We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine hospitality with the comfort of home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine hospitality with the comfort of home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is probably the most enjoyable stay we have had at a bed and breakfast. The home is spacious and contemporary for a bed and breakfast, decorated in a craftsman style inside. The rooms are large, comfortable, quiet, and the bathrooms are wonderful - everything is immaculately kept. The home sits atop one of Rapid City's mountaintops among pine trees, with deer and turkeys seen often. Each room has an exterior door that leads to a deck area where you can enjoy the scenery and we would enjoy a glass of wine. The main part of the house has common areas including the living/dining area with a wrap-around deck overlooking the beautiful view as far as the eye can see, plenty of patio furniture, library/reading collection, and den with large TV/DVD, table and chairs separate from main dining area. Snacks are available all hours from the kitchen as well as water and a kitchenette for rooms to use outside of the main kitchen. The food that Eileen and Warren prepared was to die for. This is serious hospitality! Excellently prepared and presented food for breakfast (homemade jams and all food comes from personal recipes of theirs), not to mention fresh and really good coffee. The resident pets are wonderful and do not bother the guests at all, but of course they are hard to stay away from because they are so adorable. We can't say enough about what a nice experience this was. The other guests were all very friendly, and coming together around the large table for breakfast was a highlight of our days in this part of the country. Peregine Pointe is a real gem. You can't be disappointed because the owners understand the business of bed and breakfast and what guests appreciate, as well as making you feel right at home in their beautiful retreat. Our son was with us on this trip and the owners made him feel just as comfortable. This is a convenient location to the Black Hills attractions because there are things to do both north and south of Rapid City. This was a great treat, a welcoming and relaxing place at the end of the busy days, and we can't say enough about the kind and interesting owners. We should mention that the owners have also traveled extensively, so it's a great place to plan your next vacation! Love this place and will try to get back again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quite compared to a hotel and all rooms are lovely. Our room was under the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Peregrine Pointe offers everything you would want in a B&B! We stayed 6 nights in the Kestrel Room. The bathroom with Jacuzzi tub for two and separate shower were awesome after a day of site-seeing in the Black Hills. Warren and Eileen are excellent hosts and have been the only owners of Peregrine Point (15 years). They can give excellent suggestions on local restaurants and things to do in the area. The library area with TV was a great place to chill, use my computer, and catch up on sports scores. Breakfast was great all 6 mornings - everyday a new homemade jam and different pastries, fruit, and a main course each morning. The wildlife and bird species were numerous and fun to observe from the massive deck. This place made our 30th Anniversary memorable!

Room Tip: American Kestrel Room has two large picture windows and the best views - although the morning light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, MD
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a stunning B&B in a beautiful location in the edge of the Black Hills. The rooms were beautiful with especially nice bathrooms. Breakfast, cooked by Eileen, was to die for. Each day it was different and served at 8 am so all the guests could get to know one another. Also, I had dietary restrictions that Eileen noted each day.

It is a little off the beaten path which is nice given the tacky tourist areas around Mt. Rushmore but it is close to Rapid City which really has a nice downtown with a few nice restaurants.

Warren and Eileen, the couple who own it, are very pleasant and work hard to make your stay very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayekapostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My wife spent 5 nights at the Peregrine Pointe while visiting the Black Hills of South Dakota. The rooms were wonderful, clean and very well maintained. The owners are great folks made our stay feel as if we were visiting family. The breakfasts were awesome, they even accommodated my wife's need for Gluten Free. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting the Black Hills. The environment was peaceful and beautiful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at Peregrine Pointe for a week while we toured the area.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to use a washer and dryer during our visit. The place is in a lovely rural setting with a flock of turkeys to watch. It is very clean and the breakfasts were outstanding... however I eat more eggs in a week than I normally do in a year.
They have snacks available all day. The internet worked reasonably well and the common area had a flat screen TV.
They are on the Mt Rushmore side of town, and it takes about 20 minutes to get into Rapid City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeregrinePointe, Owner at Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. We try to offer a selection of items for breakfast which do include eggs most mornings. However, each morning we offer a savory main entrée, a meat selection, a cooked vegetable, three kinds of fresh fruit, a freshly baked sweet roll or waffle or French toast, three kinds of toasted bread, five choices of juice, both caffeinated and decaf coffee, an assortment of teas, and four choices of breakfast cereal. We also try our best to accommodate special needs diets such as gluten free, no dairy, vegan, vegetarian, and specific food allergies. We also welcome suggestions of recipes and favorites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

This B&B is a nice place a little bit outside Rapid City - the city part - and is nicely hidden in the hills.

I am not sure what to say other than, this place is amazing.
The hosts are super friendly and helpful and the rooms are warm and romantic.

The rooms are of good size and have access to the front of the house to the porch.
The guests here are staying on the ground floor while the owners live upstairs. As this house is very spacious this is no issue and part of a B&B experience.
The rooms are very clean and mine even had a jacuzzi. There is no TV in the rooms, but there is a huge one in the "downstairs" guest living room. Once you stay here, this is not a typical hotel and a TV in the room would actually take away from the great experience that is being offered.
You can look outside the window and see the nature first hand.

We saw wild turkeys and several deer on the property and the owners are in general very pet friendly.
They have 2 dogs, 2 cats and currently kittens.

This house is overall like a museum and a library as there are thousands of books in the shelves and great artifacts and furnishings from around the world. This is set up so nicely and thoughtful and this doesn't even include the beautiful fireplace yet.

Lastly the breakfast is one of the best I have ever had and is freshly prepared each day.
The hosts are great cooks to add to the fabulous experience at this B&B.

Overall the best B&B I have ever been to as the romantic experience in the hills will likely astonish anyone.
The rooms are great and the owners are so helpful in finding the best places of the area to see and to eat.
Hopefully I can come back here sometimes again. We loved it!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This Is one of the best B&B's I've stayed at! The rooms are very private and comfortable. The property is beautiful! The gourmet breakfast is wonderful! We stayed here on our baby-moon and it was so romantic! The jetted tub in the bathroom was perfect on my then pregnant back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubbybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
11.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Summer Creek Inn
Summer Creek Inn
#1 of 25 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23451 Peregrine Pointe Place, Rapid City, SD 57702
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary lodge is set up in the forests of the Black Hills, yet convenient to all attractions, restaurants, shopping and visitor venues. Enjoy the quiet and the great views as well as an abundance of wildlife. A great place to relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing