We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Happy Holiday Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Holiday Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Holiday Resort Motel
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Regina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Older campground but well taken care of and the staff are wonderful. Great place to stay and would stay there again. Lots of stuff to do in the area. Would like to see the campground updated, but it was OK.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
27
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Churubusco, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 days while on a two family vacation . we got alone time , a nice cabin and met nice people . we used this as a center to area attractions and were not disappointed. we would stay again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the motel just after the area was hit by a devastating blizzard. But what we got was a treat - a clean, substantial room for a good price. The owners were friendly and generous to everyone, taking care of those who had been stuck for days by the blizzard and helping those in the RV park as they dug out. The park has motel rooms, cabins, RV and campsites along with a playroom and pool and laundry. It is close to Mt Rushmore and near all the attractions between Rapid City and the national monument. Most of all, the owner was friendly and helpful, telling those who asked the best routes and best places to buy gas and supplies. There are thousands of rooms available in Rapid City, but the Happy Holiday felt so much like home and family, I would rather stay there than the fancier hotels in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LifeIsAnAdventure_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

There were 4 of us in two separate rooms and both rooms were not very clean. While convenient to Mt. Rushmore and the town of Keystone we would not stay there again. Our room had no towels and when my husband went dow,n to tell them in the office they didn't believe him and actually came down to verify themselves. They also gave us the wrong key to the room but luckily the office was still open when we got back from watching the lights go on at Mt. Rushmore. Unfortunately we booked 2 nights in order to spend some time in the area and couldn't cancel to find another motel. They did not even have mattress covers on the bed and the pillows were wrapped in plastic under the pillow cases. All in all a terrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto rico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

just in front of hwy 16 on your way from rapid city to the monuments and close to city. there are plenty restaurants and gas stations in the area. the staff was extremely helpful in answering all our questions since it was our first time in the area. the rooms were very clean as well as the surrounding areas. the pool was big enough. its pretty deep at one end so keep an eye on the little ones. we paid $79. for our room it was a Friday and it was the walk in price, still a good deal. would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: if you ask for a first floor you can park in front of you room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We decided to try a cabin as it was cheaper than the hotels in the area. We paid about $50.00 a night in July 2013. The cabin had two rooms, so our children slept in one and my husband and I had the other. It was nice to have a little distance as we were on the road for 30+ days. The front bedroom offered a table, tv and had a double bed with a single bed above (sleeping for 3); the back bedroom offered 3 twins and a double (sleeping for 5).

The cabin came with free wifi and cable tv. The a/c wasn't working, but a maintenance person came and corrected it in less than 10 mins. They offered free coffee and breakfast sweets in the office in the morning.

The location was great for visiting Mt. Rushmore and we wish we had more time to stop a the Reptile House across the street. The staff were just awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetravel4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryson City, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Indifferent camp hosts, who appear to run this park, made excuses for bad roads, dirty bathrooms, rust on linoleum floor and acted indifferent to our plight. We were visiting our grandson at Ellsworth AFB, so when escorted to a muddy site, we asked for another. The escort took off, and leaving us with he problem. Rather than spoiling the day for our grandson, we decided to take it up with the manager. Left our name and phone number, but never got a response. Took pictures of all the wrongs, which included an overcrowded pool, which is a safety concern. We paid for four days, but when electric cut off decided to leave after three. "No refunds" our policy said the camp hosts? But after seeing the manager, explaining all the problems, we're told he'd give us a refund. This operation needs to remodel and install drainage system. Absent owner needs to get involved.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camper1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
8.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
9.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#37 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.0 mi away
Big Sky Lodge
Big Sky Lodge
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Holiday Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Holiday Resort Motel

Property: Happy Holiday Resort Motel
Address: 8990 S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702-6577
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best location for a Black Hills vacation! Small, intimate property away from city noise. Perfectly situated between Rapid City and Mt Rushmore, directly across Highway 16 from Reptile Gardens. Friendly service, AAA rated, free high speed wireless Internet access in all rooms, free local calls, continental breakfast. Full service resort, heated pools, recreation center, playground, laundry, groceries, and gifts. Also have log cabins available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing