We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in a one bedroom cabin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mystery Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We enjoyed Mystery Mountain Resort. The staff was most pleasant and helpful. They have a list of family activities in the area that "aren't trying to screw people". We had a one bedroom cabin which had a full kitchen and a bedroom with two queen beds, hotel style, fully furnished. It was outdated and the beds weren't very comfortable. They had a nice pool and hot tub and my kids enjoyed the playground. They also had $1 all you can eat pancakes for breakfast. I would stay here again with our own RV, but we didn't want the gas expense for our long vacation covering the west. In retrospect we should have booked a hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you're getting with the cabins. We would have liked a couch or something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnyrendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We liked the place well enough but might have enjoyed it more if we had young children with us. They aren't kidding when they say it is a resort-there were kids running around everywhere with plenty of activities. The site is on a hill (Black Hills) and the pull through was easy enough for our 25-foot Class C. We had a full hook-up but the sites share a water spigot with the pad next door-kind of lowers the water pressure. The sites in front are very open to Hyw 16 which is very loud as everybody is trying to get up the hill at maximum power-ask for a site in the back. There is a camp store that was pretty well stocked and the resort does sell breakfast every morning. Other than that, it is pretty well outside of town so if you need things, you have to turn left across the highway. The restrooms/showers were clean but cramped for such a large camp. Good place overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classCrental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were here in a motorhome. Roads in this place to RV sites are rocky, rutted and on the steep side. After we couldn't level our RV at the site we reserved, office gave us one that was better, but closer to road with traffic noise and exhaust brakes from trucks beginning about 6 a.m. Sites close together. Price reflects close to tourist attraction. Not for big rigs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank 1947res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

From the moment we walked through the doors we were in love. We stayed in cabin G-23, the largest cabin they have. 5 bedroom, 2 baths, sleeps 14. The cabin was in great condition, from the furniture to the carpets, the dishes, the kitchen, etc. Everything was in tip top shape, made us all feel at home. Swimming pool was nice sized, with decent hours, though not exactly heated and a bit dirty but we weren't there to swim so this did not make a huge impact on our impression of the place. Pancake breakfast was totally worth the $1! No huge line and good food. My husband and I actually spent a little more to get the breakfast bowl, which was $3 for eggs, hash browns, sausage and bacon all in a bowl. It was very tasty. Resort is in a wonderful location, close to lots of fabulous attractions. We enjoyed so many of them during our stay. If we ever go back to Black Hills we will definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the one bedroom cabin. The cabin was older with a rustic feel! Very comfortable and homey! The staff at the resort were excellent , friendly and very helpful! Nice clean pool and git tub and it is open late! The campground was very nice, many trees and shady sites! I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinMcGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This campground is a good location to many attractions. The people who work there are really nice. Bathrooms, Showers, and laundry were super clean !!! Will stay there again if we ever make it back to South Dakota !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnson53189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was a great family friendly place. They had all the amenities to keep your kids happy with the pool and put-put golf and of course the mystery cabin. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Amenities were clean and well kept. If you like the feel of camping in the woods, with the added bonus of indoor plumbing, this is the place to stay. It is also very close to some of the best attractions the black hills has to offer.

Room Tip: We camped in our own camper so did not experience their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissyB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,548 reviews
17.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 48 in Rapid City
317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Canyon Lake Resort
Canyon Lake Resort
#7 of 19 in Rapid City
146 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rapid City RV Park & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystery Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Mountain Resort

Address: 13752 South Hwy W, Rapid City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mystery Mountain Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing