We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Highly Recommend this Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

My teenage son and i spent almost a week at this Hotel and thorougly enjoyed every day. The staff at the Courtesy Desk were extremely helpful with directions / recommendations on sights to see - everything! The room was clean and the beds were pillow top, very comfortable.
My son is special needs and "Cathy" the Breakfast Room Helper took extra care to help him and all of the children (lots of them-since the Hotel has an attached water park). She was friendly, courteous and helped start each day in the best way possible - GREAT Customer Service!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb_eberbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    192
    119
    50
    54
See reviews for
330
143
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muleshoe, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

WOW!! We should always be so fortunate to stay at a hotel whose staff is so friendly, knowledgeable about the area and so willing to give suggestions and information. Really made our few days enjoyable and we saw more than we would on our own!! Thank you housekeeping for the cleanliness of our rooms each day!! Deborah, you went above & beyond making us feel welcome. Thanks! We didn't experience breakfast 'cause we partied late and slept in!! See you next year. Luv a duck!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I'm really a Marriott fan and wanted to try this Fairfield. I cannot believe I almost booked somewhere else because of the other reviews, and I'm so thankful I didn't. The staff at this Fairfield Inn went above and beyond to make me comfortable, especially the general manager, and the accommodations were far above anything I expected. What a hidden treasure this hotel is....very clean, very well run. I would (and have) recommended this hotel to everyone I know. No wonder bikers flock here during Sturgis week...they always know the BEST places to stay! Now I do too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean31525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

A very good hotel, and a convenient location for sightseeing in the area. Only irritation was that my stay was for two nights beginning August 31, and apparently rates drop considerably on 9/1, I was paying $84/night on a pre-reserved senior rate, while the sign out front was advertising a $59.99 rate on 9/1. When I asked the front desk about a lower rate, I was told that the advertised rate was only if you stayed 3 nights. True or not, I'd recommend that you not make reservations if you arrive in September, as your rate is likely to be lower than the online rates. We also could hear some noise from the traffic on the street at the back of the hotel; would recommend that you request a room at the front, which is, ironically, where the railroad tracks are.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whencanwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Nice new hotel with lots of free parking. Large comfortable, clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Rapid City, SD this past Labor Day. The hotel was very busy but we were both impressed that Peggy and Jess took the time at check in to supply us with maps and give us directions to local restaurants. Later that evening my husband went down for coffee and Peg insisted on making him a fresh pot. WOW now that's Marriott service. Kathy in breakfast was very friendly and made sure we had all we needed. The breakfast room was a bit small for all the people, but Kathy more than made up for it. The rooms were clean and nice although a bit dated compared to some of the new Fairfield Inn's we have seen. Overall, we would definately recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit to Rapid City. There was so much to see and not near enough time to do it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
535 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

First, I always stay at Marriott because of their superior quality and friendly staff. I don't think I have ever had a bad experience at at Marriott; I stay at them 90% of my travel time because of my good experience with them.

I stayed here for 4 nights, May 18 - 21, 2010. In my profile, I always request a frig; but, sometimes, I understand they are unavailable. Being that I was staying here 4 nights, I needed one.

When I checked in, I first asked if I could be near the laundry room. I got a quick no on that (he didn't even search rooms). Then I asked about having a frig. The guy checking me in, flat out said none were available. I kind of whined about it, but he still didn't even look for one. He said if one becomes available the next day, he would call me (he didn't - he never followed up). It wasn't so much about the frig as it was his attitude. He was the least accommodaing person I have ever met in a hotel.

I stayed here during the off-season, so the hotel was not even remotely full or close to full; I found it hard to believe there were no refrigerators in the entire hotel.

Besides that, the hotel is exceptional. Very clean, nice rooms, big hotel with an attached water-type park (I didn't use it so I won't comment on it). It's conveniently located right off the interstate and close to about everything in the Rapid City area (about 20 minutes to Mt. Rushmore). Other than my check-in experience, I have no issues with the hotel at all.

I would never stay here again because of the way I was treated. Instead, I would choose to go down to Keystone and stay in the Holiday Inn, where they are very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MizDakota2010, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Good or bad we value our reviews as it shows us where we can do better or when we are doing something well. I am so sorry that your check in was not pleasant. All of are standard queen and king rooms come without refrigerators. We do have Extended King Suites for an additional $10 which are larger and include refrigerators or microwaves. Our guest service representative may have not had anything to offer as far as upgrades to accomodate all 4 nights of your stay.
I looked up the dates of your stay and we were completley sold out 3 of the 4 days you were here. That would account for the limited availability for a room available for 4 nights near the laundry room.

Thank you again for your reviews and for staying with us, I will share your thoughts with all my associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rapid City
Residence Inn Rapid City
#1 of 2 in Box Elder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1314 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9588
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing