be a part of. Really the only downside to the entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel with clean, spacious suites. It is located just off I 90 about ten minutes away from downtown Rapid City, 25 minutes from Mount Rushmore. The lobby and the breakfast room are quite modern and looks like they were recently updated. The breakfast consisted of hot (waffles, scrambled and hard boiled eggs and sausages) and cold items and had lots of variety. Our room had two queen beds and a pull out sofa - very spacious and bright. The waterpark had two water slides, a lazy river, basketball/ climbing area, a large hot tub and a kids area with the bucket dump. There was a weight limit sign on the kid's area - I had never seen one before - so no bigger children allowed! There was also a snack bar but we didn't eat there. I was disappointed that waterpark passes were not included with your stay at $155 a night. Besides that - no complaints and would recommend this hotel for a family stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the first floor as children are running from the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthandtravismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a pleasant stay at The Fairfield Inn & Suites. It is a nice hotel. It has a water park and Sliders restaurant/bar. Sliders do room service too. The hotel is in an excellent location for attractions, restaurants and stores. Our room was nice and clean. We had a comfortable double bed, jacuzzi, big television, fridge and microwave. The staff are friendly and very helpful. They recommended several good restaurants to us and gave us directions to attractions. The hotel had a free continental breakfast which consisted of scrambled egg, sausage patty, bread, bagels, donuts, cereal, yogurt, fruit juice and coffee. It was ok, but nothing to write home about. Some mornings, we ate breakfast at local restaurants. I would highly recommend the Colonial House restaurant in downtown Rapid City. They have delicious breakfasts at a fair price. For dinner, I would recommend the Dakotah Steakhouse. It is across the street from the hotel. The food there is outstanding. The hotel is near several attractions. Both kids and adults will love Reptile Gardens and Bear Country USA. Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park are about 25 miles from the hotel. You will enjoy the scenic drive. Don't forget to visit Deadwood. You will feel like your back in the old west there. Wild Bill Hickok and Calamity Jane lived there. They are buried next to each other in Mt Moriah cemetery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As with any hotel chain, Marriott has their different tiers. This is one of the better Fairfield Inns in which I have stayed. This may be because it is a newer property. It is clean, well appointed and the staff was friendly. The breakfast room is larger than many I have experienced. It is a typical Fairfield Inn breakfast - scrambled or boiled eggs, sausage, cereals, breads, waffles, juices, yogurt, etc.

The work out room has several treadmills, a bench with hand weights, an elliptical, and all of the equipment seemed to be working. Bring your own earphones and watch TV while working out, one on each piece of equipment.

You have already read about the water park and room suggestions. I was on the forth floor right next to the elevator. I thought that would be a problem, but it was not. The room was very quiet with an air conditioner that cooled to my preference of 65 degrees, and the fan runs continually without the recycling noise.

These two properties, Fairfield and La Quinta, joined together at the corner of each by the water park, have a huge sign advertising rates as low as $59.99 (I believe it even goes to $49.99 in the winter months). Don't expect to get this rate - it is offered only for long term stays. This is something several properties do in Rapid City to get you in the door. It is deceptive and sneaky. But, hey, they are in the Black Hills and competing with scores of other properties.

It is east of the city and all attractions. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance, but you really need a car and need to plan to leave the property and head west for most other accommodations.

Room Tip: My room right next to the elevator was not a problem and I am a light sleeper. Stay away from the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiddenshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This property is off Exit 61 and across a service road from I-90. Hotel is fairly new but they just completed a renovation. The lobby is unusually nice. Fairfield Inns everywhere are consistently good if bland, but what you need to know about THIS ONE is that it grows out of WaTiki water park, a 70,000 sq ft facility that opens at 8am; La Quinta Inn grows out of the other side. For best happiness, you want the highest room numbers. That is, the rooms are numbered from the water park end, like, 301, and increase as you go away from that end. Whether you have kids or you're a business traveler, you now know what to ask for. Higher floor is better of course (this rule holds true for any Fairfield Inn, by the way). The first room we tried (e.g. 106) was small and you simply won’t sleep there unless you take a lot of sleep aids. Even after hours, kids still wander the halls hoping the water slides will be opened by some miracle.

We got off to a bad start. Arrived about 8PM and despite (1) my Marriott Gold Level status and standing requests for high floor, and (2) making my reservation over 3 months in advance, they put us on the 1st floor about 3 doors away from the water park entrance. Without even having to go see the room, I asked to be moved and the woman at check-in said no way the hotel was full and was rude about it. After 15 minutes in that room listening to what seemed liked herds of buffalo stampeding outside AND above us, we took our bags back to the front counter ready to be rude right back and prepared to leave. But this time there was a pleasant man at the desk and he said, no problem he would be happy to relocate us to an upgraded room. Cool.

We were on the 2nd floor in a very nicely designed room almost more like a suite, w/ couch/chair/work table coffee table and flat TV, bed and TV and closet in separate area, and a good size bath with long countertop. Room was great. The A/C worked fine, and the fan could be set to run continuously. Bed was Marriott standard very comfortable, medium firmness, clean linens, with two types of pillows.

The breakfast was kind of a circus, even at 6:30 when we went down early to beat the crowds. Mostly there was pre-packaged items, DIY waffles, assorted pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, etc. It was typical of the Fairfield chain, and nice to have as a time-saver when you want to get on the road.

There was a decent sized fitness center, and the lobby had a business center and other niceties. Wireless internet was slow but worked. We had a 4G aircard so we just used that. The area around the hotel is not friendly to walking (people or pets). Across the street is a good, local restaurant called Dakotah Steakhouse that's more upscale and has better quality food than the typical chain steak restaurant. Or you can walk through the grass (a trail has been created by many people doing this) across the RR tracks to Arby's and McDonalds. And that's it for eating on this exit. A car is truly a necessity to go into Rapid City for more eating choices.

Prices here are simply astounding, even if not terribly out of line with comps in the area. Yikes! In the busy, precious summer months everybody wants to go to the Black Hills, so they get over $150/night for a room and over $200/night for a suite. Thank goodness we could stay here on points, and only needed one night. If i visit again, for that kind of money i'll stay in one of the top 5 rated hotels, or down in one of the towns in the Black Hills (if possible to plan ahead far enough), or even a rental house (e.g. homeaway.com) in the country.

Room Tip: If you have kids and are here for the waterpark, get low numbered rooms. If you don't have kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
209 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing