We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at the GrandStay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the GrandStay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights during our family vacation and had a very nice time. This is not a large convention-style hotel so they were able to give us personal attention. From check-in to check-out everyone was friendly, courteous, and helpful giving us directions and recommendations to area attractions, and helping us make dinner arrangements. The entire staff was great. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quite. Housekeeping was exceptional and very accommodating to our crazy schedule due to only being in town for the weekend. The continental breakfast was good with a variety of choices that made even our pickiest eater happy and no one ever left hungry. The location of the hotel was a perk for us because we were being “tourist” and it was convenient to the interstate to visit all of the local attractions. This is what any major hotel should strive to be. Every person I had contact with made me feel welcome and appreciated. The Grandstay truly impressed me and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEliason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for choosing GrandStay as your preferred hotel in Rapid City. We strive to have each and every guest experience a "grand" time while staying at the GrandStay. We are truly pleased to hear about your grand experience with us. Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    132
    39
    13
    17
See reviews for
250
94
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The staff, especially the female evening clerk, was awful. We had 6 people in a small, two-bedroom suite that only had one bathroom. The toilet clogged up and when we asked for help, we were told that the maintenance man would fix it IF he showed up that day. When it did not get fixed, we were not offered anything. We had to demand a different room and a discount which we did get. The evening clerk spent her shift outside the building drinking with a couple of male friends. The room was dirty, tile was broken, and I don't think the carpet had ever been cleaned. Never again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your response regarding our property. I want to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We strive to have each guest experience a grand time at our property. I am sorry to hear the lack of communication that happened at your front desk regarding the maintenance issues you had. Thank you for bringing this to my attention while at the hotel and I was happy to accommodate you and resolve the issues.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
745 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a two-room suite with a full kitchen. Very convenient if you want to have somewhat of a normal meal routine while traveling. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. The living room had a sleeper sofa and both the bedroom and living room had a TV; although, with so much to do in the Rapid City area, we had no time or desire for TV. There are a great number of hotels in Rapid City. This one is convenient to some shopping, an IHOP and not far from tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our property. We are glad that you enjoyed all the attractions in the Rapid City and the Black Hills. Were also glad that you enjoyed our two bedroom suite with two privacy bedrooms and having a TV in each bedroom as well. Thanks again and we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful Experience at Grandstay in Rapid City Thanks to Luna, Mary and great cleaning staff!
Mary was there each morning to make sure we had a delicious and satisfying breakfast (no need to spend a lot of money on lunches). Luna was there each day to give us advice and info regarding area attractions. Our first trip to SD was special due to the dedication of a great staff!
Thank You for a Grand Stay!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBaker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the outstanding words about our staff and our property. Our staff takes great pride in being able to assist our guest in getting around Rapid City and the Black Hills. We are truly pleased to see that you enjoyed our property and had a great time. Thank you again and we look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This property was in a great location. Kohls department store, Ihop across the street. 12 minutes to airport. Easy drive to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and USA Bear Country. Staff friendly sm.pool

Room Tip: Housekeeping took NO pride in cleaning our room! Our tub was dirty and trash under our bed upon arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all the attractions we have from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Custer State Park to name a few. Our location is convenient for shopping as well as eating at restaurants. I do want to apologize for your tub not being cleaned properly during your stay. We have taken the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again. Once again thank you for staying with us.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a multi-day visit to the Rapid City area. The hotel is near lots of restaurants and retail, and within an hour or so from most of the main attractions of the area (e.g. Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park). Our suite had two bedrooms plus a living room area, each had a TV for a total of 3 TVs, so everyone could watch something different. The hotel had an indoor pool which, while small, was sufficient to get cool after a long day of sightseeing. There was a backyard area with a small swing set and basketball court. There was a breakfast buffet that had cold cereals, muffins, and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great review on our property! We truly hope you enjoyed your visit the Black Hills and enjoyed all the attractions our area has to offer. It's a plus having the ability to watch what you are wanting to watch while staying in the hotel.Glad you enjoyed our Two Bedroom Suite and what our property had to offer. Thanks again for staying with us and your review. We look forward to your next arrival.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The property offered a clean 2 bedroom suite perfect for a young family with 3 kids. Breakfast was adequate. Only minor complaints are nosy walls ( could hear neighbours snoring unless air circulator was running) and my wife found the pillows hard. A great value for a family trip to the Black Hills.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 577adamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandstay8, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for choosing GrandStay as your preferred hotel in Rapid City, SD! We do apologize that you were able to hear your neighbors through the night! I also appreciate the comments about our pillows as we will take that into consideration when looking at purchasing new ones. Once again thank you for staying with us and your kind comments.

Thank You
Sincerely,
Gavin Fawbush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.1 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Address: 660 Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7875
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing