We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mystery Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here 5 nights, august 18-23. We were in a 33 foot motorhome and 26 foot travel trailer. We found getting to the site alittle tight. Once we were in the spots they were great. Lots of trees and big enough for our motorhome and rented chevy suburban. Showers and restrooms were clean and had lots of hot water. Laundry areas were good and clean. Hosts were wonderful, friendly, and helpful. Location was great to get to everything and a walmart was just up the road about 10 min drive. If we ever go back to the area would stay here again without thought. We didnt have kids so can not say how it is for them. We did have 2 dogs and had no problems at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Mystery Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We parked our travel trailer here for a week and were very happy with everything. There are sites for every size RV, cabins of all sizes, and primitive sites for tents. There is a swimming pool, playground, camp store and even a small putt putt golf. Restrooms, showers and laundry are clean and well kept. RV sites include full hook ups. However there is no cable tv or extended wifi. You can walk up by the camp store and get a wifi signal for free, but the signal doesn't reach far. The staff is friendly and helpful. We paid about $30 per night and got the Good Sam discount on top of that.

Room Tip: Ask to stay farther back on the grounds. The front faces a pretty busy, noisy road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandAinIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom guesthouse for three nights in August. The rooms (a bedroom and bath and a full kitchen) were SPOTLESS and everything worked great. We were there during a heat wave and really appreciated the great air-conditioning. The staff was friendly and helpful and I would recommend it highly for a good central location from which to explore the Black Hills. Really good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueTrue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom guest house. I thought perhaps it would actually be a cabin, but it looked more like a modular or mobile home (with wooden siding) made into three separate living quarters. It did come with a nice deck & small picnic table for each resident. There was also grills & I believe a fire pit ring near by. The bad thing about the guest house - the smell was terrible. We never did figure out if it was some sort of cleaner or if it was the air conditioner. We shut off the air & slept with the windows open trying to get rid of the smell. Thinking back, we should have asked for another room but thought the smell would go away - it never did. Maybe if we would have cooked, it would have been better. While it did have a full kitchen, it lacked a hair dryer & shampoo. There was no ice machine, just ice at the store you had to buy.

Mystery Mountain did have a great outdoor pool & hot tub. When we first drove up a big deer was nearby in the trees & we must have met Bob the cat another reviewer mentioned. (He had a hair cut like a lion, but was gray & had blue eyes - very friendly pretty cat)!

Other reviews mentioned the owners, I never met them but the person who checked us in & out never asked about our stay & never seemed that friendly & we were never told about the breakfast. I think that families with small children would like this place for the camping experience. Maybe cooking food would help with the smell.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omahatraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Art and the crew at Mystery Mountain Resort are wonderful! The camp sites are pristine, flat and designed to drain the sometimes heavy South Dakota rains. The resort is located in the mountains of the black hills surrounded by the beautiful pine trees so your camp sight is usually in the shade. The store has wood for roasting smores at night. They will even deliver the wood and ice to your camp site! Let's see the big chain hotels do that. The store has everything you need while traveling.There is even HOME MADE fudge to satisfy your sweet tooth. For the kids they have mini-golf, basketball, jungle gym, the cleanest pool in South Dakota (Please NEVER use glass bottles around the pool or sauna). In the morning the camp kitchen provides a great breakfast that is very reasonably priced. There are 2 large covered gazebos to meet or escape the weather. The resort bathrooms are very clean w/ laundry facilities. If your lucky you might even meet Bob the cat! Can't wait to return to see my friends who run this resort.

Room Tip: Tent site T40 is furthest from the office but the most quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestwijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Mystery Mountain Resort is simply a great place to stay!!! The resort is family owned and run. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If you have an issue they can't take care of for you, they know who can. They have awesome facilities, including a very nice store, pool, hot tub, nice shower and laundry facilities (should you need them) and a grill that provides very affordable and tasty meals. If you are going to be in the area, this is most definitely the place to stay!!!!! I have stayed at Mystery Mountain Resort 18 times, and will stay there many more times in the future!!!
Jim
Washington State

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

You can tell by the cleanliness, attention to detail and (very) strict policies that the owners take great pride in their business and work very hard to provide an enjoyable stay for their guests.

We were a group of 11 and used an RV space with hook ups and a family cabin. The cabin has not been updated in awhile, but it was cleaner than most hotels. We were very comfortable. We did a lot of cooking in the full kitchen.

The amenities were fantastic. The breakfast was extremely affordable (all you can eat pancakes for $1.00 were great). We loved the pool area, kids park and exploring woods and the mystery cabin (don't pay to go to The Cosmos)

The highway sound didn't bother us as the nights were nice and quiet. I loved being next door to Bear Country. We could hear the wolves howling in the morning in the distance.

My only complaint is about the strict hot tub policy. A warm shower (and restroom) is needed at the pool area if you aren't allowing children in even for a warm up. The kids come out of the pool freezing and/or needing a bathroom and it's quite the walk to even get to the bathhouse. It was frustrating to make so many bathroom trips with small children who were cold and in a bit of a hurry.

I'd still recommend because they get everything else right.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tvfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
17.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#27 of 48 in Rapid City
313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystery Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Mountain Resort

Address: 13752 South Hwy W, Rapid City, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mystery Mountain Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing