We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystery Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mystery Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cozy and Clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom guesthouse for three nights in August. The rooms (a bedroom and bath and a full kitchen) were SPOTLESS and everything worked great. We were there during a heat wave and really appreciated the great air-conditioning. The staff was friendly and helpful and I would recommend it highly for a good central location from which to explore the Black Hills. Really good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueTrue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    14
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
64
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom guest house. I thought perhaps it would actually be a cabin, but it looked more like a modular or mobile home (with wooden siding) made into three separate living quarters. It did come with a nice deck & small picnic table for each resident. There was also grills & I believe a fire pit ring near by. The bad thing about the guest house - the smell was terrible. We never did figure out if it was some sort of cleaner or if it was the air conditioner. We shut off the air & slept with the windows open trying to get rid of the smell. Thinking back, we should have asked for another room but thought the smell would go away - it never did. Maybe if we would have cooked, it would have been better. While it did have a full kitchen, it lacked a hair dryer & shampoo. There was no ice machine, just ice at the store you had to buy.

Mystery Mountain did have a great outdoor pool & hot tub. When we first drove up a big deer was nearby in the trees & we must have met Bob the cat another reviewer mentioned. (He had a hair cut like a lion, but was gray & had blue eyes - very friendly pretty cat)!

Other reviews mentioned the owners, I never met them but the person who checked us in & out never asked about our stay & never seemed that friendly & we were never told about the breakfast. I think that families with small children would like this place for the camping experience. Maybe cooking food would help with the smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omahatraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Art and the crew at Mystery Mountain Resort are wonderful! The camp sites are pristine, flat and designed to drain the sometimes heavy South Dakota rains. The resort is located in the mountains of the black hills surrounded by the beautiful pine trees so your camp sight is usually in the shade. The store has wood for roasting smores at night. They will even deliver the wood and ice to your camp site! Let's see the big chain hotels do that. The store has everything you need while traveling.There is even HOME MADE fudge to satisfy your sweet tooth. For the kids they have mini-golf, basketball, jungle gym, the cleanest pool in South Dakota (Please NEVER use glass bottles around the pool or sauna). In the morning the camp kitchen provides a great breakfast that is very reasonably priced. There are 2 large covered gazebos to meet or escape the weather. The resort bathrooms are very clean w/ laundry facilities. If your lucky you might even meet Bob the cat! Can't wait to return to see my friends who run this resort.

Room Tip: Tent site T40 is furthest from the office but the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestwijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Mystery Mountain Resort is simply a great place to stay!!! The resort is family owned and run. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If you have an issue they can't take care of for you, they know who can. They have awesome facilities, including a very nice store, pool, hot tub, nice shower and laundry facilities (should you need them) and a grill that provides very affordable and tasty meals. If you are going to be in the area, this is most definitely the place to stay!!!!! I have stayed at Mystery Mountain Resort 18 times, and will stay there many more times in the future!!!
Jim
Washington State

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

You can tell by the cleanliness, attention to detail and (very) strict policies that the owners take great pride in their business and work very hard to provide an enjoyable stay for their guests.

We were a group of 11 and used an RV space with hook ups and a family cabin. The cabin has not been updated in awhile, but it was cleaner than most hotels. We were very comfortable. We did a lot of cooking in the full kitchen.

The amenities were fantastic. The breakfast was extremely affordable (all you can eat pancakes for $1.00 were great). We loved the pool area, kids park and exploring woods and the mystery cabin (don't pay to go to The Cosmos)

The highway sound didn't bother us as the nights were nice and quiet. I loved being next door to Bear Country. We could hear the wolves howling in the morning in the distance.

My only complaint is about the strict hot tub policy. A warm shower (and restroom) is needed at the pool area if you aren't allowing children in even for a warm up. The kids come out of the pool freezing and/or needing a bathroom and it's quite the walk to even get to the bathhouse. It was frustrating to make so many bathroom trips with small children who were cold and in a bit of a hurry.

I'd still recommend because they get everything else right.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tvfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We're campers and have made multiple trips to the Black Hills. Always look forward to our stay. Clean, quiet and entire staff is outstanding. Always ready to help if you need anything. We love the Black Hills and look forward to the end of the day when we get back to camp to enjoy the hottub, pool and shady oasis.Central location is ideal to enjoy the attractions of the Black Hills. Facilities are very well maintained. Our favorite away from home destination because it's become our second home in the Hills

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location off the highway, covered with beautiful Ponderosa pine trees. We stayed on a tent site at the back of the property and had lots of privacy and felt we had a large enough buffer from the highway. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Campground and washrooms were very well taken care of. Loved the dollar pancakes! Made for a really enjoyable part of our trip to South Dakota. Quick drive to Rapid City for supplies and a nice jaunt into Mt.Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. Can't wait to come back with our kids one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyourouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
10.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.8 mi away
Canyon Lake Resort
Canyon Lake Resort
#6 of 19 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
8.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystery Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Mountain Resort

Property: Mystery Mountain Resort
Address: 13752 South Hwy W, Rapid City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mystery Mountain Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing