We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hisega Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foothills Inn(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
243
26
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
26
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrapid creekother gueststroutblack hillswrap around porchmountain streamearly risersno air conditioninggourmet breakfastrooms are smallevery morningsouth dakotagracious hoststhoroughly enjoyed our staygas fireplacecuster state parkfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just now getting around to writing a review regarding our stay this past May. This lodge is fantastic -- so beautiful, tranquil. The owners and staff are tops, the rooms are cozy, the library is extensive, and the breakfasts are superb (they were able to accommodate our dietary restrictions wonderfully). Our only complaint is that we could not have stayed longer (we did try to see if we could extend our vacation, but oh well -- we'll just have to come back)!
Love, love, love Hisega. It was the perfect way to end our trip through South Dakota.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Quiet stream made the relaxing deck even more enjoyable. Close to the main attractions of Rushmore and Crazy Horse, but still in the woods. Great breakfast food and the very friendly Owners made it even better. Although the room we stayed in was small, it was very comfortable and gave a taste of yesteryear when time and life was more simple.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had planned a 2 week road trip that ended in The Black Hills. After being on the road for so many days we really wanted a place that we could call home for 4 nights. The Hisega Lodge fit our needs perfectly. We were welcomed with a plate of cookies and our room fireplace glowing! Carol is an amazing cook and hostess. She is also was able to give great recommendations on local sites, hikes and dinner/lunch locations. The lodge is cozy and the rooms welcoming. Sorry we could only stay for four nights. We already know we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lost Cabin- plenty of room for us to spread out with all our gear!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We can only echo what everyone else has written. The lodge is historic, friendly, welcoming, and charming. It is rustic. The rooms and bathrooms can be small, but the bedding is superb, and the FOOD. Oh, my, the owner, Carol, is not only a gifted cook, she is an artist in presentation. We did not want to go out one evening, so she prepared a delectable three course meal for us, served on a private table in the sitting room--gourmet quality with fresh, local ingredients. The meal was delicious and one of the best we had on our two week trip to the Black Hills, mountains, and Banff, Canada. Carol and her husband are so gracious and calm, carrying bags, recommending sightseeing. The lodge has a calming, Zen quality for harried travelers who've been driving too far in one day. This is not some cookie-cutter Ritz hotel, but it is a great place for authenticity and friendship.

Room Tip: We took the last rooms available, and they were two, sharing a bath. We took both because we had a great deal of luggage and needed some space. The comfortable bed and melody of the creek compensated for the size. The larger rooms would probably be preferable, but ours was very quiet and charming.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I don't believe we could have found a better place to stay in the Black Hills. The lodge is very charming and has an interesting history. The location by a mountain stream and convenient to all of the area attractions while being close to Rapid City is a big plus. The service and attention from Carol and the staff was beyond expectations. The breakfasts were different each morning and very unique and special. Waking each morning and sitting in the great room in front of the fire and reading or talking to the other guests with a fresh cup of coffee was a great way to start each day. The bedrooms while small are very cozy and plenty adequate. Hisega Lodge is a winner and is where I will stay on my next trip to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12BillyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews