We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect location in the Black Hills” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hisega Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hisega Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect location in the Black Hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The personal service from Carol and Kenn, the relaxed atmosphere and the interaction with other travellers is what makes this place special. The breakfast is the daily highlight with all guests seated together and enjoying a different, specially prepared meal each morning. On the downside the rooms and bathrooms are small and the dividing walls between some of the rooms would appear to be paper thin, unlucky if you have a snorer in the next room! We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    25
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
148
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Crouch Line rooms because my husband and I were traveling with his mom. She is a gluten-free diet and Carol catered to her needs like nothing I have ever seen. My mom-in-law was blown away with all of the gluten-free goodies she got! On top of that, Ken had great suggestions for running routes (hope you like hills!).

We stayed for 4 nights and every morning was a different gourmet breakfast. There were lots of resources for places to go and things to do, and the view and location in the Black Hills were amazing. It was fun meeting other guests at breakfast and on the wrap around porches. I can't say enough about what a great time we had.

Oh, the rooms were very comfortable, very clean, and the bathroom was also very clean. Hisega Lodge is a great place to stay! I hope we can go back some day!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with multiple family members, the Crouch Line rooms are a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver Spring, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We found the Hisega lodge online many months prior to our trip out to the Black Hills for the Sturgis motorcycle rally. This would make the 6th trip out but our first time at Hisega. Prior to the stay, Carol and Kenn were the best at keeping in contact and answering any questions we had.
Well, the pictures and the reviews do not do this place justice. Hisega Lodge and the Hisega area were all we expected and more. Great accomodations, wonderful staff and Carol is a world class cook. The coffee and breakfast each morning were to die for. From what Carol said, she learned cooking from her mother....well, she was one heck of a teacher. Each morning was something different and wonderful. Those meals along with the clean, comfortable rooms, history of the lodge and the Hisega area neighbors made our week. We met folks from all over the US, Canada, South Africa, Scotland, France and Germany.
Carol and Kenn, we have a home to come to in the Black Hills. Thanks so much for the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: If traveling in a group of two couples, chose room #10. It has two seperate bedrooms each with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a great stay at the Hisega Lodge. The setting was beautiful -- tucked away in the Black Hills, a brook that can be heard from the rooms, and close to everything we wanted to see -- Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse memorial, the Mammoth Site, Wind Cave, Rapid City, even Devil's Tower. Carol, Kenn, and all of the staff were terrific. And Carol's breakfasts were the best! She also took the time to make us feel at home, and she had lots of helpful info on nearby restaurants, sights, etc. FYI -- listed on Purple Roofs website as gay-friendly. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ethel room, a nice corner location on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrjrBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I used the Hisega as my bridal preparation location and then my new husband and I stayed for the first night of our honeymoon. What a wonderful retreat from all of the wedding planning! I was suprised at how close it was to Rapid City, yet felt so far away. The river close by was a lovely backdrop. Breakfast was amazing and Carol and her staff went far out of their way to make us feel at home and accomodate us. We will be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian Shana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The historic building on Rapid Creek is charming by itself, but the remarkable breakfasts and the hospitality extended by Carol and Kenn are what truly make Hisega Lodge a place of refuge and restoration. We stayed one night on our way to Montana and felt we were leaving Hisega too soon. We were pleased to be able to book a room for two nights on the way back home. Sitting in Adirondack chairs on the second floor porch at sundown, listening to Rapid Creek rush past as we sipped a glass of wine...it's a highlight moment in our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve103050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Husband and I spent 2 nights there and stayed in Ethel. Great stay, so peaceful, close to nature. Carol and her husband were so friendly and nice. We had the best breakfast ever! The staff were also so polite and friendly. The place itslef is very close to Rapid City and any of the other attractions in the black hills. We will definitely tell our friends about it. The rooms are small, but Carol and her team and the beautiful location more than make up for it. They have tons of books and DVDs and we watched and read some while we were there. So peaceful. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
12.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
8.9 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
13.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hisega Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hisega Lodge

Property: Hisega Lodge
Address: 23101 Triangle Trl, Rapid City, SD 57702-8634
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hisega Lodge is a unique and rustic bed and breakfast located in a rock canyon next to a beautiful creek. The oldest lodge in the Black Hills, this property features nine guest units, each with private bath and private entrance. A gourmet breakfast is included with your stay, and the service at the lodge is warm, personal, but never intrusive. The lodge is conveniently located and close to area attractions, yet it is off the beaten path. Join us for a quiet and peaceful retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing